The Centre for Academic Development supports staff and students from across the University in teaching, learning, research and professional development.

The Centre also:

  • Works in partnership with individual lecturers or groups of staff tackling complex issues in teaching, learning and assessment
  • Facilitates routes to accreditation by the Higher Education Academy
  • Supports Academic Development through a range of workshops and events.
  • Supports staff in the use of eLearning
  • Supports students in developing effective learning strategies

For general enquiries, please contact the centre at cad@abdn.ac.uk or +44 (0)1224 27 3030.

Centre Administration
Personal page       Job title Email Ext

Sophie Dietrich

Centre Secretary (0.4 FTE) sophie.dietrich1@abdn.ac.uk 3030
Lynn McKenzie Centre Co-ordinator & PA to Vice-Principal for Learning & Teaching    lynn.mckenzie@abdn.ac.uk 2406/2969
Kerry Roberts  Centre Secretary (0.6 FTE) kerry.roberts@abdn.ac.uk 3030

Patricia Spence

Centre Manager

p.spence@abdn.ac.uk

3924
Educational Development
Personal page Job title Email Ext
Dr Darren Comber Senior Educational Development Adviser d.comber@abdn.ac.uk 3672
Dr Jennifer Duthie               

Educational Development Adviser

jennifer.duthie@abdn.ac.uk 4666

Dr Joy Perkins

Educational and Employability Development Adviser (0.5 FTE)

j.perkins@abdn.ac.uk

3113

Student Surveys & Evaluation
Personal page Job title  Ext
Dr Colin Calder Senior Adviser 3768

 

Student Learning Service
Personal page Job title Email Ext

Dr Chloe Alexander            

Academic Skills Adviser (Academic Writing)  (0.5 FTE)            

chloe.alexander@abdn.ac.uk

3190

Wendy Lawrenson Academic Skills Adviser (Science) (0.6 FTE) w.g.lawrenson@abdn.ac.uk 2373

Dr Mary Pryor

Senior Academic Skills Adviser (0.5 FTE)

m.r.pryor@abdn.ac.uk

3523

Dr Julie Ross

Academic Skills Adviser (Dyslexia) (0.5 FTE)

julie.ross@abdn.ac.uk 

3032

Dr Morgiane Richard Academic Skills Adviser (Maths) (0.5 FTE) m.richard@abdn.ac.uk 4175
eLearning and online
Personal page Job title Email Ext
Ian Blacklock Graduate Trainee (Learning Technology) ian.blacklock@abdn.ac.uk 4705
Ana Ciocarlan Graduate Trainee (Learning Technology) ana.ciocarlan@abdn.ac.uk 3297
Jaroslaw Dymiter Graduate Trainee (Learning Technology) jaroslaw.dymiter@abdn.ac.uk 4704
Isabella Fausti Graduate Trainee (eLearning) isabella.fausti@abdn.ac.uk 4703
Gavin Innes eLearning Adviser (Online) gavin.innes@abdn.ac.uk TBA
Peter Jeffels eLearning Adviser (0.6 FTE) p.jeffels@abdn.ac.uk 3766
Maija Koukkari Graduate Trainee (eLearning) maija.koukkari@abdn.ac.uk 4706
Oana Matei Graduate Trainee (Learning Technology) oana.matei@abdn.ac.uk 4702
Florin Nedelea Graduate Trainee (eLearning) florin.nedelea@abdn.ac.uk 3948
Maria Nikoletatou Graduate Trainee (Learning Technology) maria.nikoletatou@abdn.ac.uk 4701
Catherine Ogilvie eLearning Adviser (Online) catherine.ogilvie@abdn.ac.uk TBA
Dr Sara Preston Senior eLearning Adviser s.preston@abdn.ac.uk 4371
Phil Whieldon eLearning Adviser p.whieldon@abdn.ac.uk 3508
Rhian Wood eLearning Adviser (0.8 FTE) r.wood@abdn.ac.uk 4254
Dr Andy Yule eLearning Adviser (0.8 FTE) a.b.yule@abdn.ac.uk 2834