About HERU

Key Facts about HERU

  • HERU was established at the University of Aberdeen in 1977 and is part of the Institute of Applied Health Sciences within the School of Medicine, Medical Sciences and Nutrition.

  • Our core funding is received from the Chief Scientist Office (CSO) of the Scottish Government Health and Social Care Directorates and the University of Aberdeen.

  • Substantial additional funding also comes from competitive research grants, training activities, commissioned research, and the University of Aberdeen.

  • All activities of HERU are supported by a Unit Advisory Group.

  • HERU undertakes substantial programmes of joint research with the Health Services Research Unit (HSRU) and Department of Economics in the University of Aberdeen Business School.

  • The aim of HERU is to develop and encourage the application of appropriate economic methods to improve health and health care in Scotland and is pursued through four Research Themes. More specifically, our aim is to:

    • Research economic approaches to health and health care at standards of international excellence.

    • Develop and apply economic techniques to improve health care and population health in Scotland.

    • Make available to the health service a body of expertise in health economics.

    • Build and sustain capacity in the economics of health.

  • The Queen's Anniversary Prize for Higher and Further Education was awarded to the University of Aberdeen in 2017 in recognition of world-leading research into health economics and health services undertaken at HERU and the Health Services Research Unit (HSRU) over the last 40 years.

  • HERU contributes to a large portfolio of teaching activities. We currently offer an online MSc/Postgraduate Diploma/Postgraduate Certificate in Health Economics for Health Professionals (Distance Learning) and also contribute to teaching health economics modules on a number of courses including the Master of Public Health (MPH), the MSc in Global Health & Management, the BSc in Health Sciences and MA in Economics at the University of Aberdeen and the Scottish Graduate Programme in Economics (SGPE).