MRC - Research Council Awards

MRC - Research Council Awards


The Medical Research Council (MRC) is a publicly-funded organisation dedicated to improving human health. They support research across the entire spectrum of medical sciences, in universities and hospitals, in their own units and institutes in the UK, and in their units in Africa.


Please note, this scholarship is only available for Aberdeen campus students.

Their main scheme for funding research in the UK is universities and NHS Trusts, with flexibility about the length and scope of projects.

Collaboration Grant - A scheme for existing grantholders and MRC senior fellows to facilitate collaboration with other researchers working in complementary areas.

Trial Grant - MRC support for clinical trials to provide high-quality evidence on the effectiveness of medical treatments and interventions.

New Investigator Research Grant - Funding for researchers in their first academic appointment or a senior post-doctoral position aiming to establish themselves as independent research investigators.

Discipline Hopping Grant - The grant scheme provides short term support to pump-prime interdisciplinary research. The scheme is run in partnership with other organisations.

Institutional Discipline Bridging Award - A grant scheme aimed at institutions to help in promoting research across traditional boundaries. The scheme is run in partnership with other organisations. MRC Open LINK Grant The grant aims to encourage research through the development of new medical treatments and interventions.

The MRC Open projects involve at least one company and one research organisation. Pilot Industry Award Encourages collaborative research between MRC-funded researchers and industry


Awards are made for both taught programmes of study and research. All Studentship applications must be made through the University. Normally only those students who have been resident in the UK, for purposes other than education, for the preceding three years are eligible for a full award. For some awards candidates who are nationals of a member state of the EU and are resident in the UK may also be eligible for fees only awards.

Application Procedure

More information about the scholarship


Available until further notice.

Further Info

More information about the scholarship

Find out more about Postgraduate Research
Research Areas
How to Apply


  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • United Kingdom