Biographical information for Department staff, including contacts details, teaching responsibilities, research interests and recent publications can be accessed through the links below.

Current Staff

Name

Research Subject

Contact Details

Dr Jean-Baptiste Gramain Representation Theory jbgramain@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Mark Grant Algebraic Topology mark.grant@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Richard Hepworth Algebraic Topology r.hepworth@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Jarek Kędra Geometry and Topology kedra@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Ran Levi Algebraic Topology r.levi@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Assaf Libman Algebraic Topology a.libman@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Ben Martin Algebra b.martin@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Ehud Meir Algebra ehud.meir@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Irakli Patchkoria Algebraic Topology irakli.patchkoria@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Simona Paoli   simona.paoli@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Alexey Sevastyanov Algebra/Mathematical Physics a.sevastyanov@abdn.ac.uk
Dr William Turner Algebra w.turner@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Markus Upmeier   markus.upmeier@abdn.ac.uk
Admin

Name

Position

Contact

Brown, Jennifer School Administration Co-ordinator (PGT) Email
Farquharson, Sinatra School Administration Assistant (UG) Email
Harrison, Lynn School Administrator (Research/Finance) Email
Mackay, Sheryl School Administrator (Teaching) Email
Timms, Julie School Administration Manager Email
Postdocs
Name Research Subject Contact Details
Matt Burfitt   matthew.burfitt@abdn.ac.uk
Luigi Caputi Applied Topology, Algebraic Topology luigi.caputi@abdn.ac.uk
Research Students

Name

Research Subject

Contact Details

Advisor
Fawaz Aseeri Algebra f.aseeri.18@abdn.ac.uk Prof Benjamin Martin
Bastien Karlhofer Geometry r01bdk17@abdn.ac.uk

Prof Jarek Kędra

Julian Kaspczyk Algebra r02jk18@abdn.ac.uk Dr Ellen Henke
Erik Leino Algebraic Topology e.leino.19@abdn.ac.uk Prof Ran Levi
Pedro Rodrigues da Conceicao Algebraic Topology p.rodriguesdaconceicao.19@abdn.ac.uk Prof Ran Levi
Gyan Singh Algebraic Topology g.singh1.19@abdn.ac.uk Prof Ran Levi
Emeriti and Honorary
Name Research Subject Contact Details
Prof Robert Archbold Functional Analysis r.archbold@abdn.ac.uk
Prof David Benson Algebra/Representation Theory d.j.benson@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Michael Crabb Topology m.crabb@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Meinolf Geck Algebra meinolf.geck@mathematik.uni-stuttgart.de
Prof Graham Hall Differential Geometry/Relativity g.hall@abdn.ac.uk
Prof John Hubbuck Algebraic Topology j.hubbuck@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Lacri Iancu Algebra iancu@mathematik.uni-stuttgart.de
Prof Geoffrey Robinson Algebra g.r.robinson@abdn.ac.uk
Douglas Somerset Functional Analysis  
Prof Victoria Steblovskaya Financial Mathematics vsteblovskay@bentley.edu
Prof John Wright  Functional Analysis j.d.m.wright@abdn.ac.uk

 

Former Staff
Name Research Subject Years in Aberdeen
Dr Greg Arone Topology 1999 - 2001
Prof Alexey Bondal Algebraic Geometry 2007 - 2010
Prof Ian Craw Functional Analysis  
Prof Diarmuid Crowley Differential Topology 2014 - 2016
Dr Dejan Govc Algebraic Topology, Applied Topology 2017 - 2020
Dr Valentina Grazian Algebra 2017 - 2018
Prof Meinolf Geck Algebra 2005 - 2012
Prof Vassily Gorbounov Algebraic Geometry / Mathematical Physics          - 2021
Dr Ellen Henke Algebra 2014 - 2020
Dr Lacri Iancu Algebra 2005 - 2012
Prof Radha Kessar Algebra 2005 - 2012
Dr Jānis Lazovskis Applied Topology 2019 - 2020
Prof Markus Linckelmann Algebra 2005 - 2012
Dr Colin Maclachlan Geometry 1968 - 2004 (until 2012 - honorary reader)
Prof Colin Maclaurin Analysis 1717 - 1725
Dr Anthony Potter Analysis 1972 - 2011
Dr Luis Santiago Moreno Functional Analysis 2014 - 2016
Dr Jason Smith Combinatorics, Applied Topology 2018 - 2020
Dr Aaron Tikuisis Functional Analysis 2013 - 2017
Prof Michael Weiss Topology 1999 - 2012