3 Minute Thesis Competition

3 Minute Thesis Competition

The 3 Minute Thesis (3MT) competition challenges you to present your research to a general audience in just 3 minutes with only one slide.

It is a fantastic opportunity to build your confidence in public speaking and learn to communicate your research more effectively.

We provide training sessions to help you prepare for the competition. Come to an information session to find out more!

The final will be held in person on campus, with an option to join online if you are registered off campus. The winner of our 3MT competition will be entered into the UK 3MT final.

Any questions? pgrs-training@abdn.ac.uk

Key Dates

Information Session 22 February, 12.00 - 12.30, hybrid
Information Session 19 March, 12.30 - 13.00, hybrid
Information Session 03 April, 13.00 - 13.30, online
Training Session 16 April, 12.00 - 13.30, hybrid
Final 24 April, 13.00 - 14.30, hybrid

What our students thought about taking part


Winner of the 2022 Competition


I really enjoyed preparing for the 3MT competition, it got me thinking about my research in new ways.

I’d really recommend other students take part, it gave me a huge boost in confidence.


It gave me the opportunity to craft an accessible summary of my PhD which has been useful in other professional situations. 

The 3MT Competition helped grow my confidence and allowed me to better understand how to communicate my research to a broad audience.


3MT was great for improving my confidence with public speaking – it definitely took me out of my comfort zone.

It was a really useful exercise to have to distil my research down to 3 minutes, in a way that was understandable for everyone.

If you are looking for a good challenge and a way to improve the communication of your research to a wider audience outside of your specialism, I would certainly recommend it.

Previous Winners


Overall winner and People's Choice: Nicola Rouse (School of Engineering)


Overall Winner: Rhona Christie (School of Medicine, Medical Sciences and Nutrition)

People's Choice: Rhona Christie (School of Medicine, Medical Sciences and Nutrition)


Overall winner:  Kirsty Haslam (School of Divinity, History & Philosophy)

People’s choice: Topher Endress (School of Divinity, History & Philosophy)