Department of Anthropology Seminar Series - 2018/19

Seminars take place on Thursdays 3-5pm in Edward Wright F61.
Refreshments will be served. All welcome!

Thursday 13 September
Jamie Barnes, University of Sussex

The ontological implications of spirit encounters

 

Thursday 27 September

Patrick Laviolette, Tallinn University

Hitchhiking's carporeality

 

Thursday 4 October
Paloma Gay y Blasco, University of St Andrews

Ethnography of a friendship: living collaborative anthropology

 

Thursday 11 October
Dimitrios Theodossopoulos, University of Kent

Solidarity beyond compromise: dependency and resistance in times of protracted austerity

 

Thursday 25 October

PhD presentations:

Annemiek Prins

Christopher Martin

 

Thursday 1 November
Please join us for the Royal Anthropological Institute Blacking Lecture in Ethnomusicology hosted by the Elphinstone Institute and given by Professor Ruth Finnegan of the Open University. Her title is 'Where does music come from?'
Meeting Room 1 (floor 7), University Library. 3.00 - 4.30pm.

More details here.

 

Thursday 8 November

Joseph Calabrese, University College London

Ritual healing and mental health care in Bhutan and the Navajo Nation: Perspectives from Embedded Clinical Ethnography

 

Thursday 15 November

Jo Vergunst, University of Aberdeen

Playing with wood: an anthropological study of dens

 

Thursday 22 November

Elizabeth Ogilvie, artist

Out of ice (talk, film, book launch)

 

Thursday 6 December

Tim Ingold, University of Aberdeen

In praise of amateurs

Venue to be confirmed