Since the inception of AGEING theme within the IAHS in late 2013, our staff and students have demonstrated their talent by winning prizes for curricular and extra-curricular activities and being recipients of externally funded scholarships. This page is dedicated to celebrate their achievements and contribution to Ageing Clinical and Experimental Research.

  • Kirsten Cumming received Louise Tomory Prize which is awarded annually to the most distinguished female graduand over the final two years of the MBChB.
  • Elliot Gemmell received "Medical and Dental Defence Union of Scotland" prize for the best BSc Med Sci thesis 2015-2016
    Also received prestigious MRC Mycology Summer Scholarship: he talked about his experience here
  • Raphae Barlas - Medical Research Scotland Vacation Scholarship 2015
  • Emma Foster - Prize Winner for ASRS Symposium 2015
  • Emma Foster - Medical Research Scotland Vacation Scholarship 2016
  • Iong Man Tung – Prize Winner ASRS Symposium 2016 (third from right in the group photo below)

ASRS Symposium 2016

  • Andrew Ablett - Medical Research Scotland Vacation Scholarship 2017
  • Anna Wiedemann - Alzheimer’s Society Summer Student Research Scholarship 2017
  • David Gamble - Dean’s prize winner 2017
  • Tiberiu Alexandru Pana - Best poster prize at the 5th International Undergraduate Cardiovascular Conference held in Edinburgh 14-15 Oct 2017

Tiberiu Alexandru Panu

  • Andrew Ablett - Best oral presentation prize at the Scottish National British Geriatrics Society Autumn Conference (1-2 Nov 2017) held at Aberdeen.

  • Samuel Neal - Prize Winner ASRS Symposium 2017
  • Nicole Lorking - Prize Winner ASRS Symposium 2017
  • Tiberiu A Pana  – Best Poster Prize Winner YRS Conference 2018

YRS Conference Award

  • Samuel R Neal - Medical Research Scotland Vacation Scholarship 2018
  • Tiberiu A Pana  – Medical Research Scotland Vacation Scholarship 2018
  • Genevieve Marsh-feiley – Flora Gow Murray Endowed Scholarship 2018

Other achievements

  • Anna Wiedemann - was awarded the “Simpson Trophy” as the Winner of the Vocal Solos at the Aberdeen & North East of Scotland Music Festival, 5-9 June 2017.
  • Andrew Ablett - Won the Gold Medal International martial art competition; Brazilian Jiu Jitsu (BJJ)

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu championship