Date

Speaker

Affiliation

Title

Friday 28th September 2007

Prof. Pete Stollery and Dr Paul Mealor

Department of Music, University of Aberdeen

Composition as Research

Friday 5th October 2007

Dr Geoff Palmer

Department of Music, University of Aberdeen

Splitting the Semitone: A Composer's Perspective

Friday 12th October 2007

Dr David Smith

Department of Music, University of Aberdeen

Keyboard Culture at the Court of the Archdukes, Brussels: Kraków, Biblioteka JagielloĊ„ska, Mus. MS 40316

Friday 19th October 2007

Dr Bennett Hogg

Newcastle University

Sound Objects, Found Objects

Friday 26th October 2007

Dr Peter Fribbins

Middlesex University

Writing Chamber Music for Strings in the Twenty-First Century

Friday 2nd November 2007

Prof. James Porter

University of Aberdeen

The Geneva Connection: Jean Servin's Settings of the Latin Psalm Paraphrases of George Buchanan

Friday 9th November 2007

David Revill

 

(Self) Analysis in New Music

Friday 16th November 2007

Prof. John Kenny

Guildhall, London

Carnyx: An Illustrated Talk on this Ancient Scottish Instrument

Friday 30th November 2007

Richard Craig, flautist

 

An Illustrated Talk on Contemporary Flute Music

Friday 1st February 2008

Prof. Graham Hair

University of Glasgow

Sibylline Voices and other compositions:  Recontextualising archetype and genre in terms of recent cultural concepts, musical materials and compositional processes

Friday 8th February 2008

Dr Paul Everett

University College Cork

 

Friday 15th February 2008

Paul Tierney  

Department of Music, University of Aberdeen

Recent Compositions

Friday 22nd February 2008

Dr Frauke Jürgensen 

Department of Music, University of Aberdeen

Analysing Renaissance counterpoint with computers: projects on performer's accidentals, phrase parsing, and repeated modules

Friday 29th February 2008

Dr Miriama Young

Department of Music, University of Aberdeen

Recent Compositions

Friday 7th March 2008

Prof. Pete Stollery  

Department of Music, University of Aberdeen

Scènes, rendez-vous – an acousmatic journey through Paris by Pete Stollery, based on the cult short film C’était un Rendez-vous (1976) by Claude Lelouch.

Friday 14th March 2008

Dr Melenia Bucciarelli

City University, London

Literary motifs in Antonio Vivaldi's Armida al campo d'Egitto

Friday 21st March 2008

Dr Nicola Miller

Department of Music, University of Aberdeen

Behind Closed Jaws: An Introduction to the use of Magnetic Resonance Imaging in Vocal Tract Research

Friday 18th April 2008

Ross Whyte and Patrick Keenan

Department of Music, University of Aberdeen

Recent Compositions

Friday 25th April 2008

Lisa Coons, PhD candidate (composition)

Princeton University

Recent Compositions

Friday 2nd May 2008

Dr Paul Mealor 

Department of Music, University of Aberdeen

Recent Works for Choir

Friday 9th May 2008

Prof. Jonathan Stephens

Department of Music, University of Aberdeen

Identity Crisis