A list of resources for students are provided in the categories, listed on the left. Their accompanying agencies are listed in the table below.

Careers Service

The Careers Service provides a range of services to inspire and support the career choices of University of Aberdeen students and graduates. These services are grouped into three themes.

  1. Explore your options:
    1-to-1 appointments, virtual adviser service, online & print careers resources.
  2. Develop your skills & attributes:
    STAR Award, work placements, career mentoring, BP Student Tutoring Scheme and enterprise & entrepreneurship.
  3. Connect with employers:
    vacancies for graduate jobs & placements, events & fairs.

For more information visit the Careers & Co-curriculum section of StaffNet, email careers@abdn.ac.uk or phone +44 (0)1224 273601.

Infohub

The Infohub, based in the Students' Union Building on Elphinstone Road, is a first port of call for many student queries and is supported by a comprehensive website. Full contact details, including a link to the website, are provided below.

The Students' Union Building
Elphinstone Road
Aberdeen
AB24 3TU

Tel: +44 (0)1224 273040
Email: infohub@abdn.ac.uk

Library

The Sir Duncan Rice Library
University of Aberdeen
Bedford Road
Aberdeen
AB24 3AA

Tel: +44 (0)1224 273330
Fax: +44 (0)1224 273956
Email: library@abdn.ac.uk

Registry Officers

The day-to-day administration of matters relating to degrees is undertaken by the Registry Officers who are based in the Student Services team. Full contact details for the Registry Officers are provided below.

In addition, the Student Services team provides a Duty Registry Officer service in the Infohub from Monday - Friday each week. Students can drop in to see the Duty Registry Officer without an appointment.

Area of Study Email address Telephone
Arts & Social Sciences artsregistryofficer@abdn.ac.uk 3505
Divinity divinityregistryofficer@abdn.ac.uk
Education educationregistryofficer@abdn.ac.uk 
Engineering engineeringregistryofficer@abdn.ac.uk
Law lawregistryofficer@abdn.ac.uk
Medicine & Dentistry p.linemann@abdn.ac.uk
Science scienceregistryofficer@abdn.ac.uk
Postgraduate postgraduate@abdn.ac.uk
School Retention Task Force Member

School Retention Task Force Members

School

Retention Task Force Member

Contact Details

School of Biological Sciences

Dr Clare Trinder

e:  c.j.trinder@abdn.ac.uk
t:  +44 (0)1224 274107

Business School

Dr Allan Sim

e:  a.j.sim@abdn.ac.uk
t:  +44 (0)1224 272463

School of Divinity & Philosophy

Dr Helen Pierce

e:  h.pierce@abdn.ac.uk
t:  +44 (0)1224 272621

School of Education

Dr Yvonne Bain

e:  y.c.bain@abdn.ac.uk
t:  +44 (0)1224 274548

School of Engineering

Dr Andrew Starkey

e:  a.starkey@abdn.ac.uk
t:  +44 (0)1224 272801

School of Geosciences

Dr Malcolm Hole


e:  m.j.hole@abdn.ac.uk
t:  +44 (0)1224 273434
 

School of Language, Linguistics

Music & Visual Culture

Dr Alexandra Lewis  

e:  alexandra.lewis@abdn.ac.uk
t:  +44 (0)1224 272671

School of Law

Dr Jon Fitchen

e:  j.fitchen@abdn.ac.uk
t:  +44 (0)1224 273845

School of Medicine,

Medical Sciences & Nutrition

Prof Rhona Patey

e:  r.patey@abdn.ac.uk
t:  +44 (0)1224 437960

Dr Steve Tucker

e:  s.j.tucker@abdn.ac.uk
t:  +44 (0)1224 437491

Dr John Barrow

e:  j.barrow@abdn.ac.uk
t:  +44 (0)1224 437493

School of Natural &

Computing Sciences

Dr William Harrison

e:  w.harrison@abdn.ac.uk
t:  +44 (0)1224 272897

School of Psychology

Dr Dannette Marie

e:  dannette.marie@abdn.ac.uk
t:  +44 (0)1224 273279

School of Social Sciences

Dr Lynne Bennie

e:  l.bennie@abdn.ac.uk
t:  +44 (0)1224 273312

Student Learning Service

In-course Workshops

We are pleased to collaborate with Academic Staff who wish to increase the learning strategies provision within their courses. In-course workshops can include but are not limited to critical thinking, academic writing and presentation skills. If you would like to discuss these and/or any other topics, please contact us at sls@abdn.ac.uk.

How we work with students in individual Study Advice Sessions

All Study Advice Sessions are confidential unless the student elects otherwise. When working on academic writing with undergraduate and taught postgraduate students, we only look at marked work. We go through feedback carefully with the student in order to devise strategies for future writing. In advance of submission of assignments we give general advice on research and structure but will not edit or proof-read text.

Recommending the Student Learning Service

We are happy for you to recommend our Academic Skills Workshops or individual Study Advice Sessions to students. Study Advice Sessions are available for all students and include academic development for academic writing, maths and for students with dyslexia and other specific learning differences.

Please note, however, that students cannot be compelled to access our service. Please refer students to this website; by clicking on the links to Workshops and Study Advice Sessions they will find details and booking forms.

Student Support

Student Support consists of two areas specialising in non-academic support for students:

  • the Student Advice and Support Office
  • the University Counselling Service

The Student Advice and Support Office is located on the second floor of The Students' Union Building

Elphinstone Road
Aberdeen
AB24 3FX.
Tel: +44 (0)1224 273935
Email: student.support@abdn.ac.uk

The following services are based in the Student Advice and Support Office