Dr Joyce Neilson

Dr Joyce Neilson

Senior Lecturer

Dr Joyce Neilson
Dr Joyce Neilson

Contact Details

work +44 (0)1224 273457
The University of Aberdeen School of Geosciences King's College University of Aberdeen Aberdeen AB24 3UE United Kingdom


  • Lecturer, University of Aberdeen, UK (as of October, 2011)
  • Teaching Fellow, University of Aberdeen, UK (2005 - 2011)
  • Independent Consultant, Carbonates (1993-2013)
  • BP Research, UK (1987-1993)
  • Ph.D. student (NERC funded) - An experimental investigation of the controls on carbonate diagenetic textures and mineralogies.  Imperial College, UK (1984-1987)

Research Interests

  • Effect of petroleum filling and fault controlled fluids on burial diagenesis in carbonates.
  • Reservoir quality of Middle Eastern reservoirs (particularly Abu Dhabi)
  • Effect of rock texture (facies and diagenetic alteration) on fracture patterns in carbonates. (Completed Ph.D. student Tom Haines  The Influence of Carbonate Depositional and Diagenetic Textures on Faulting in Carbonates.  Funded by: UoA COPS Studentship, Total and BG)
  • Late Cambrian oceanic chemistry and climate (Oman and Newfoundland).

Current Research

Ph.D. student Ebrahim Heydari.  Residual oil below the OWC in the Mishrif, Persian Gulf - an intergrated sedimentological and petrophysical study.  Part funding from Talisman-Sinopec, Helix-RDS, AFES.


Ongoing collaboration with UFRGS, Brazil.  Study of  local versus global controls on mineralogy of oolitic carbonates – petrographic and geochemical studies.  Funded by Shell Brazil.

Research Grants

  • Petrophysics of Fractured Carbonates - Total E&P UK and BG International, brokered by ITF
  • Microscope Equipment Grants (AFES)

Teaching Responsibilities

  • GL 2015 - Petrology and Mineralogy
  • GL 3018 - Petroleum Geology
  • GL 3521 - Sedimentology
  • M.Sc. IPG - Carbonates


Further Info

External Responsibilities

  • Secretary, Petroleum Group, Geological Society of London (2013-15)
  • Treasurer, Petroleum Group, Geological Society of London  (2010-13)
  • Associate Editor AAPGB (2010-present)




update | about Staff Pages