Contacts - Site Libraries

Library Contacts

General Library Enquiries - library@abdn.ac.uk, Tel: 01224 27 3330

See below for contact details of Library Staff based at our different sites. A detailed list of other library contacts can be found on this webpage under the Other Library Contacts tab

The Sir Duncan Rice Library
Special Collections Centre
Medical Library
Taylor LIbrary

 

The Sir Duncan Rice Library

University of Aberdeen, Bedford Road, Aberdeen, AB24 3AA

Email: library@abdn.ac.uk, Tel: 01224 27 3330, Fax: 01224 27 3382

Floor 1

Information Centre library@abdn.ac.uk 01224 27 3330
Inter-Library Loans inter-library-loans@abdn.ac.uk 01224 27 2581

Floor 3 - Archaeology, History, Travel Geography. 

Email: subjectteam@abdn.ac.uk , Tel: 01224 27 2590

Information Consultant - Arts and Humanities Ewan Grant 01224 27 2587

Floor 4 - History of Art, Languages, Literature, Music, Performing Arts

Email: subjectteam@abdn.ac.uk , Tel: 01224 27 2590

Information Consultant - Arts and Humanities Ewan Grant 01224 27 2587
Information Consultant - Music Claire Molloy 01224 27 4813
Senior Information Assistant Louise Faustino 01224 27 2590
Senior Information Assistant Iain McDiarmid 01224 27 2590

Floor 5 - Business, Engineering, Physical and Life Sciences

Email: subjectteam@abdn.ac.uk , Tel: 01224 27 2589

Principal Information Consultant - Engineering, Physical and Life Sciences Susan McCourt 01224 27 3287
Information Consultant - Business School Janet MacKay 01224 27 2572
Senior Information Assistant Vivien Logan 01224 27 2589
Senior Information Assistant  Eleni Papadakou 01224 27 2589

Floor 6 - Economics, Education, Social Sciences

Email: subjectteam@abdn.ac.uk , Tel: 01224 27 4265

Information Consultant - Education and Social Sciences Claire Molloy 01224 27 4813
Distance Learning Service for Education Students distancelib@abdn.ac.uk 01224 27 4569
Senior Information Assistant Alison Klaase 01224 27 4265
Information Assistant Elaine Fitzgerald 01224 27 4265
Information Assistant Jenna Storey 01224 27 4265

Floor 7 - Computer Science, Divinity & Religion, Philosophy, Psychology

Email: subjectteam@abdn.ac.uk , Tel: 01224 27 4265

Principal Information Consultant - Computer Science and Psychology Susan McCourt 01224 27 3287
Information Consultant - Divinity, Religion, Philosophy Ewan Grant 01224 27 2587
Senior Information Assistant Alison Klaase 01224 27 4265
Information Assistant Elaine Fitzgerald 01224 27 4265
Information Assistant Jenna Storey 01224 27 4265
top

Special Collections Centre

The Sir Duncan Rice Library, University of Aberdeen, Bedford Road, Aberdeen, AB24 3AA.  

Email: speclib@abdn.ac.uk, Tel: 01224 27 2598

www.abdn.ac.uk/special-collections/index.php

top

Medical Library

University of Aberdeen, Polwarth Building, Foresterhill, Aberdeen, AB25 2ZD.  

Email: medlib@abdn.ac.uk, Tel: 01224 43 7870

www.abdn.ac.uk/library/using-libraries/medical-library-127.php

Information Consultant & Site Services Manager Mel Bickerton 01224 43 7876
Supervisor Dorothy Spence 01244 43 7874
Senior Information Assistant Joanna Adams 01224 43 7875
Senior Information Assistant Rebecca Hankinson 01224 43 7870
Senior Information Asistant Alison Borthwick 01224 43 7870
Senior Information Assistant  Felicity McLean 01224 43 7870
Information Assistant Marinella Johnston 01224 43 7870
top

Taylor Library and European Documentation Centre

University of Aberdeen, Taylor Building, Aberdeen, AB24 3UB.  

Email: lawlib@abdn.ac.uk, Tel: 01224 27 2601, Fax: 01224 27 3893, 

www.abdn.ac.uk/library/using-libraries/taylor-library-126.php

Information Consultant Janet Mackay 01224 27 3892
Site Services Manager Nicola Will 01224 27 3166
Principal Information Assistant Alison Steed 01224 27 2601
Senior Information Assistant Eleni Borompoka 01224 27 2601
Senior Information Assistant Ross McClure 01224 27 2601
Senior Information Assistant Anne McLean 01224 27 2601
Senior Information Assistant Zita Szabo 01224 27 2601
top

 

Other Library Contacts

Service Managers

University Librarian and Director

Diane Bruxvoort 01224 27 3384

Head of Museums

Neil Curtis 01224 27 4304

Service Contacts

Book Ordering Lesley Hendry 01224 27 2577
Cataloguing Emma Francis 01224 27 2592
Circulation Manager Marion Blacklaw 01224 27 3767
Copyright Officer Mary Mowat 01224 27 2592
Disabilities Co-ordinator Eleni Papadakou 01224 27 2589
Distance Students - Education Courses distancelib@abdn.ac.uk 01224 27 2572
Distance Students - Other Courses Janet MacKay 01224 27 2572
Electronic Resources Manager Ross Hayworth 01224 27 2029
Evening & Weekend Staff Manager Marion Blacklaw 01224 27 3767
Heavy Demand (The Sir Duncan Rice LIbrary) Alyson Petrie 01224 27 2586
Inter-Library Loans inter-library-loans@abdn.ac.uk 01224 27 2581
Journal Ordering Moira Speir 01224 27 3910
Library Collections Projects Terry Forbes 01224 27 3815
Lending Services Marion Blacklaw 01224 27 3767
Print Shop Print Shop 01224 27 2578
Special Collections Centre

Joint Acting Heads:

Keith O'Sullivan

Andrew MacGregor

 

01224 27 2928

01224 27 2972

Teaching Resources Collection Alison Klaase 01224 27 4265

 

Information Consultants
Mel Bickerton Information Consultant Medical and Biomedical Sciences
Ewan Grant Information Consultant Divinity & Religious Studies, History, History of Art, Language & Literature, Modern Languages, Philosophy
Janet MacKay Information Consultant Business and Law
Susan McCourt Principal Information Consultant Life Sciences, Physical Sciences and Engineering
Claire Molloy Information Consultant Anthropology, Education, Gender Studies, Music, Politics and International Relations, Sociology

 

Mel Bickerton

Medical Library, Foresterhill Campus, m.bickerton@abdn.ac.uk, Tel: 01224 43-7876
Activities include information skills instruction for both staff and students, support to Library Representatives and attendance at relevant School meetings.

Ewan Grant

The Sir Duncan Rice Library, Floor 3 (Room 306), e.grant@abdn.ac.uk, Tel: 01224 27-2587
Activities include information skills instruction for both staff and students, support to Library Representatives and attendance at relevant School meetings. Also Library documentation and website.

Janet MacKay

The Sir Duncan Rice Library, Floor 4 and Taylor Library, j.i.mackay@abdn.ac.uk, Tel: 01224 27-2572
Activities include information skills instruction for both staff and students, support to Library Representatives and attendance at relevant School meetings. Also Library documentation.

Susan McCourt

The Sir Duncan Rice Library, Floor 5 (Room 506), s.mccourt@abdn.ac.uk, Tel: 01224 27-3287
Activities include information skills instruction for both staff and students, support to Library Representatives and attendance at relevant School meetings.

Claire Molloy

The Sir Duncan Rice Library, Floor 6 (Room 606), c.a.l.molloy@abdn.ac.uk, Tel: 01224 27-4813
Activities include information skills instruction for both staff and students, support to Library Representatives and attendance at relevant School meetings. Also service to distance students in Education.

 

Academic Library Representatives

School Liaison and Teaching

At the University of Aberdeen each School has a Library Representative who administers a Library Resource Allocation Budget and liaises with the Library through our team of Information Consultants.

We rely on academic staff to inform us of the resources you require to support your research and teaching programmes. The team is available to discuss your information needs and how we can best meet them.

 

School / Centre / Institute

Library Representative

Information Consultant

Business School

Business School

Dr Naser Makarem

n.makarem@abdn.ac.uk

Janet MacKay

j.i.mackay@abdn.ac.uk

Biological Sciences

Biological Sciences

Dr Cath Jones

c.s.jones@abdn.ac.uk

Susan McCourt

s.mccourt@abdn.ac.uk

Centre for Early Modern Studies

CEMS

Prof. Karin Friedrich

k.friedrich@abdn.ac.uk

Ewan Grant

e.grant@abdn.ac.uk

Computing & Natural Sciences

Chemistry

Prof. Richard Wells

r.wells@abdn.ac.uk

Susan McCourt

s.mccourt@abdn.ac.uk

Computing Science

Prof. George Coghill

g.coghill@abdn.ac.uk

Mathematical Sciences

Prof. Vassily Gorbunov

v.gorbunov@abdn.ac.uk

Physics

Dr Allesandro Moura

a.moura@abdn.ac.uk

Divinity, History & Philosophy

Classics

Prof. Jane Stevenson

j.b.stevenson@abdn.ac.uk

Ewan Grant

e.grant@abdn.ac.uk

Divinity & Religious Studies

Dr Jutta Leonhardt-Balzer

j.leonhardt-balzer@abdn.ac.uk

History

Prof. Ralph O'Connor

r.oconnor@abdn.ac.uk

History and Philosophy of Science

Dr Ben Marsden

b.marsden@abdn.ac.uk

Susan McCourt

s.mccourt@abdn.ac.uk

History of Art

Dr Helen Pierce

h.pierce@abdn.ac.uk

Ewan Grant

e.grant@abdn.ac.uk

Philosophy

Dr Luca Moretti

l.moretti@abdn.ac.uk

Education

Education

Laura Colucci-Gray

l.t.gray@abdn.ac.uk

Claire Molloy

c.a.l.molloy@abdn.ac.uk

Engineering

Engineering

Dr Aniruddha Majumder

a.majumder@abdn.ac.uk

Susan McCourt

s.mccourt@abdn.ac.uk

Elphinstone Institute

Elphinstone Institute

Ms A. Sharman

a.sharman@abdn.ac.uk

Claire Molloy

c.a.l.molloy@abdn.ac.uk

Geosciences

Archaeology

Dr Joshua Wright

joshua.wright@abdn.ac.uk

Susan McCourt

s.mccourt@abdn.ac.uk

Geography and Environment

Dr J. E. Schofield

j.e.schofield@abdn.ac.uk

Geology and Petroleum Geology

Prof. John Parnell

j.parnell@abdn.ac.uk

Language, Literature, Music & Visual Culture

Celtic and Anglo-Saxon Studies

Prof. Ralph O'Connor

r.oconnor@abdn.ac.uk

Ewan Grant

e.grant@abdn.ac.uk

English

Dr Tim Baker

t.c.baker@abdn.ac.uk

Film and Visual Culture

Dr Silvia Casini

silvia.casini@abdn.ac.uk

French

Dr Bruno Tribout

b.tribout@abdn.ac.uk

German

Dr Gundula-Maria Sharman

g.m.sharman@abdn.ac.uk

Spanish & Latin American Studies

Aura Celis del Valle

aura.celisdelvalle@abdn.ac.uk

Music

Prof. D. J. Smith

d.j.smith@abdn.ac.uk

Claire Molloy

c.a.l.molloy@abdn.ac.uk

Law

Law 

Dr Matyas Bodig

m.bodig@abdn.ac.uk

Janet MacKay

j.i.mackay@abdn.ac.uk

Medical Sciences

Medical Sciences

Dr Allison Carrington

a.carrington@abdn.ac.uk

Mel Bickerton

m.bickerton@abdn.ac.uk

Medicine & Dentistry

Dentistry

Dr Rosa Moreno Lopez

r.m.lopez@abdn.ac.uk

Medical Journals Fund

Dr Derek Scott

d.scott@abdn.ac.uk

Medicine Phases - MBChB

Dr Stephen Davies

s.n.davies@abdn.ac.uk

Medical Research Themes

Prof. Martin Collinson

m.collinson@abdn.ac.uk

Psychology

Psychology

Dr Lynden Miles

lynden.miles@abdn.ac.uk

Susan McCourt

s.mccourt@abdn.ac.uk

Research Institute for Irish & Scottish Studies

RIISS

Prof. Cairns Craig

cairns.craig@abdn.ac.uk

Ewan Grant

e.grant@abdn.ac.uk

Rowett Institute of Nutrition & Health

Rowett

Dr Nigel Hoggard

n.hoggard@abdn.ac.uk

Mel Bickerton

m.bickerton@abdn.ac.uk

Social Science

Anthropology

Dr Jo Vergunst

j.vergunst@abdn.ac.uk

Claire Molloy

c.a.l.molloy@abdn.ac.uk

Politics & International Relations

Dr Andrea Teti

a.teti@abdn.ac.uk

Sociology

Dr Rhoda Wilkie

r.m.wilkie@abdn.ac.uk