• Developing, and driving strategy across the University’s research activities to meet institutional targets and Strategic Plan Performance Indicators
  • Monitoring and review of the effectiveness of the University’s Research KPIs
  • Oversight of research risk management including assurance as to health and safety matters relating to research activities
  • Oversight of research ethics and governance issues; developing and reviewing institutional policy on research ethics and governance; receiving reports from Ethics Boards and Committees; undertaking ethics health checks within Schools
  • Providing strategic direction for the University’s Impact agenda (academic and non-academic) as defined across the sector (e.g. REF and RCUK) and promotion of good practice and development of impact KPIs   
  • Receiving reports from Panel Research Committees on significant research activities within the Schools
  • Monitoring and review of impact of research investment and identifying new areas for strategic investment to match institutional priorities
  • Monitoring success of research grant applications to external income programmes, overheads and value of research and commercialisation initiatives
  • Oversight of institutional outcome and, developing submission strategy and  monitoring of preparations for Research Excellence Framework and other research performance exercises
  • Oversight of equality and diversity issues relating to research
  • Oversight of establishment and operation of institutional Graduate School or Doctoral College;  development and review of policies relating to doctoral training
  • Oversight of institutional responses to external research consultations and initiatives.
Composition and Membership


The Research Policy Committee is composed as follows:


Professor M Campbell, Vice-Principal (Research & Knowledge Exchange)


  • Mr I Percival, Independent Member of the University Court
  • Professor S Piertney, Director of Research, School of Biological Sciences
  • Professor C Montagna, Director of Research, Business School
  • Dr A Dilley, Director of Research, School of Divinity, History and Philosophy
  • Professor D Gray, Director of Research, School of Education
  • Professor C Soulsby, Director of Research, School of Geosciences
  • Professor D Pokrajac, Director of Research, School of Engineering
  • Dr C Jones, Director of Research, School of Language, Literature, Music and Visual Culture
  • Professor M Gyorfi, Director of Research, School of Law
  • Professor A Cuesta, Director of Research, School of Natural & Computing Sciences
  • Professor L Phillips, Director of Research, School of Psychology
  • Professor A Brown, Director of Research, School of Social Sciences
  • Professor A Lee, Institute for Applied Health Sciences
  • Professor J Cleland, Institute of Education for Medical and Dental Sciences
  • Professor P Fowler, Institute of Medical Sciences
  • Professor P Haggarty, Rowett Institute of Nutrition and Health
  • Professor G Macfarlane, Dean for Interdisciplinary Research and Impact
  • Professor M Brown, Dean for Cultural Strategy and Research Governance
  • Professor M Delibegovic, Dean for Industrial Engagement and Knowledge Transfer
  • Professor G Nixon, Dean for Postgraduate Research

In attendance

  • Director of Research & Innovation
  • Officers, as appropriate
  • Conveners of Ethics Committees (first meeting of session each year)
Agendas and Minutes

Session 2021-22


Session 2020-21


Session 2019-20


Session 2018-19