Excellence Award Results

Excellence Award Results

Winner announcements 2024

Results 2024

Alumni Awards


Alum of the Year             
Steve Aitken

Alumni Volunteer of the Year 
Rhod Sharp

Young Alum of the Year               
Elliott Martens & Lasse Melgaard Rasmussen (Two Raccoons)

Principal's Teaching Excellence Award


Derek Scott 


Dr Colin Christie & Alyson Young from PGDE Primary Modern Languages in the School of Education

Dr Mintu Nath from the Institute of Applied Health Sciences in the School of Medicine, Medical Sciences and Nutrition; 

Professor Gordon Noble and the Department of Archaeology from the School of Geosciences 

Students' Union and University of Aberdeen Excellence Awards 2023



Best Class Rep  
Kate Kostick       

Best Overall Course
Daria Shapovalova

Best PGT Lecturer
Eddy Wifa

Best Student Ambassador           
Theodore Williamson

Best Support Service     
Rebecca Coroon

Best Support Staff
Avril Rossiter 

Best UG Lecturer
Rodrigo Lopez Martinez

Best UG Supervisor        
Juliano Morimoto

Funniest Lecturer  
Maria Sanchez-Ortiz

Most Creative Assessment         
Patience Schell

Most Accessible Lecturer            
Steven Tucker

Mental Health Champion
Chinedu Etteh  

Most Inspiring 
Michelle Macleod

Personal Tutor of the Year          
Fabio Manfredini

Principal's Prizes for Research and Engagement


Development Trust Award for Philanthropy & Alumni Engagement         
Anne Kiltie

Interdisciplinary Research Award (joint winners)             
Lucia D'Ambruoso & Xavier Lambin

Outstanding PGR Supervisor     
Brendan Gabriel

Outstanding Research Award - Individuals at Further Stages of Career Development (STEM)
Lucia D'Ambruoso

Outstanding Research Award - Postgraduate/Early Career Researchers (STEM)  
Sacha Fop

Positive Research Culture Award             
Milan Markovic

Public Engagement with Research Award            
Fiona Murray

Public Engagement with Research Early Career Award   
Fiammetta Marini

Research Impact Award               
Wendy Russell & Madalina Neacsu

Success in Engagement with Industry    
Richard Neilson

Principal's Awards for Excellence in Professional and Support Services


Excellence in Creativity & Innovation    
Xavier Lo

Excellence in Customer Service
Ben Lythgoe

Excellence in Equality, Diversity & Sustainability              
Coreen McIntosh

Excellence in Leadership             
Tracey Grant

Excellence in Partnership Working          
Samantha Begg

Outstanding Contribution to a Team or Role      
Jim Urquhart

Outstanding Team          
HESA Data Futures

Rising Star          
Will Ewen

The Emily Drouet Award


Holly Foster