Common Grading Scale

The Common Grading Scale (CGS) replaced the Common Assessment Scale from September 2014. 

The CGS provides a common, alpha-numeric marking scale which is used across the University. This enables you to compare your performance in different disciplines and courses and ensures consistency in assessment.

Grade Band Descriptor Honour Class PGT Award   Grade Point
A1, A2, A3, A4, A5 Excellent First Distinction 22.00-18.00
B1, B2, B3 Very Good Upper Second Commendation 17.99-15.00
C1, C2, C3 Good Lower Second Pass 14.99-12.00
D1, D2, D3, RP+ Pass 
(pass grade = D3)
Third Pass 11.99-9.00
RF++, E1, E2, E3 Marginal Fail Below Third Class Honours Fail 8.99-6.00
F1, F2, F3 Fail Below Third Class Honours Fail 5.99-3.00
G1, G2, G3 Fail, Token, or No Submission Below Third Class Honours Fail 2.99-0.00
+RP is Resit Pass at Postgraduate Taught level
++RF is Resit Fail at Postgraduate Taught level

The Scale comprises 23 discrete Grades grouped into seven Bands with an associated Grade Point for each grade. These Grade Points are used for the purposes of aggregation to (i) determine the overall course mark from a number of components (e.g. end of course exam and essay mark) and (ii) determine overall honours degree classification.

Each band has associated Descriptors; in looking at the Grade received, you should refer to these descriptors to help you understand your Grade.