Current and Previous Agendas are available from





To be responsible to the Senatus Academicus for the strategic oversight of teaching and learning matters and the wider academic student experience, both undergraduate and postgraduate and for the development of policies and practices for the assurance of the quality of the University’s educational provision, particularly in relation to the design, implementation, evaluation and review of mechanisms for the quality assurance and quality enhancement of teaching and learning, and for the safeguarding of academic standards.

Main Responsibilities

The UCTL shall:

  • be responsible for the oversight, development and monitoring of the University’s strategic approach to learning and teaching, its associated Learning and Teaching Operational Plan and Risk Register and the alignment of these with School and other Operational plans
  • be responsible for the development and implementation of policy relating to learning and teaching in undergraduate and postgraduate programmes in the University, and where this relates solely to either undergraduate or postgraduate provision may refer the matter to the relevant sub-committee for detailed consideration
  • be responsible for the ongoing enhancement of the quality of teaching and learning and for ensuring the effective dissemination of good practice
  • consider recommendations from the Quality Assurance Committee on mechanisms for the assurance of quality and standards and, as appropriate, make recommendations to the Senate
  • develop, review and promote professional staff development opportunities in regard to learning, teaching, assessment and feedback
  • develop and promote the work of the Centre for Academic Development
  • review and monitor the quality of provision of careers education, employability and the co-curriculum
  • be responsible for the oversight of teaching-related credit-bearing activity related to student mobility
  • be responsible for the oversight and quality assurance of online learning, transnational education (TNE) and collaborative agreements relating to teaching and learning.
  • consider and provide advice to the Student Experience Committee on aspects of the student experience which fall within both non-academic and academic areas
  • act on behalf of the Senate, after consultation with Heads of School to:

- Approve Dates of Terms

- Approve changes to the Regulations for Certificates and Diplomas, and to Regulations for Degrees in advance of their incorporation into a formal draft Resolution

- Approve deadline for the refusal of class certificates

- Approve deadlines for the return of examination results

- Approve arrangements for Graduation Ceremonies

- Approve changes to minimum entry requirements


Composition & Membership


  • Chair: Vice-Principal (Education)
  • One representative nominated by the University Court
  • Education Officer and the Vice-Chair of the Education Committee
  • Deans for Undergraduate Studies
  • Deans for Postgraduate Studies
  • Dean for Quality Assurance & Enhancement
  • Dean for Transnational Education
  • Head of the Graduate School
  • Conveners of UCTL Task Groups

In attendance

  • Director of Academic Affairs (or nominee)
  • Head of the Centre for Academic Development
  • Head of the Careers Service
  • Director of IT Services (or nominee)

Membership for 2018/19

  • Peter McGeorge
  • Colin Duncan
  • Donna Connelly
  • Ondrej Kucerak
  • Richard Wells
  • Alison Jenkinson
  • Vacant
  • Vacant
  • Ekaterina Pavlovskaia
  • Graeme Nixon
  • Kath Shennan
  • Steve Tucker
  • Tim Baker
  • Bruce Scharlau

In Attendance

  • Gillian Mackintosh
  • Rachael Bernard
  • Patricia Spence
  • Tracey Innes
  • Nathalie Kinchin-Williams
  • Clerk: Emma Hay (Registry)


The Committee will meet three times per year.


University Committee on Teaching and Learning

Attendance Records


18 September 2019

12 Novmeber 2019

8 January 2020

26 February 2020

15 April 2020

Vice-Principal (Teaching and Learning)

Peter McGeorge






University Court representative

Colin Duncan






Vice Chair of the Education Committee of the Students’ Association







Education Officer of the Students’ Association







Deans for Undergraduate Studies






Alison Jenkinson






Deans for Postgraduate Studies





Graeme Nixon






Ekaterina Pavlovskaia






Dean for Quality Assurance & Enhancement

Kath Shennan







Dean for Transnational Education

Richard Wells






Conveners of UCTL Task Groups

Tim Baker






Bruce Scharlau






Steve Tucker






In Attendance:


Director of Academic Affairs

Gillian Mackintosh






Acting Academic Registrar

Rachael Bernard


Head of the Centre for Academic Development

Patricia Spence






Head of the Careers Service

Tracey Innes






On behalf of the Director of IT Services, the Head of Relationship Management

Nathalie Kinchin-Williams







Emma Hay



Previous UCTL Attendance Records 2018/19 2017/18

Meeting Dates

2010 - 2018

2017 - 2018








2000 - 2010











1998 - 2000