University secures three new Athena SWAN Awards

University secures three new Athena SWAN Awards

The University of Aberdeen is delighted to announce that another three of its departments have received the Athena SWAN Bronze Award.

The Institute of Medical Sciences, the School of Geosciences and the School of Engineering are the most recent sections of the University to receive the award.

Advance HE’s Athena SWAN Charter recognises commitment to the advancement of gender equality in academic, professional and support roles, and recognise departments and institutions taking action to identify and overcome barriers to career progression for all.

The University has made significant improvement in the working conditions of its staff, and since the original Athena SWAN application in 2012 it has enhanced these conditions by launching various initiatives including; making equality and diversity training mandatory for all staff; introducing several networks (parents, senior women, disability, menopause, staff and postgraduate students LGBT); and striving to ensure promotions an selection committees have a balanced gender representation.

In 2016 the School of Psychology became the first department from the University to receive an Athena SWAN Bronze Award followed by the School of Natural and Computing Sciences. Other departments that hold the award are the Business School, the School of Divinity, History and Philosophy, the School of Education, the School of Law, the School of Social Sciences, the School of Biological Sciences, the Rowett Institute, the Institute of Education in Medical and Dental Sciences and the Institute of Applied Health Sciences

University Principal, Professor George Boyne, commented: “I am delighted to hear this news, and it is fantastic that so many departments across the University have been recognised for their commitment to gender equality.

“I would like to extend my congratulations to colleagues in the central Athena SWAN team, as well as colleagues in Engineering, Geosciences and the Institute of Medical Sciences who have all worked hard in order to achieve these successes.”