Biographical information for Department staff, including contacts details, teaching responsibilities, research interests and recent publications can be accessed through the links below.

Current Staff

Name

Research Subject

Contact Details

Prof Vassili Gorbunov Algebraic Geometry/Mathematical Physics v.gorbunov@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Jean-Baptiste Gramain Representation Theory jbgramain@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Mark Grant Topological Robotics mark.grant@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Ellen Henke Group Theory ellen.henke@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Richard Hepworth Algebraic Topology r.hepworth@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Zur Izhakian Tropical Geometry zzur@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Jarek Kędra Geometry and Topology kedra@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Ran Levi Algebraic Topology r.levi@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Assaf Libman Algebraic Topology a.libman@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Ben Martin Algebra b.martin@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Ehud Meir Algebra ehud.meir@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Alexey Sevastyanov Algebra/Mathematical Physics a.sevastyanov@abdn.ac.uk
Dr William Turner Representation Theory w.turner@abdn.ac.uk

 

 

 

Postdocs
Name Research Subject Contact Details
Valentina Grazian Algebra valentina.grazian1@abdn.ac.uk
Dejan Govc Applied Topology dejan.govc@abdn.ac.uk
Feyisayo Olukoya Algebra feyisayo.olukoya@abdn.ac.uk
Jason Smith Applied Topology jason.smith@abdn.ac.uk

 

Research Students

Name

Research Subject

Contact Details

Carys Bebbington Topology r02cb18@abdn.ac.uk
Bastien Karlhofer Geometry r01bdk17@abdn.ac.uk
Julian Kaspczyk Algebra r02jk18@abdn.ac.uk
Adriana Marciuk Algebra r03aem13@abdn.ac.uk 
Alexander Trost Geometry r01aat17@abdn.ac.uk

 

Emeriti and Honorary
Name Research Subject Contact Details
Prof Robert Archbold Functional Analysis r.archbold@abdn.ac.uk
Prof David Benson Algebra/Representation Theory d.j.benson@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Michael Crabb Topology m.crabb@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Meinolf Geck Algebra meinolf.geck@mathematik.uni-stuttgart.de
Prof Graham Hall Differential Geometry/Relativity g.hall@abdn.ac.uk
Prof John Hubbuck Algebraic Topology j.hubbuck@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Lacri Iancu Algebra iancu@mathematik.uni-stuttgart.de
Prof Geoffrey Robinson Algebra g.r.robinson@abdn.ac.uk
Douglas Somerset Functional Analysis  
Prof John Wright  Functional Analysis j.d.m.wright@abdn.ac.uk

 

Former Staff
Name Research Subject Years in Aberdeen
Dr Greg Arone Topology 1999 - 2001
Prof Alexey Bondal Algebraic Geometry 2007 - 2010
Prof Ian Craw Functional Analysis  
Prof Diarmuid Crowley Differential Topology 2014 - 2016
Prof Meinolf Geck Algebra 2005 - 2012
Dr Lacri Iancu Algebra 2005 - 2012
Prof Radha Kessar Algebra 2005 - 2012
Prof Markus Linckelmann Algebra 2005 - 2012
Dr Colin Maclachlan Geometry 1968 - 2004 (until 2012 - honorary reader)
Prof Colin Maclaurin Analysis 1717 - 1725
Dr Anthony Potter Analysis 1972 - 2011
Dr Luis Santiago Moreno Functional Analysis 2014 - 2016
Dr Aaron Tikuisis Functional Analysis 2013 - 2017
Prof Michael Weiss Topology 1999 - 2012