1. To oversee and be accountable for the University’s Strategy on Equality, Diversity and Inclusion for staff and students;
  2. To progress the advancement of equality, diversity and inclusion across the University;
  3. To review and develop appropriate policies and procedures related to diversity and inclusion;
  4. To ensure that all of the legally protected characteristics (as well as mental health and widening participation) are considered;
  5. To ensure that legal and regulatory requirements in relation to diversity and inclusion are met;
  6. To oversee the University’s progress in the implementation of the Athena SWAN Charter and other equality charter marks where appropriate;
  7. To engage with internal and external equality groups to ensure the views of all groups are recognised;
  8. To develop and be mindful of an approach which recognises intersectionality.
Composition and Membership



Karl Leydecker

Senior Vice-Principal (Chair)

Janine Chalmers

University Equality and Diversity Adviser (Clerk)

Ruth Taylor Vice-Principal Education
Marion Campbell Vice-Principal Research

Tracey White

Head of Human Resources

Cecilia Wallback

AUSA President

Alexander Acheampong

AUSA Welfare President

Ian Robotham

David Hutchison

Mark Paterson

Clemence O’Connor

Ritu Vij

Chairs of Equality Networks

Igor Guz

Head of the School of Engineering

Siladitya Bhattacharya Head of the School of Medicine, Medical Sciences and Nutrition

Rhiannon Thompson

Maria Grazia Cascio

Athena SWAN Officers

Laura Benvie

Sola Kasim

Ruth Slater

Campus Trades Union representation

Chris Sojka

Lead Access and Articulation Officer

Nick Edwards

Acting Deputy Director of People and Head of Student Support

Liz Curtis

Ana Ivanovic

School Equality Champion representative

Lesley Muirhead Lead Student Support Adviser
Ali Lumsden Co-opted Member
Agendas and minutes