University Boat Race teams announced

University Boat Race teams announced

The team hoping to wrestle back the 'kings of the river' title for the University of Aberdeen was unveiled today as the final crews for the 19th Aberdeen Asset Management Universities' Boat Race were announced.

To celebrate their selection, and test their united strength, the crews gathered on the banks of the River Dee to take part in a tug-of-war ahead of the race on Saturday March 1.

The annual boat race will see Aberdeen’s two universities, Robert Gordon University and the University of Aberdeen, go head-to-head on the River Dee. Aberdeen Boat Club president Lauren Cammaert and Robert Gordon University president Gillian Paterson carefully selected each crew member, both hopeful that their tactics will lead their university to victory. The momentum is with Robert Gordon University, having won the last two races.

The University of Aberdeen team will be:
Lauren Cammaert (23) from Newfoundland, Canada; Ian Walker (19) from Edinburgh; Eilidh Manson (19) from Midlothian; Fiona Bell (18) from Kilmacolm, Inverclyde; Tom Coles (20) from Callander, and Elliot Bruce (18), Henry Gieseler (21), Catriona Bain (22), Jamie Steel (21) all from Aberdeen.

The Robert Gordon crew comprises:
Richard Hills (26) from Nairn;  Scott Purdie (27) from Dumfries; Adam Luczak (19) from Warsaw, Poland; Morven Shaw (19) from Newtonhill and Holly Reid (19), Iona Reilly (21), Lewis McCue (18), Christie Duff (19) and Emily Geddes (19) from Aberdeen.

Andrew Laing Deputy Chief Executive at Aberdeen Asset Management, said: “We are proud to continue to sponsor the annual Aberdeen Asset Management Universities’ Boat Race. The boat race is a celebrated sporting event in Scotland and both crews have displayed tremendous dedication and passion for the 2014 event, with intense training taking place in all weathers. The crews show admirable stamina in their ability to juggle their studies, work and rowing responsibilities and I’m sure, on March 1, these last few months of hard work will pay off.  I wish the best of luck to both teams.”

Hoping to lead her team to claim the 15th boat race victory for the University of Aberdeen is president and cox Lauren Cammaert. Originally from Newfoundland, Canada, Lauren moved to Aberdeen in 1998 and is now studying Medicine. Lauren has been rowing for four years, initially starting as a rower and then moving on to become a cox, and has taken part in the boat race on two previous occasions. This will be Lauren’s first year of competing as president for the University of Aberdeen and she believes she has created the perfect team to make it a winning year for the University of Aberdeen.

Competing against the University of Aberdeen, is Robert Gordon University president Gillian Paterson, who is originally from Melrose. Gillian moved to Aberdeen to study Forensic and Analytical Science at Robert Gordon University and has been rowing for three years. This will be Gillian’s second boat race appearance, and her first time in the role of president. Gillian is hoping to add to her crew’s two year winning streak and has chosen her team carefully to ensure they have the recipe for success.

Follow the 2014 Boat Race on the official race Facebook page or on Twitter @2014BoatRace