Armadillo sculptureStaff Details

General inquiries can be directed towards the contact details at the bottom of this page. If you wish to get in touch with a specific member of staff please see below for further details.

Key Contacts

Key Contacts

Name Position Ext Email Address
Professor Chris Collins Head of School 3004 chris.collins@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Shona Potts Director of Teaching and Learning 2534 s.potts@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Suk-Jun Kim Director of Postgraduate Research Studies 4618 s.kim@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Tania Fahey Palma Director of Postgraduate Taught Studies 2852 t.faheypalma@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Catherine Jones Director of Research 3759 c.a.jones@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Elizabeth Elliott Decolonised Curriculum Lead 2730 elizabethelliott@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Roger Ravet Disabilities Coordinator 2151 r.ravet@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Christopher Gray Disabilities Coordinator & Mental Health Officer (Music) 4684 chris.gray@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Agni Connor Mental Health Officer TBC agni.connor@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Alison Lumsden Equality and Diversity Officer 3925 a.lumsden@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Frauke Jurgensen Athena Swan Lead 4683 f.jurgensen@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Aideen O'Leary Race Equality Champion 3100 a.oleary@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Bárbara Barreiro León Deputy Race Equality Champion TBC barbara.leon@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Vincent Greenier Ethics Officer 2544 vtgreenier@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Patience Schell Health and Wellbeing Officer 2631 p.schell@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Dan Wall Health and Safety Officer 2149 d.j.wall@abdn.ac.uk
Mrs Anna Bokedal Senior Personal Tutor 2486 a.bokedal@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Gundula Sharman Year Abroad Coordinator (German) 2486 g.m.sharman@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Maria Fernandez Year Abroad Coordinator (Spanish) 2154 m.fernandez@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Clemence O'Connor Year Abroad Coordinator (French) 2635 clemence.oconnor@abdn.ac.uk
Undergraduate Programme Coordinators

Undergraduate Programme Coordinators

Name Position Ext Email Address
Professor Ralph O'Connor Celtic & Anglo Saxon Studies 2467 r.oconnor@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Elizabeth Anderson English 2555 sarahelizabeth.anderson@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Silvia Casini Film & Visual Culture 2161 silvia.casini@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Nadia Kiwan French & Francophone Studies 4201 n.kiwan@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Michelle Macleod Gaelic Studies 2548 m.macleod@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Gundula Sharman German Studies 2486 g.m.sharman@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Elspeth Edelstein Language & Linguistics 2677 elspeth.edelstein@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Edward Campbell Music 4621 e.campbell@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Jesse Barker Spanish & Latin American Studies 3098 jbarker@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Zhu Zhu Translation and Interpreting 2623 zhu.zhu@abdn.ac.uk
Postgraduate Programme Coordinators

Postgraduate Programme Coordinators

Name Position Ext Email Address
Dr Tania Fahey-Palma Creative and Cultural Communication 2203 t.faheypalma@abdn.ac.uk
Dr David Wheatley Creative Writing 2461 d.wheatley@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Helena Ifill English Language and Literature 2671 helena.ifill@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Thomas A McKean Ethnology & Folklore 3882/2996 t.a.mckean@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Alan Macpherson Film, Visual Culture and Arts Management 2426 alan.macpherson1@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Sarah Sharp Literatures, Environments, Places 2202 sarah.sharp@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Suk-Jun Kim Music 4618 s.kim@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Tania Fahey-Palma Professional Communication 2203 t.faheypalma@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Agni Connor TESOL - Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages - agni.connor@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Maria Sanchez-Ortiz Translation and Interpreting 2623 m.t.sanchez@abdn.ac.uk
Administrative Office

Permanent Staff

Name Position Ext Email Address
Ms Lisa Baxter School Administration Assistant (Celtic, Gaelic & Sustained Studies) 2549 l.baxter@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Laura Bowie Senior School Administrator 2550 l.bowie@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Jon Cameron School Administration Manager 2646 jon.cameron@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Euan Crabb Senior School Administrator 2570 escrabb@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Adam Cresser Music Technician 4828 adamcresser@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Christopher Knight School Administration Co-ordinator 2625

christopher.knight@abdn.ac.uk

Dr Julia Kotzur School Administration Co-ordinator 3575 julia.kotzur@abdn.ac.uk
Mrs Julie Parkinson School Administration Assistant (English & German Studies) 2549 jparkinson@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Skaiste Kaziukeviciute School Administration Assistant (Linguistics) 2163 skaiste.kaziukeviciute@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Alison Sharman Administrator (Elphinstone Institute) 2992 a.sharman@abdn.ac.uk
Mrs Elena Sinclair Music Secretary 4779 elena.sinclair@abdn.ac.uk 
Mr Tobias P Wolf School Administration Assistant, Marketing - tobias.wolf@abdn.ac.uk

 

Celtic & Anglo Saxon Studies

Permanent Staff

For details of undergraduate or postgraduate programme coordinators please see above.

Name Position Ext Email Address
Professor Ralph O'Connor Professor in the Literature and Culture of Britain, Ireland and Iceland 2467 r.oconnor@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Aideen O'Leary Lecturer 3100 a.oleary@abdn.ac.uk

Honorary Staff

Name Position Email Address
Professor David Dumville Professor of History, Palaeography and Celtic & Anglo-Saxon Studies d.n.dumville@abdn.ac.uk
English

Permanent Staff

For details of undergraduate or postgraduate programme coordinators please see above.

Name Position Ext Email Address
Professor Alan Marcus Chair in Creative and Culture Practice 2632 a.marcus@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Shane Alcobia-Murphy Personal Chair/ Professor in English 2630 sam@abdn.ac.uk
Dr S Elizabeth Anderson Lecturer 2645 sarahelizabeth.anderson@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Timothy Baker Personal Chair 3777 t.c.baker@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Cairns Craig Chair in Irish & Scottish Studies/ Professor in English 3681 cairns.craig@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Elizabeth Elliott Senior Lecturer 2730 elizabethelliott@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Andrew Gordon Personal Chair / Professor in English 2626 andrew.gordon@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Hazel Hutchison Personal Chair / Professor in English 3687 h.hutchison@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Helena Ifill Lecturer 2671 helena.ifill@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Catherine Jones Personal Chair / Professor in English / Director of Research 3759 c.a.jones@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Alison Lumsden Chair in English Literature 3925 a.lumsden@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Helen Lynch Reader 2642 h.lynch@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Alan Macpherson Teaching Fellow 2426 alan.macpherson1@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Wayne Price Senior Lecturer 2555 w.price@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Syrithe Pugh Reader 2623 s.pugh@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Thomas Rist Senior Lecturer 2832 t.rist@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Sarah Sharp Lecurer 2202 sarah.sharp@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Tim Tricker Teaching Fellow   tim.tricker@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Dan Wall Teaching Fellow 2149 d.j.wall@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Alan Warner Senior Lecturer 2368 alan.warner@abdn.ac.uk
Dr David Wheatley Personal Chair 2461 d.wheatley@abdn.ac.uk

Honorary Staff

Name Position Email Address
Professor Patrick Crotty Emeritus Professor p.j.crotty@abdn.ac.uk
Professor David Hewitt Emeritus Professor d.s.hewitt@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Derek Hughes Emeritus Professor d.w.hughes@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Jeannette King Emeritus Professor j.m.king@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Derrick McClure Honorary Senior Lecturer j.d.mcclure@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Isobel Murray Emeritus Professor imurray@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Paul Schlicke Honorary Senior Lecturer p.schlicke@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Alan Spence Emeritus Professor a.spence@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Janet Todd Emeritus Professor j.todd@abdn.ac.uk
Ethnology & Folklore - Elphinstone Institute

Permanent Staff

For details of undergraduate or postgraduate programme coordinators please see above.

Name Position Ext Email Address
Dr Julia Bishop Research Fellow (James Madison Collection Project)   julia.bishop1@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Nicolas Le Bigre Teaching Fellow, Archives 2997 n.lebigre@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Thomas A McKean Lecturer / Director of Elphinstone Institute 3882/2996 t.a.mckean@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Frances Wilkins Senior Lecturer in Ethnomusicology 2310 frances.wilkins@abdn.ac.uk
Film & Visual Culture

Permanent Staff

For details of undergraduate or postgraduate programme coordinators please see above.

Name Position Ext Email Address
Dr Barbara Barreiro-Leon Teaching Fellow - barbara.leon@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Amy Bryzgel Personal Chair / Professor in Film & Visual Culture 2852 a.bryzgel@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Silvia Casini Senior Lecturer 2161 silvia.casini@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Katya Krylova Lecturer 2491 katya.krylova@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Alan Macpherson Teaching Fellow 2426 alan.macpherson1@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Alejandra Rodriguez-Remedi Teaching Fellow - alejandra.rodriguez@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Calum Waddell Lecturer -  
French & Francophone Studies

Permanent Staff

For details of undergraduate or postgraduate programme coordinators please see above.

Name Position Ext Email Address
Ms Victoria Petit Lectrice   victoria.petit@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Doreen Essoh Lectrice   doreen.essoh@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Glynn Hesketh Senior Lecturer 2027 g.hesketh@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Nadia Kiwan Personal Chair / Professor in French 4201 n.kiwan@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Aine Larkin Senior Lecturer 2155 a.larkin@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Clemence O'Connor Lecturer 2635 clemence.oconnor@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Shona Potts Lecturer / Director of Teaching and Learning 2534 s.potts@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Roger Ravet Lecturer 2151 r.ravet@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Bruno Tribout Reader 2676 b.tribout@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Edward Welch Carnegie Chair of French 2152 edward.welch@abdn.ac.uk

Honorary Staff

Name Position Email Address
Dr Margaret Jubb Honorary Senior Lecturer m.jubb@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Alison Saunders Emeritus Professor a.m.saunders@abdn.ac.uk
Gaelic Studies

Permanent Staff

For details of undergraduate or postgraduate programme coordinators please see above.

Name Position Ext Email Address
Dr Maria Coira Teaching Fellow TBC maria.coira@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Alexander MacDonald Teaching Fellow 2540 alexander.macdonald@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Kirstie MacLeod Lecturer 2148 kirstie.macleod@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Michelle Macleod Personal Chair / Professor of Gaelic 2548 m.macleod@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Moray Watson Personal Chair / Professor of Gaelic and Translation 2546 m.watson@abdn.ac.uk

Honorary Staff

Name Position Email Address
Professor Colm O'Boyle Emeritus Professor c.oboyle@abdn.ac.uk
German Studies

Permanent Staff

For details of undergraduate or postgraduate programme coordinators please see above.

Name Position Ext Email Address
Dr Tara Beaney  Lecturer 2488 tara.beaney@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Katya Krylova Lecturer 2491 katya.krylova@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Sabrina Link Lektorin 2633 sabrina.link@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Carina Zoehrer Lektorin 2833 carina.zoehrer@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Gundula Sharman Senior Lecturer 2486 g.m.sharman@abdn.ac.uk

Honorary Staff

Name Position Email Address
Professor Gordon Burgess Emeritus Professor g.burgess@abdn.ac.uk
Language & Linguistics

Permanent Staff

For details of undergraduate or postgraduate programme coordinators please see above.

Name Position Ext Email Address
Dr William Barras Lecturer 2539 w.s.barras@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Agni Connor Senior Lecturer 2160 agni.connor@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Elspeth Edelstein Senior Lecturer 2677 elspeth.edelstein@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Tania Fahey-Palma Lecturer 2203 t.faheypalma@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Vincent Greenier Lecturer 2544 vtgreenier@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Robert McColl Millar Personal Chair / Professor in Linguistics 3909 r.millar@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Dawn Leslie Teaching Fellow 2627 dawn.leslie@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Ishrat Rehman-Feltell Teaching Fellow TBC ishrat.rehman-feltell@abdn.ac.uk
Music

Permanent Staff

For details of undergraduate or postgraduate programme coordinators please see above.

Name Position Ext Email Address
Ms Christine Aldred Teaching Fellow 4642 c.aldred@abdn.ac.uk
Mrs Pauline Black Senior Lecturer (Scholarship) 4610 paulineblack@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Edward Campbell Personal Chair in Music  4621 e.campbell@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Chris Collins Head of School TBC chris.collins@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Phillip Cooke Senior Lecturer  4599 p.cooke@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Christopher Gray Senior Lecturer (Scholarship) 4684 chris.gray@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Jonathan Hicks Lecturer 4537 jonathan.hicks@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Jane Forner Teaching Fellow TBC jane.forner@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Frauke Jurgensen Senior Lecturer 4683 f.jurgensen@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Suk-Jun Kim Senior Lecturer 4618 s.kim@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Matthew Machin-Autenrieth Lecturer TBC matthew.machin-autenrieth@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Paul Mealor Professor of Composition 4603 p.mealor@abdn.ac.uk
Mr James O'Neil Teaching Fellow TBC james.o'neil@abdn.ac.uk
Dr John de Simone Senior Lecturer 4515 john.desimone@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Peter Stollery Professor of Electroacoustic Music and Composition 4601 p.stollery@abdn.ac.uk
Spanish & Latin American Studies

Permanent Staff

For details of undergraduate or postgraduate programme coordinators please see above.

Name Position Ext Email Address
Dr Jesse Barker Lecturer 3098 jbarker@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Constanza Celis Teaching Assistant 3245 aura.celisdelvalle@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Sonia Domingo Lecturer 2636 s.domingo@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Marian Fernandez Teaching Fellow 2154 m.fernandez@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Itziar Lopez Teaching Assistant 3245 iciar.lopezsaezdelburgo@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Patience Schell Chair in Hispanic Studies 2631 p.schell@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Trevor Stack Personal Chair 2543 t.stack@abdn.ac.uk
Sustained Studies - Languages

Permanent Staff

For details of undergraduate or postgraduate programme coordinators please see above.

Name Position Ext Email Address
Dr Khaled Bashir Lecturer 2628 khaled.bashir@abdn.ac.uk
Mrs Anna Bokedal Lecturer 2754 a.bokedal@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Ahmed Fawaz Lecturer 2628 ahmed.fawaz@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Fen Glover Lecturer 3221 f.glover@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Lindsay Sullivan Deputy Director of Confucius Institute / 
Teaching Fellow
2643 lindsay.sullivan@abdn.ac.uk


 

Translation and Interpreting

Permanent Staff

For details of undergraduate or postgraduate programme coordinators please see above.

Name Position Ext Email Address
Dr Maria Sanchez-Ortiz Senior Lecturer 2490 m.t.sanchez@abdn.ac.uk
Professor Moray Watson Personal Chair / Professor of Gaelic and Translation 2546 m.watson@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Zhu Zhu Lecturer TBC zhu.zhu@abdn.ac.uk

 

The School of Language, Literature, Music and Visual Culture
University of Aberdeen
King's College
Aberdeen
AB24 3UB

Telephone: +44 (0)1224 272625
Email: langlit.school@abdn.ac.uk