Date

Speaker

Affiliation

Title

Friday 17th October 2008

Irene Watt

Elphinstone Institute, University of Aberdeen

The power of the lullaby 

Friday 24th October 2008

Peter Tuite

 

Theology in Messiaen

Friday 31st October 2008

Richard Ingham, saxophonist

University of St Andrews

From Pennan to Penang

Friday 14th November 2008

Robert Scott Thompson, composer

Georgia State University

Breaking Sound Barriers

Friday 28th November 2008

Prof. Jonathan Stephens

Department of Music, University of Aberdeen

Identity Crisis

Friday 5th December 2008

Dr Edward Campbell

Department of Music, University of Aberdeen

Boulez, the Man and his Music

Friday 12th December 2008

Dr Pam Burnard

University of Cambridge

Composing in the Classroom

Friday 6th February 2009   

Dr Colin Durrant

Institute of Education, University of London 

Leadership and Communication through effective choral conducting

Friday 20 February 2009

Dr Emily Doolittle

Cornish College of the Arts, Seattle

 ‘Other Species Counterpoint’: Birdsong and Music

Friday 27th February 2009  

Fiona-Jane Brown

Elphinstone Institute, University of Aberdeen

The Fishermen Hung the Monkey-O’: A Comic Ballad and Its Implications for Cultural Identity in Two British Fishing Communities

Friday 6th March 2009 

Prof. Bennett Zon 

University of Durham

Romantic Evolutionism and the Art of Teaching Children Music

Friday 20th March 2009

Paula Bishop-Liebler, PhD Student 

Institute of Education, University of London 

Linguistic and non-linguistic auditory processing skills in conservatoire level musicians, with and without developmental dyslexia

Friday 27th March 2009 

Ross Whyte

Department of Music, University of Aberdeen

Visual Music: Synaesthesia and Multi-Sensory Perception

Friday 1st May 2009

Prof. Lucy Green

Institute of Education, University of London 

Informal learning, aural learning and the instrumental music lesson: Some work-in-progress

Friday 8th May 2009

Prof. Nick Clapton

Royal Academy of Music, London

Vocal Myths and Vocal Legends – The Castrato and the Countertenor