People

The School of

Divinity, History, Philosophy & Art History

Maintaining a tradition of teaching & learning dating back over 500 years

People

Key Contacts

Position Name Room Ext Email address
Head of School Professor Beth Lord CB104 2367 s.b.lord@abdn.ac.uk
Head of Divinity Professor John Behr KCF1 3142 john.behr@abdn.ac.uk
Head of Art History Dr Joanne Anderson CB406 2619 joanne.anderson@abdn.ac.uk
Chair in History and Head of Department Professor Jackson Armstrong CA206 2456 j.armstrong@abdn.ac.uk
Head of Philosophy Dr Gerry Hough CB503 2375 g.hough@abdn.ac.uk
School Director of Education Dr Kenneth Jeffrey KCF2 4276 ksjeffrey@abdn.ac.uk
School Director of Research Professor Jesper Kallestrup CB506 3197 jesper.kallestrup@abdn.ac.uk
School Director of Postgraduate Research Dr J Thomas Hewitt KCG19 2629 jthomas.hewitt@abdn.ac.uk
School Administration Manager Mrs Kate Smith CB105 3158 k.a.smith@abdn.ac.uk

Art History Staff

Name Position Room Ext Email address
Dr Joanne Anderson  Reader in Art History, Head of Department CB406 2619 joanne.anderson@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Isabelle Gapp Interdisciplinary Fellow CB405 2297 isabelle.gapp@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Hans Hones Senior Lecturer CB204 2411 hans.hones@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Karl Kinsella Lecturer CB201 2946 karl.kinsella@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Catriona McAra Lecturer CB403 2561 catriona.mcara@abdn.ac.uk 
Dr Helen Pierce Senior Lecturer CB401 2621 h.pierce@abdn.ac.uk

Divinity Staff

Name Position Room Ext Email address
Professor John Behr Regius Chair in Humanity and Head of Discipline for Divinity KCF1 3142 john.behr@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Tomas Bokedal Lecturer (part-time) KCT1 2365 t.bokedal@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Brian Brock Professor KCF20 2391 b.brock@abdn.ac.uk
Professor David Clough Chair in Theology and Applied Sciences KCS2 2857 david.clough@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Katie Cross Lecturer KCS14 3056 k.cross@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Marie-Luise Ehrenschwendtner Lecturer in Medieval Church History CA210 3110 m.ehrenschwendtner@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Eilidh Galbraith Research Fellow     eilidh.galbraith@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Nathaniel Greene Lecturer KCS6 2393 nathaniel.greene@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Tom Greggs Marischal Chair of Divinity KCF10 2388 t.greggs@abdn.ac.uk
Dr J Thomas Hewitt Lecturer in Early Judaism and Christian Origins KCG19 2629 jthomas.hewitt@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Katherine Hockey Lecturer in New Testament KCS12 2304 katherine.hockey@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Kenneth Jeffrey Senior Lecturer in Church History KCF2 4276 ksjeffrey@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Grant Macaskill Kirby Laing Chair of New Testament KCF3 3039 grant.macaskill@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Sara Mannen Research Fellow KCF24 3192 sara.mannen1@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Bruce McCormack Chair in Modern Theology CAG12 3140 bruce.mccormack@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Samantha Newington Senior Lecturer KCG17 2274 s.newington@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Paul T Nimmo King's Chair of Systematic Theology KCF12 3120 paul.nimmo@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Daniel Pedersen Lecturer in Philosophical Theology KCG18 3248 daniel.pedersen@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Emma Percy Senior Lecturer KCF23 2698 emma.percy@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Jennifer Riley Research Fellow     jennifer.riley@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Joachim Schaper Established Chair of Hebrew and Semitic Languages KCF16 2840 j.schaper@abdn.ac.uk
Professor John Swinton Professor KCF18 3224 j.swinton@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Leon van Ommen Senior Lecturer KCF19 2382 leon.vanommen@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Nicola Whyte Research Fellow KCF26 2379 nicola.whyte@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Logan Williams Research Fellow KCF27 3195 logan.williams@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Jakub Zbrzezny Lecturer KCF11 2385 jakub.zbrzezny@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Philip Ziegler Chair in Christian Dogmatics KCF17 2378 p.ziegler@abdn.ac.uk

History Staff

Name Position Room Ext Email address
Dr Richard Anderson Lecturer CA108 2460 richard.anderson@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Jackson Armstrong                     Senior Lecturer Head of Discipline for History CA206     2456        j.armstrong@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Brad Bow Senior Lecturer HMA3/CAG11 4342 bradford.bow@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Cecilia Brioni Lecturer CA212 3893 cecilia.brioni@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Michael Brown Chair in Irish, Scottish & Enlightenment History CA110 2472 m.brown@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Hannah Burrows Senior Lecturer CA102 2739 hannah.burrows@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Alessandra Cecolin Lecturer CA205 2348 alessandra.cecolin@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Andrew Dilley Senior Lecturer CA105 3884 a.dilley@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Marie-Luise Ehrenschwendtner Lecturer in Church History CA210 3110 m.ehrenschwendtner@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Karin Friedrich Chair in Early Modern History CA207 2451 k.friedrich@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Robert Frost Burnett-Fletcher Chair in History CA112 2453 robert.frost@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Marcel Garbos Research Fellow CAG04 3886 marcel.garbos@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Marjory Harper Professor of History CA211 4473 m.harper@abdn.ac.uk
Dr William Hepburn Teaching Fellow CA216 3608 william.hepburn3@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Tony Heywood Professor CA104 2640 t.heywood@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Anna Lively Teaching Fellow CA101a 4245 anna.lively@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Clare Loughlin Lecturer CA213 3894 clare.loughlin@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Alastair Macdonald Senior Lecturer CA103 3927 a.j.macdonald@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Laura Mair Lecturer CA203 2219 laura.mair@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Ben Marsden Senior Lecturer in the History of Science CA204 2637 b.marsden@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Heidi Mehrkens Lecturer CA111 2466 heidi.mehrkens@abdn.ac.uk
Professor William Naphy Professor CA109 3928 w.g.naphy@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Ralph O'Connor Professor in the Literature & Culture of Britain, Ireland and Iceland CA215 2467 r.oconnor@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Frederik Pedersen Emeritus Senior Lecturer     frederik.pedersen@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Owen Walsh Lecturer CAG09 2798 owen.walsh@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Thomas Weber Professor of History and International Affairs CAG03 3539 t.weber@abdn.ac.uk

Philosophy Staff

Name Position Room Ext Email address
Professor Michael Beaney Regius Chair of Logic CB405 2812 michael.beaney@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Eilidh Beaton Lecturer CB505 3182 eilidh.beaton@abdn.ac.uk 
Professor Vikki Entwistle Professor     vikki.entwistle@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Sandro Guli Teaching Fellow OBG3 2455 sandro.guli2@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Gerry Hough                                           Senior Lecturer and Head of Discipline for Philosophy CB503 2375        g.hough@abdn.ac.uk  
Professor Jesper Kallestrup Chair in Philosophy CB506 3197 jesper.kallestrup@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Beth Lord    Chair in Philosophy, Head of School CB104 2367 s.b.lord@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Federico Luzzi Senior Lecturer CB301 2372 f.luzzi@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Luca Moretti Reader CB502 2913 l.moretti@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Ulrich Stegmann Reader CB504 3679 u.stegmann@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Paula Sweeney Senior Lecturer CB402 2357 p.sweeney@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Joshua Thorpe Research Fellow OBG3 2374 joshua.thorpe@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Stephan Torre Senior Lecturer CB501 2769 stephan.torre@abdn.ac.uk

School Administration

Name Position Room Ext Email address
Farida Ali                                                                              School Administrator (Postgraduate Programme Administrator) CB404 2890       

dhpa-pgr-admin@abdn.ac.uk (current students)     
dhpa-pg-admissions@abdn.ac.uk(applicants)

Gillian Brown School Administration Assistant (PG Support) CBLG01 2454 gillian.brown@abdn.ac.uk
Rebecca Coroon School Administration Assistant (Divinity) CB001 3986 divinity@abdn.ac.uk
Lisa Evans School Administrator (Teaching & Learning) CBLG01 3785 lisa.evans@abdn.ac.uk
Barbara McGillivray School Administration Assistant (Art History & History) CB001 2199

art-history@abdn.ac.uk

history-ug@abdn.ac.uk

Dr Joel Pierce CMS Administrator KCS7 2138 joel.pierce@abdn.ac.uk
Joanne Saripanidis School Administration Assistant (Philosophy) CB001 2366 philosophy@abdn.ac.uk
Kate Smith School Administration Manager        CB105 3158 k.a.smith@abdn.ac.uk