Space Management Group

Space Management Group

Terms of Reference

The Group will :

  • Have oversight of current space allocation across the University by (i) ensuring that the Guiding Principles of Space Management support the delivery of our Aberdeen 2040 commitments and (ii) monitoring how efficiently and cost-effectively space is used across the University;
  • Consider and make recommendations to Estates Committee and/or SMT as appropriate on all significant proposed changes to the use or occupancy of space across the University, having due regard to ensuring effective consultation and communication in relation to all such changes;
  • Consider options for the future use of space which is vacated upon the conclusion of capital/construction projects and make recommendations on the use of the resulting vacant space to the Estates Committee;
  • Ensure current and future space needs are considered and met, including
    (i) encouraging cross-University engagement with the development of the Estates Masterplan and
    (ii) contributing to the Masterplan development process as appropriate;
  • Oversee the implementation of the Guiding Principles of Space Management and Space Change Procedure, including:
    • Receiving reports and recommendations from the Space Management Panel and the Learning & Teaching Spaces Sub-Group;
    • Validating the space needs of Schools and Professional Services within the approved framework;
    • Providing guidance on the equitable and efficient distribution of space;
    • Ensuring that the framework within which space allocation is undertaken and space utilisation is monitored continues to serve the best interests of the University.
  • Provide a network through which information is shared regarding space allocation issues;
  • Establish appropriate space standards and norms by building type, layout, age and function;
  • Inform future Estate developments and forward planning.
Membership and Composition


  • Senior Vice Principal (Chair)
  • University Secretary & Chief Operating Officer
  • Dean for Education (representing Vice-Principal (Education))
  • Dean for Research (representing Vice-Principal (Research))
  • AUSA President (or nominee)
  • One representative from each School
  • Director of Digital & Information Services (or nominee)
  • Director of Estates & Facilities (or nominee)
  • Director of People (or nominee)
  • Director of Planning (or nominee)
  • Central Timetabling Manager
  • Space Manager
  • Clerk (in attendance)


  • Karl Leydecker, Senior Vice-Principal
  • Tracey Slaven, University Secretary & Chief Operating Officer
  • Kirsty Kiezebrink, Dean for Educational Innovation
  • Graeme Nixon, Dean for Postgraduate Research
  • Vanessa Mabonso Nzolo, AUSA Student President
  • Graeme Paton, Head of School (School of Biological Sciences)
  • David McCausland, Director of Education (Business School)
  • Kate Smith, School Administration Manager (School of Divinity, History, Philosophy & Art History)
  • Catriona Macdonald, Interim Head of School (School of Education)
  • Ekaterina Pavlovskaia, Head of School (School of Engineering)
  • Lorna Philip, Senior Lecturer (School of Geosciences)
  • Chris Collins, Head of School (School of Language, Literature, Music & Visual Culture)
  • Greg Gordon, Head of School (School of Law)
  • Gwen Smith, School Business Manager (School of Medicine, Medical Sciences & Nutrition)
  • Julie Timms, School Administration Manager (School of Natural & Computing Sciences)
  • Rhona Moore, School Administration Manager (School of Psychology)
  • Martin Mills, Senior Lecturer (School of Social Science)
  • Brian Henderson, Director of Digital & Information Services
  • Morag Beers, Director of Estates & Facilities
  • Debbie Dyker, Director of People
  • Hulda Sveinsdottir, Director of Planning
  • Jennie Pearson, Deputy Academic Registrar (Central Timetabling)
  • Gregg Wilkins, Space Manager
  • Heather Crabb, Executive Assistant & Project Officer (Clerk)

Committee Governance

The following points should be noted:

  • The Committee will report to the Estates Committee.
  • The Committee is expected to normally meet once per quarter.
  • The quorum necessary shall be 50% of the membership (including Chair). In addition, the following participants must be present to form a quorum:
    • Senior Vice-Principal or University Secretary & Chief Operating Officer; and
    • Director of Estates & Facilities (or nominated deputy)
  • The Committee will have the discretion to create sub-groups, as and when appropriate.
  • Paperwork for each meeting will be co-ordinated in advance and circulated by the Clerk, normally at least five working days prior to each meeting.

Approved by Estates Committee: 15 August 2022
Reviewed: 6 December 2022
                    2 March 2023


Agendas & Minutes