History is a vigorous department that offers a warm welcome to new students. Within the past five years members of staff have been attracted to the University of Aberdeen from Cambridge, Dublin, Edinburgh, London, St Andrews, Manchester and elsewhere. This fresh infusion of personnel has reshaped departmental research and teaching and provided the energy to pursue a number of new initiatives that are rapidly bearing fruit.

All members of staff are actively pursuing their research interests and many are at the cutting edge of their respective fields. The department boasts experienced and committed teachers and supervisors who will strive to enrich your experience at the University of Aberdeen and enable you to realise your ambition.