Armadillo sculptureStaff Details

General inquiries can be directed towards the contact details at the bottom of this page. If you wish to get in touch with a specific member of staff please see below for further details.

Key Contacts

Key Contacts

Name Position Ext Email Address
Prof. Chris Collins Head of School 3004 chris.collins@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Shona Potts Director of Teaching and Learning 2534 s.potts@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Suk-Jun Kim Director of Postgraduate Research Studies 4618 s.kim@abdn.ac.uk
Prof. Amy Bryzgel Director of Postgraduate Taught Studies 2852 a.bryzgel@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Roger Ravet Disabilities Coordinator 2151 r.ravet@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Christopher Gray Disabilities Coordinator & Mental Health Officer (Music) 4684 chris.gray@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Agni Connor Mental Health Officer TBC agni.connor@abdn.ac.uk
Prof. Alison Lumsden Equality and Diversity Officer 3925 a.lumsden@abdn.ac.uk
Prof. Patience Schell Health and Wellbeing Officer 2631 p.schell@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Syrithe Pugh Health and Safety Officer 2623 s.m.pugh@abdn.ac.uk
Mrs Anna Bokedal Senior Personal Tutor 2486 a.bokedal@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Gundula Sharman Year Abroad Coordinator (German) 2486 g.m.sharman@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Maria Fernandez Year Abroad Coordinator (Spanish) 2154 m.fernandez@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Clemence O'Connor Year Abroad Coordinator (French) 2635 clemence.oconnor@abdn.ac.uk
Undergraduate Programme Coordinators

Undergraduate Programme Coordinators

Name Position Ext Email Address
Prof Ralph O'Connor Celtic & Anglo Saxon Studies 2467 r.oconnor@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Wayne Price English 2555 w.price@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Silvia Casini Film & Visual Culture 2161 silvia.casini@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Bruno Tribout French & Francophone Studies 2676 b.tribout@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Michelle Macleod Gaelic Studies 2548 m.macleod@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Gundula Sharman German Studies 2486 g.m.sharman@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Elspeth Edelstein Language & Linguistics 2677 elspeth.edelstein@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Edward Campbell Music 4621 e.campbell@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Jesse Barker Spanish & Latin American Studies 3098 jbarker@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Maria Sanchez-Ortiz Translation and Interpreting 2623 m.t.sanchez@abdn.ac.uk
Postgraduate Programme Coordinators

Postgraduate Programme Coordinators

Name Position Ext Email Address
Dr Tania Fahey-Palma Creative and Cultural Communication 2203 t.faheypalma@abdn.ac.uk
Dr David Wheatley Creative Writing 2461 d.wheatley@abdn.ac.uk
Dr S Elizabeth Anderson English Literary Studies 2645 sarahelizabeth.anderson@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Thomas A McKean Ethnology & Folklore 3882/2996 t.a.mckean@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Alan Macpherson Film, Visual Culture and Arts Management 2426 alan.macpherson1@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Suk-Jun Kim Music 4618 s.kim@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Tania Fahey-Palma Professional Communication 2203 t.faheypalma@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Agni Connor TESOL - Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages TBC agni.connor@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Maria Sanchez-Ortiz Translation and Interpreting 2623 m.t.sanchez@abdn.ac.uk
Administrative Office

Permanent Staff

Name Position Ext Email Address
Ms Lisa Baxter School Administration Assistant (Celtic, Gaelic & Sustained Studies) 2549 l.baxter@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Laura Bowie Senior School Administrator 2550 l.bowie@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Jon Cameron School Administration Manager 2646 jon.cameron@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Euan Crabb Senior School Administrator 2570 escrabb@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Adam Cresser Music Technician 4828 adamcresser@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Christopher Knight School Administration Co-ordinator 2625

christopher.knight@abdn.ac.uk

Dr Julia Kotzur School Administration Co-ordinator 3575 julia.kotzur@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Caley Morrice School Administration Assistant (Spanish Studies) 2163 caley.morrice@abdn.ac.uk
Mrs Julie Parkinson School Administration Assistant (English & German Studies) 2549 jparkinson@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Skaiste Kaziukeviciute School Administration Assistant (Linguistics) 2163 skaiste.kaziukeviciute@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Alison Sharman Administrator (Elphinstone Institute) 2992 a.sharman@abdn.ac.uk
Mrs Elena Sinclair Music Secretary 4779 elena.sinclair@abdn.ac.uk 
Celtic & Anglo Saxon Studies

Permanent Staff

Name Position Ext Email Address
Prof Ralph O'Connor Professor in the Literature and Culture of Britain, Ireland and Iceland 2467 r.oconnor@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Aideen O'Leary Lecturer 3100 a.oleary@abdn.ac.uk

Honorary Staff

Name Position Email Address
Prof David Dumville Professor of History, Palaeography and Celtic & Anglo-Saxon Studies d.n.dumville@abdn.ac.uk
English

Permanent Staff

Name Position Ext Email Address
Prof Shane Alcobia-Murphy Personal Chair/ Professor in English 2630 sam@abdn.ac.uk
Dr S Elizabeth Anderson Lecturer 2645 sarahelizabeth.anderson@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Timothy Baker Senior Lecturer 3777 t.c.baker@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Cairns Craig Chair in Irish & Scottish Studies/ Professor in English 3681 cairns.craig@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Elizabeth Elliott Senior Lecturer 2730 elizabethelliott@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Andrew Gordon Personal Chair / Professor in English 2626 andrew.gordon@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Hazel Hutchison Personal Chair / Professor in English 3687 h.hutchison@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Helena Ifill Lecturer 2671 helena.ifill@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Catherine Jones Personal Chair / Professor in English / Director of Research 3759 c.a.jones@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Alison Lumsden Chair in English Literature 3925 a.lumsden@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Helen Lynch Reader 2642 h.lynch@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Alan Macpherson Teaching Fellow 2426 alan.macpherson1@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Wayne Price Senior Lecturer 2555 w.price@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Syrithe Pugh Reader 2623 s.pugh@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Thomas Rist Senior Lecturer 2832 t.rist@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Sarah Sharp Lecurer 2202 sarah.sharp@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Tim Tricker Teaching Fellow   tim.tricker@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Dan Wall Teaching Fellow 2149 d.j.wall@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Alan Warner Senior Lecturer 2368 alan.warner@abdn.ac.uk
Dr David Wheatley Reader 2461 d.wheatley@abdn.ac.uk

Honorary Staff

Name Position Email Address
Prof Patrick Crotty Emeritus Professor p.j.crotty@abdn.ac.uk
Prof David Hewitt Emeritus Professor d.s.hewitt@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Derek Hughes Emeritus Professor d.w.hughes@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Jeannette King Emeritus Professor j.m.king@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Derrick McClure Honorary Senior Lecturer j.d.mcclure@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Isobel Murray Emeritus Professor imurray@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Paul Schlicke Honorary Senior Lecturer p.schlicke@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Alan Spence Emeritus Professor a.spence@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Janet Todd Emeritus Professor j.todd@abdn.ac.uk
Ethnology & Folklore - Elphinstone Institute

Permanent Staff

Name Position Ext Email Address
Dr Julia Bishop Research Fellow (James Madison Collection Project)   julia.bishop1@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Nicolas Le Bigre Teaching Fellow, Archives 2997 n.lebigre@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Thomas A McKean Lecturer / Director of Elphinstone Institute 3882/2996 t.a.mckean@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Frances Wilkins Lecturer in Ethnomusicology 2310 frances.wilkins@abdn.ac.uk
Film & Visual Culture

Permanent Staff

Name Position Ext Email Address
Prof Amy Bryzgel Personal Chair / Professor in Film & Visual Culture 2852 a.bryzgel@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Silvia Casini Lecturer 2161 silvia.casini@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Katya Krylova Lecturer 2491 katya.krylova@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Alan Macpherson Teaching Fellow 2426 alan.macpherson1@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Alan Marcus Personal Chair / Professor in Film & Visual Culture 2632 a.marcus@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Alejandra Rodriguez-Remedi Teaching Fellow   alejandra.rodriguez@abdn.ac.uk


 

French & Francophone Studies

Permanent Staff

Name Position Ext Email Address
Ms Victoria Petit Lectrice   victoria.petit@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Doreen Essoh Lectrice   doreen.essoh@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Glynn Hesketh Senior Lecturer 2027 g.hesketh@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Nadia Kiwan Personal Chair / Professor in French 4201 n.kiwan@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Aine Larkin Senior Lecturer 2155 a.larkin@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Clemence O'Connor Lecturer 2635 clemence.oconnor@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Shona Potts Lecturer / Director of Teaching and Learning 2534 s.potts@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Roger Ravet Lecturer 2151 r.ravet@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Bruno Tribout Senior Lecturer 2676 b.tribout@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Edward Welch Carnegie Chair of French 2152 edward.welch@abdn.ac.uk

Honorary Staff

Name Position Email Address
Dr Margaret Jubb Honorary Senior Lecturer m.jubb@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Alison Saunders Emeritus Professor a.m.saunders@abdn.ac.uk
Gaelic Studies

Permanent Staff

Name Position Ext Email Address
Dr Maria Coira Teaching Fellow TBC maria.coira@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Alexander MacDonald Teaching Fellow 2540 alexander.macdonald@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Kirstie MacLeod Lecturer 2148 kirstie.macleod@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Michelle Macleod Personal Chair / Professor of Gaelic 2548 m.macleod@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Moray Watson Senior Lecturer 2546 m.watson@abdn.ac.uk

Honorary Staff

Name Position Email Address
Prof Colm O'Boyle Emeritus Professor c.oboyle@abdn.ac.uk
German Studies

Permanent Staff

Name Position Ext Email Address
Dr Tara Beaney  Lecturer 2488 tara.beaney@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Katya Krylova Lecturer 2491 katya.krylova@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Sabrina Link Lektorin 2633 sabrina.link@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Carina Zoehrer Lektorin 2833 carina.zoehrer@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Gundula Sharman Senior Lecturer 2486 g.m.sharman@abdn.ac.uk

Honorary Staff

Name Position Email Address
Prof Gordon Burgess Emeritus Professor g.burgess@abdn.ac.uk
Language & Linguistics

Permanent Staff

Name Position Ext Email Address
Dr William Barras Lecturer 2539 w.s.barras@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Agni Connor Senior Lecturer 2160 agni.connor@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Elspeth Edelstein Lecturer 2677 elspeth.edelstein@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Tania Fahey-Palma Lecturer 2203 t.faheypalma@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Vincent Greenier Lecturer 2544 vtgreenier@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Robert McColl Millar Personal Chair / Professor in Linguistics 3909 r.millar@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Dawn Leslie Teaching Fellow 2627 dawn.leslie@abdn.ac.uk
Music

Permanent Staff

Name Position Ext Email Address
Ms Christine Aldred Teaching Fellow 4642 c.aldred@abdn.ac.uk
Mrs Pauline Black Senior Lecturer 4610 paulineblack@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Edward Campbell Personal Chair / Professor in Music  4621 e.campbell@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Chris Collins Head of School TBC chris.collins@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Phillip Cooke Senior Lecturer / Head of Music 4599 p.cooke@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Christopher Gray Senior Teaching Fellow 4684 chris.gray@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Jonathan Hicks Lecturer 4537 jonathan.hicks@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Frauke Jurgensen Senior Lecturer 4683 f.jurgensen@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Suk-Jun Kim Senior Lecturer 4618 s.kim@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Matthew Machin-Autenrieth Lecturer TBC matthew.machin-autenrieth@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Paul Mealor Professor of Composition 4603 p.mealor@abdn.ac.uk
Dr John de Simone Senior Lecturer 4515 john.desimone@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Peter Stollery Professor of Electroacoustic Music and Composition / Deputy Head of Music 4601 p.stollery@abdn.ac.uk
Spanish & Latin American Studies

Permanent Staff

Name Position Ext Email Address
Dr Jesse Barker Lecturer 3098 jbarker@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Constanza Celis Teaching Assistant 3245 aura.celisdelvalle@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Sonia Domingo Lecturer 2636 s.domingo@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Marian Fernandez Teaching Fellow 2154 m.fernandez@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Itziar Lopez Teaching Assistant 3245 iciar.lopezsaezdelburgo@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Patience Schell Chair in Hispanic Studies 2631 p.schell@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Trevor Stack Senior Lecturer 2543 t.stack@abdn.ac.uk
Sustained Studies - Languages

Permanent Staff

Name Position Ext Email Address
Dr Khaled Bashir Lecturer 2628 khaled.bashir@abdn.ac.uk
Mrs Anna Bokedal Lecturer 2754 a.bokedal@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Ahmed Fawaz Lecturer 2628 ahmed.fawaz@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Fen Glover Teaching Fellow 3221 f.glover@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Lindsay Sullivan Deputy Director of Confucius Institute / 
Teaching Fellow
2643 lindsay.sullivan@abdn.ac.uk


 

Translation and Interpreting

Permanent Staff

Name Position Ext Email Address
Dr Maria Sanchez-Ortiz Senior Lecturer 2490 m.t.sanchez@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Zhu Zhu Lecturer TBC zhu.zhu@abdn.ac.uk

The School of Language, Literature, Music and Visual Culture
University of Aberdeen
King's College
Aberdeen
AB24 3UB

Telephone: +44 (0)1224 272625
Email: langlit.school@abdn.ac.uk