Contacts

Contacts

For enquiries on our Library services:

email: library@abdn.ac.uk

tel: +44 (0)1224 273330

University Librarian and Head of Library Services

Please see Simon Bains' Staff Profile: www.abdn.ac.uk/people/simon.bains

 

Service Contacts and Site Libraries

Service Contacts

For all general enquiries

library@abdn.ac.uk

Disabilities

librarydisability@abdn.ac.uk

For all queries on:

Open Access Research, Scholarly Communications, and Papers Accepted

openresearch@abdn.ac.uk

 

 

Site Libraries

Sir Duncan Rice Library

University of Aberdeen, Bedford Road, Aberdeen, AB24 3AA

email: library@abdn.ac.uk, tel: +44 (0)1224 273330 

Medical Library

University of Aberdeen, Polwarth Building, Foresterhill, Aberdeen, AB25 2ZD

email: library@abdn.ac.uk, tel: +44 (0)1224 437870

Taylor Library and European Documentation Centre

University of Aberdeen, Taylor Building, Aberdeen AB24 3UB

email: library@abdn.ac.uk, tel: +44 (0)1224 272601

Museums and Special Collections

Sir Duncan Rice Library, University of Aberdeen, Bedford Road, AB24 3AA

email: uoacollections@abdn.ac.uk

Information Consultants

Mel Bickerton

Medical Library, Foresterhill Campus, email: library@abdn.ac.uk, tel: +44 (0)1224 437876

Information Consultant

Medical and Biomedical Sciences. Activities include information skills instruction for both staff and students, support to Library Representatives and attendance at relevant School meetings.

Ewan Grant

Sir Duncan Rice Library, Floor 4 (Room 406), email: library@abdn.ac.uk, tel: +44 (0)1224 272587

Information Consultant

Divinity & Religious Studies, History, History of Art, Language & Literature, Modern Languages, Philosophy. Activities include information skills instruction for both staff and students, support to Library Representatives and attendance at relevant School meetings. Also Library documentation and website.

Janet MacKay

Sir Duncan Rice Library, Floor 3 (Room 306) and Taylor Library, email: library@abdn.ac.uk, tel: +44 (0)1224 272572 (SDRL) and Tel: +44 (0)1224 273892 (Taylor)

Information Consultant

Business, Economics and Law. Activities include information skills instruction for both staff and students, support to Library Representatives and attendance at relevant School meetings. Also Library documentation.

Claire Molloy

Sir Duncan Rice Library, Floor 6 (Room 606), email: library@abdn.ac.uk, tel: +44 (0)1224 274813

Information Consultant

Anthropology, Education, Gender Studies, Music, Politics and International Relations, Sociology. Activities include information skills instruction for both staff and students, support to Library Representatives and attendance at relevant School meetings. Also service to distance students in Education.

Eleni Borompoka

The Sir Duncan Rice Library, Floor 4 (Room 406), email: library@abdn.ac.uk, tel: +44 (0)1224 273848

Information Adviser

Archaeology, Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Computing Science, Engineering, Geography, Geology, History & Philosophy of Science, Mathematics, Physics, Planetary Sciences, Psychology. Activities include information skills instruction for staff and students,  support to Library Representatives and attendance at relevant School meetings, Library documentation, website. 

Erin Matheson

Sir Duncan Rice Library, email: library@abdn.ac.uk, tel: contactable by MS Teams

Information Adviser

Activities include development, promotion and enquiry support of the Reading List Services. Training and information skills instruction.

Tim Riley

The Sir Duncan Rice Library, email: library@abdn.ac.uk, tel: +44 (0)1224 274816

Information Adviser

Activities include development, promotion and enquiry support and guidance for the copyright literacy service. Training and information skills instruction.

 

Academic Library Representatives

School Liaison and Teaching

At the University of Aberdeen each School has a Library Representative who administers a Library Resource Allocation Budget and liaises with the Library through our team of Information Consultants.

We rely on academic staff to inform us of the resources you require to support your research and teaching programmes. The team is available to discuss your information needs and how we can best meet them.

 

Business School

Dr Naser Makarem

n.makarem@abdn.ac.uk

(Information Consultant - Janet MacKay)

Biological Sciences

Dr Cath Jones

c.s.jones@abdn.ac.uk

Centre for Early Modern Studies

Prof. Karin Friedrich

k.friedrich@abdn.ac.uk

(Information Consultant - Ewan Grant)

Divinity, History & Philosophy

Classics

To be confirmed

(Information Consultant - Ewan Grant)

Divinity & Religious Studies

Dr Nathaniel Greene

nathaniel.greene@abdn.ac.uk

(Information Consultant - Ewan Grant)

History

Dr. Owen Walsh

owen.walsh@abdn.ac.uk

(Information Consultant - Ewan Grant)

History and Philosophy of Science

Dr Ben Marsden

b.marsden@abdn.ac.uk

History of Art

Dr Karl Kinsella

karl.kinsella@abdn.ac.uk

(Information Consultant - Ewan Grant)

Philosophy

Dr Gerard Hough

g.hough@abdn.ac.uk

(Information Consultant - Ewan Grant)

Education

Laura Colucci-Gray

l.t.gray@abdn.ac.uk

(Information Consultant - Claire Molloy)

Engineering

Dr Aniruddha Majumder

a.majumder@abdn.ac.uk

Elphinstone Institute

Ms A. Sharman

a.sharman@abdn.ac.uk

(Information Consultant - Claire Molloy)

Geosciences

Archaeology

Rebecca Crozier

rebecca.crozier@abdn.ac.uk

Geography and Environment

Dr Piotr Niewiadomski

p.niewiadomski@abdn.ac.uk

Geology & Geophysics

Prof. John Parnell

j.parnell@abdn.ac.uk

Planetary Sciences

Juan Antonio Ramirez-Luque

juan.ramirezluque@abdn.ac.uk

Language, Literature, Music & Visual Culture

Celtic and Anglo-Saxon Studies

Prof. Ralph O'Connor

r.oconnor@abdn.ac.uk

(Information Consultant - Ewan Grant)

English

Dr Elizabeth Anderson

sarahelizabeth.anderson@abdn.ac.uk

(Information Consultant - Ewan Grant)

Film and Visual Culture

Dr Barbara Barreiro Leon

barbara.leon@abdn.ac.uk

(Information Consultant - Ewan Grant)

French

Dr Fransiska Louwagie

fransiska.louwagie@abdn.ac.uk

(Information Consultant - Ewan Grant)

German

Dr Tara Beaney

tara.beaney@abdn.ac.uk

(Information Consultant - Ewan Grant)

Spanish & Latin American Studies

Dr Barbara Barreiro Leon

barbara.leon@abdn.ac.uk

(Information Consultant - Ewan Grant)

Music

James O'Neil

james.o'neil@abn.ac.uk

(Information Consultant - Claire Molloy)

Law 

Dr Alisdair MacPherson

alisdair.macpherson@abdn.ac.uk

Janet MacKay

(Information Consultant - Janet MacKay)

Medicine, Medical Sciences & Dentistry

Medical Sciences

Dr Michael Scholz

m.e.scholz@abdn.ac.uk

(Information Consultant - Mel Bickerton)

Dentistry

Dr Rosa Moreno Lopez

r.m.lopez@abdn.ac.uk

(Information Consultant - Mel Bickerton)

Medical Journals Fund

Dr Derek Scott

d.scott@abdn.ac.uk

(Information Consultant - Mel Bickerton)

Medicine Phases - MBChB

Dr Stephen Davies

s.n.davies@abdn.ac.uk

(Information Consultant - Mel Bickerton)

Medical Research Themes

Prof. Martin Collinson

m.collinson@abdn.ac.uk

(Information Consultant - Mel Bickerton)

Natural & Computing Sciences

Chemistry

Sinatra Farquharson (School Admin Assistant)

chemistry@abdn.ac.uk

Computing Science

Shirley Mackie (School Admin Coordinator)

computingscience@abdn.ac.uk

Mathematical Sciences

Sinatra Farquharson (School Admin Assistant)

maths@abdn.ac.uk

Physics

Shirley Mackie (School Admin Coordinator)

physics@abdn.ac.uk

Psychology

Dr Jacqui Hutchison

jacqui.hutchison@abdn.ac.uk

Research Institute for Irish & Scottish Studies

Prof. Cairns Craig

cairns.craig@abdn.ac.uk

(Information Consultant - Ewan Grant)

Rowett Institute of Nutrition & Health

Dr Nigel Hoggard

n.hoggard@abdn.ac.uk

Mel Bickerton

Social Sciences

Anthropology

Dr Kirsty Kernohan

kirsty.kernohan1@abn.ac.uk

(Information Consultant - Claire Molloy)

Politics & International Relations

Dr Dimitrios Anagnostakis

dimitrios.anagnostakis@abdn.ac.uk

(Information Consultant - Claire Molloy)

Sociology

Dr Rhoda Wilkie

r.m.wilkie@abdn.ac.uk

(Information Consultant - Claire Molloy)

 

Management Structure

Our Library, Special Collections and Museums Management Structure Chart provides an overview of our management team. If you would like contact details for one of these managers, please look in our Staff Directory.