REF 2021

1st in the UK

Divinity at the University of Aberdeen was ranked 1st in the UK for overall quality of research


Located in the beautiful and historic surroundings of King’s College in Old Aberdeen, Divinity and Theology at Aberdeen combine the best of an ancient university with the best of contemporary, cutting-edge research and teaching.

Theological study and learning go back to the foundation of this university, which is the third oldest university in Scotland and fifth oldest in the UK. The Foundation Bull, granted by Pope Alexander VI in 1495, states that one of the main purposes of the newly founded university was to provide the very best theological education.

Today, Divinity and Theology degrees at Aberdeen concentrate on the study of Christian faith, life and doctrine in its historical, philosophical, literary, institutional and contemporary contexts. Students also have the chance to study other religions with a variety of methods in the study of religion, as well as to undertake the study of theology for ministerial training through Christ’s College.

Students join a leading, vibrant and international community which carries forward 500+ years of tradition, and brings that tradition right up to date with the highest-quality teaching and research on all aspects of theology.  Divinity and Theology at Aberdeen received 100% satisfaction in the most recent National Student Survey (NSS).  Learn more about what makes Divinity in Aberdeen unique.

Wondering what sorts of career paths you can pursue with a Theology degree? TRS-UK have created a series of videos (available here) where they explore some of the opportunities available to Theology/RS graduates.

What others say about our department:


Professor David Ford, OBE (Regius Professor of Divinity Emeritus, University of Cambridge):

‘The Aberdeen University Department of Theology is not only impressively world class, with leading theologians and scholars in the field, it also has that rare thing, a strong and warm collegiality among its members. This is a community of intensive academic inquiry and conversation that has depth as well as breadth. And it has an enviable reputation for teaching, giving the sort of formation in theology and related fields that prepares students to contribute to many spheres in our twenty-first century societies.’

Professor Stanley Hauerwas:

‘One of the highlights of my academic life was to be appointed the Chair in Ethics at the University of Aberdeen. The Department of Theology really does theology in a constructive and collaborative process; I miss my stays with my former colleagues. Theology is alive and well in the far north of Scotland

What our students say about us:

Angelika, Second Year Student in Theology and Religious Studies:

'Studying Divinity in Aberdeen is fantastic because the faculty is very helpful and competent, and they are not afraid to ask the difficult questions in Theology. There is also a great sense of community among students and professors. I would recommend students choose Aberdeen for studying Theology and Religious Studies because the classes are engaging and challenging...'

Daniele, Second Year Student in Theology and Religious Studies:

'I came to the University of Aberdeen because of its reputation as an élite university, its distinguished theologians and scholars of religions, and its ancient tradition in theological studies. I deeply appreciate the diversity in the Divinity department. Its international faculty boasts a broad spectrum of research interests and methods.'