University of Aberdeen - Governing Body Elections 2023

University of Aberdeen - Governing Body Elections 2023

Announcement of candidates for staff elections to University Court

Following the close of nominations, the candidates standing for election as staff representatives to the University’s Court have been announced.

There are two elections – one where academic staff vote for the academic member of Court and another where professional services staff vote for the professional services member. Voting by online ballot will open on Thursday 29 June and close on Thursday 6 July at noon.

Candidates in the election for academic staff are:

  • Dr Martin Barker
  • Mrs Toni Gibson
  • Mr Scott Styles
  • Dr Kim Walker

Candidates in the election for professional services staff are:

  • Dr Abeer Eladany
  • Iain Grant
  • Rose Lyne
  • Ms Megan McFarlane
  • Mr Martin Puentes
  • Mrs Karen Scaife
  • Mr William Tocher

You can read the candidates’ election statements here together with further information on the elections process and FAQs. 

The two winning candidates will undertake an important role for the next three years in working together with other Court members in the best interests of the University’s charitable and strategic aims. You can read more about what their role will be here.

How do you cast your vote?

You can vote only in the election in which you are entitled to vote by your staff category i.e. academic or professional services. Staff who are eligible to vote in the respective elections will receivetheir voting instructions on Thursday 29 June by email from Civica Election Services (not the University) from the following address

The email will ask you to visit the Civica voting website to review the candidates’ statements and cast your vote. Links to the online voting site are authorised by the University and are safe to use.

The elections will be conducted using the alternative vote system. Further information on this system is available here.

Please note that only staff who were employed as at 13 June 2023 will receive a voting e-mail. Honorary staff and staff on guaranteed hours and temporary services contracts are not eligible to stand or vote in the elections.

If you are eligible to vote but do not receive your voting instructions by the end of Thursday 29 June first check your junk file or clutter folders. Then if you have not received your vote please let us know as soon as possible so we can resolve your query before voting closes by contacting  

Please help shape the future of the University by using your vote. We wish all the candidates well.

The Returning Officer,


Tracey Slaven
University Secretary and Chief Operating Officer