Professor Sir Lewis Ritchie

Professor Sir Lewis Ritchie

Mackenzie Chair of General Practice

Professor Sir Lewis Ritchie
Professor Sir Lewis Ritchie

Contact Details

work +44 (0)1224 437255
The University of Aberdeen Centre of Academic Primary Care
Polwarth Building
AB25 2ZD



Professor Sir Lewis Duthie Ritchie OBE FRSE


BSc (Chemistry) MBChB MD [Aberdeen] MSc (Community Medicine) [Edinburgh]


Current Posts


James Mackenzie Professor of General Practice, University of Aberdeen (1992- )


Honorary Professor of Primary Care and Public Health, University of the Highlands and Islands (2014- )

Honorary Professor of General Practice, University of Edinburgh (2015- )

Honorary Consultant in Public Health, NHS Grampian (1993-2012; 2014- )

Chair, Queens Nursing Institute Scotland (QNIS; 2015- )

Former Posts

Principal General Practitioner Peterhead Health Centre and Community Hospital (1984-2012)

Director of Public Health and Board Executive Director, NHS Grampian (2012-14)

Consultant in Public Health Medicine, NHS Grampian (1987-1992)


2001    OBE     Queen's Birthday Honours (for services to general practice and primary care in Scotland)

2011    Knight Bachelor      New Year Honours (for services to the NHS in Scotland)

Postgraduate Awards 

UK/National/Regional awards

1978   Royal College of General Practitioners, NE Scotland Faculty, Kincardine Prize

1991    British Computer Society, John Perry Prize

1992    Royal College of General Practitioners UK, Ian Stokoe Memorial Award

1995    University of Aberdeen, Blackwell Prize

2003    President, Aberdeen Medico-Chirurgical Society

2004    Provost, North East Scotland Faculty Royal College of General Practitioners

2007    University of Edinburgh, Richard Scott Lectureship

2010    Royal College of General Practitioners UK, James Mackenzie Lectureship and Medal

2010    RCGP NE Scotland Faculty, Provost Medal

2012    Association of Port Health Authorities UK, Stock Memorial Lecture

2012    RCGP West Scotland Faculty, Fulton Lecture

2014    Faculty of Public Health UK, DARE Lecture

2015    Honorary Fellowship, Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow (FRCPG)

2015    Honorary Membership, Aberdeen Medico–Chirurgical Society

2016    Fellowship, Royal Society of Edinburgh (FRSE)

2016    Honorary Fellowship, Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh ad hominem (FRCSE)

2018    President, Harveian Society of Edinburgh 

International awards

2007    Royal New Zealand College of General Practitioners, Eric Elder Medal 

NHS Scotland:  Chair/Leadership of Independent Reviews, Reports and Implementation Groups

1996    Independent Review of the purpose and potential of Community Hospitals in Scotland (1995-96)

1998    Independent Review of the provision of primary care and community hospital services in Mid-Argyll

1999    Chair: SIGN Guideline 40: Lipids and the Primary Prevention of Coronary Heart Disease (1997-99)

1999    Chair: Promoting primary care research in Scotland for the Chief Scientist Office, Scottish Government, resulting in the establishment of the Scottish School of Primary Care (SSPC: 1998-2001)

2000    Chair: Implementation of the National Meningococcal C Immunisation Programme in Scotland (1999-2001). Final Report 2001

2001    Non-Executive Director NHS 24 (2001-07)

2001    Chair: Biomedical and Therapeutic Research Committee of the Chief Scientist Office (2001-07)

2002    Chair: Review of the GPASS General Practice Computer Software System in Scotland (2001-02). Report: Promoting Primary Care Computing in Scotland (2002)

2003    Chair:  Implementation of the Adult Pneumococcal Immunisation Programme in Scotland (2003-04)

2003   Publication of personal Book Chapter: Developing Primary Care in Scotland, in 'Scotland's Health and Health Services' (Eds: K Woods and D Carter, The Nuffield Trust, 2003)

2005   Chair: Internal Board Review of the Effectiveness of Services Delivered by NHS 24, with external independent expert input, in Non-Executive Director (Vice-Chair) capacity

2006  Chair: NHS 24 Board (Interim - 2006-07)

2007  Review and revision of all SIGN Cardiovascular Guidelines in Scotland  (Co-Chair Steering Group 2004-07). SIGN Guidelines 93-97 published in 2007

2007 Chair:  Scottish Medical and Scientific Advisory Committee (SMASAC).  Main output as Chair (2007-15)  Report: Promoting Professionalism and Excellence in Scottish Medicine (2009), leading to establishment of the Scottish Clinical Leadership Fellowship scheme

2008 Quality Improvement Scotland (QIS) Heart Disease Standards - Chair of Prevention Group (2008-10)

2008 Chair: Review of the Seasonal Influenza Immunisation Programme in Scotland, with report of recommendations published 2008 (2007-08)

2008 Chair: RCGP General Practitioners' Career Group. Report: Academic General Practice in Scotland: Securing Success published 2009 (2008-09)

2008 Chair: Chief Pharmaceutical Officer's Group on promoting community pharmacy future roles. Report: Establishing Therapeutic Partnerships, published 2010 (2008-09) 

2009 Chair: Implementation of the Swine Flu (H1N1) Immunisation Delivery Programme in Scotland, in response to the 2009-10 International Swine Flu Pandemic (2009-10). Report published 2010

2010 Chair of the Chronic Fatigue Syndrome/Meningo-encephalomyelitis (CFS/ME) Good Practice Guidance, published 2010

2011-13  Non Executive Director, Healthcare Improvement Scotland (HIS)

2012-14  Director of Public Health, NHS Grampian. Three Annual Director of Public Health Reports published 2012, 2013, 2014

2013 Chair: Health Informatics Research Advisory Group (HIRAG - Chief Scientist Office) - Report published 2015

2015 Chair: Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN) Steering Group, Revision of Scottish Cardiovascular Guidelines: SIGN 147-150 

2015 Chair: Independent National Review Report of Primary Care Out-of-Hours Services in Scotland. Report: Pulling together: Transforming Urgent Care for the People of Scotland, published 2015

2017 Chair: Independent National Public Holiday Review. Review: Promoting the Resilience of Urgent Health and Social Care Services, published 2017

2017 Chair: Independent Assurance and Advisory Group for NHS Tayside.  Three Reports published: Staging Report 2017; First Progress Report 2017; Second Progress Report, 2018

 2018 Chair: Independent Review of Out-of-Hours Care Services in Skye, Lochalsh and South West Ross, Report published 2018.




update | about Staff Pages