The National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS) celebrates and recognises individuals who have made an outstanding impact on student outcomes and the teaching profession in higher education. The scheme is organised and run nationally by the Higher Education Academy (HEA) (part of Advance HE).

The award has been running since 2000 and there are now more than 815 National Teaching Fellows, with up to 55 individuals receiving the award each year. On gaining the award, fellows play an ongoing role in enhancing teaching and learning within their institution, the HE sector and further afield.

Details of the National Teaching Fellowship Scheme 2019 award will be announced in November 2018.

Meanwhile, see below for details of events and workshops to support prospective NTFS applicants.

*Please note that applicants require support from the Head of School or equivalent.

Friday 28th September 2018 (13.30-15.30)

National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS) Masterclass with Professor Peter Hartley

Please click here for slides. 

Tuesday 9th October 2018 (09.00 - 17.00)

NTFS workshop/ writing retreat

Thursday 1st November 2018 (09.00 - 17.00) 

NTFS workshop/ writing retreat

Monday 7th January 2019 (17:00)

Submission deadline for 2019 applications


If you are considering applying in 2019 or beyond, have the support of your Head of School or equivalent and you are interested in any of the above events contact the Centre for Academic Development

You may also find it useful to study the 2018 NTFS Criteria:

NTFS 2018 Award criteria

All nominees were assessed on the evidence provided in the nominee’s claim in relation to each of the three criteria as well as an institutional statement of support. 

Criterion 1: Individual excellence

Evidence of enhancing and transforming student outcomes and/or the teaching profession; demonstrating impact commensurate with the individual’s context and the opportunities afforded by it.

Criterion 2: Raising the profile of excellence

Evidence of supporting colleagues and influencing support for student learning and/or the teaching profession; demonstrating impact and engagement beyond the nominee’s immediate academic or professional role. 

Criterion 3: Developing excellence

Evidence of the nominee’s commitment to and impact of ongoing professional development with regard to teaching and learning and/or learning support.

For further information visit the NTFS website here