Automatic disabling of staff leavers'
secondary IT accounts

From Monday 20 March, we will be automatically disabling secondary IT accounts belonging to staff members who leave.

What’s happening?

From 20 March, if you are leaving the University, any secondary IT accounts that you own – a Project or Resource account, for example – will be closed automatically unless an alternative owner is identified before you leave.

Will I be notified?

Yes. Starting 5 days before your contract end date, we will send a daily email report listing the secondary IT accounts you own to you and to your line manager. 

What should I do?

If these accounts are to remain open, you must contact the IT Service Desk nominating new account owners before you leave.