Members of the Centre Include:

  • Professor David Hewitt (Honorary Co-director)
  • Professor Alison Lumsden (Co-director)
  • Dr J. H. Alexander (Honorary Reader)
  • Dr Timothy Baker
  • Professor Cairns Craig
  • Dr Elizabeth Elliott
  • Dr Catherine Jones
  • Professor John Morrison
  • Dr Ainsley McIntosh
  • Dr Sigrid Rieuwerts (Honorary Fellow, University of Mainz)



The tabs below provide more information about the Centre's Associations.


The Centre has close links with Abbotsford, Scott’s home in the Borders, and both directors are on the Joint Abbotsford Advisory Committee.

They have also advised on the Visitor Centre at Abbotsford and on the refurbishment of the house, which was re-opened by Her Majesty the Queen on 4 July 2013.

For more information on Scott’s home and his collections see


The Walter Scott Research Centre has entered into a collaboration with the University of Edinburgh’s SWINC (Scottish Writing in the Nineteenth Century) group.

So far a number of events have been held, including a symposium on Secret Scotland in Glasgow in autumn 2010, a parallel symposium on Civic Scotland in Aberdeen in October 2011 and a Writing the North creative collaboration.

For more information about SWINC  and these events visit or contact