Projects Delivered

Projects Delivered

DaSH has supported over 240 approaches for potential data linkage research projects.

The data linkage projects currently in analyis or have been completed are listed below:

2022
PROJECT PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATOR
Data access for students to NHSG aggregated data Dimitra Blana
dimitra.blana@abdn.ac.uk
website
2021
PROJECT PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATOR
Investigating risk factors for postpartum haemorrhage Madeline Elkington
madeline.elkington@dph.ox.ac.uk
Post-discharge cost attributable to hospital admission with Acute Kidney Injury Simon Sawhney
simon.sawhney@abdn.ac.uk; simon.sawhney2@nhs.scot
website
Are carbamazepine or other anticonvulsants associated with hypogammaglobulinaemia? Angus Macleod
Angus.Macleod@abdn.ac.uk
website
Inequalities in access to Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services (CAMHS) Corri Black Black
corri.black@abdn.ac.uk
website
Long-term Effect of Separation from the Best Friends: Lesson from Aberdeen Cohort Gabriella Conti
gabriella.conti@ucl.ac.uk
DaSH 126 Student Project Mary Joan Macleod
m.j.macleod@abdn.ac.uk
website
2020
PROJECT PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATOR
Artificial intelligence-supported early fracture diagnosis: SBRI competition (Phase 2: SeeAI LTD) Saile Moreno Villegas
Saile@seeai.co.uk
Artificial intelligence-supported early fracture diagnosis: SBRI competition (Phase 2: Bering Ltd) Ignat Drozdov
idrozdov@beringresearch.com
SteatoSITE project Jonathan Fallowfield
Jonathan.Fallowfield@ed.ac.uk
Networked Data Lab Corri Black Black
corri.black@abdn.ac.uk
website
Managing healthcare for vulnerable patients during the coronavirus pandemic: monitoring and adapting COVID and non-COVID clinical care Corri Black Black
corri.black@abdn.ac.uk
website
Integrating real time surveillance and dynamic modelling of COVID-19 in Grampian to inform an adaptive healthcare response Dimitra Blana
dimitra.blana@abdn.ac.uk
website
Understanding the individual clinical course of severe Covid-19: a series of n-of-1 studies Rute Vieira
rute.vieira@abdn.ac.uk
website
A comparison between the deprivation levels of patients who have tested positive for COVID-19 in Grampian with the wider Grampian population Dimitra Blana
dimitra.blana@abdn.ac.uk
website
Association between childhood epilepsy and socioeconomic status in adulthood (GS) William Whiteley
william.whiteley@ed.ac.uk
Can a machine learning approach identify distinct AKI phenotypes that are useful for clinical decision making? Simon Sawhney
simon.sawhney@abdn.ac.uk; simon.sawhney2@nhs.scot
website
Perinatal experiences during the Covid-19 pandemic Albert Farre
a.farre@dundee.ac.uk
Cardiovascular risk and risk prediction for all stages of chronic kidney disease in the Grampian Laboratory Outcomes Morbidity and Mortality Study (GLOMMS III) cohort Simon Sawhney
simon.sawhney@abdn.ac.uk; simon.sawhney2@nhs.scot
website
Primary postpartum haemorrhage and longer term maternal physical and mental health outcomes: a record linkage retrospective cohort study Su Mon Latt
sumon.latt@dph.ox.ac.uk
Reproductive outcomes after a fully dilated Caesarean section: is there a risk of preterm birth and late miscarriage? Andrea Woolner
a.woolner@abdn.ac.uk
website
Association between childhood epilepsy and socioeconomic status in adulthood Sohinee Bhattacharya
sohinee.bhattacharya@abdn.ac.uk
website
2019
PROJECT PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATOR
Identifying clusters of multimorbidity in hospitalised patients Lynn Robertson
l.robertson@abdn.ac.uk
website
Retrospective clinical evaluation of a novel medical technology (Mia) on Scottish Breast Screening cases as part of the iCAIRD (Industrial Centre for Artificial Intelligence in Digital Diagnostics) Programme Gerald Lip
gerald.lip@nhs.scot
iCAIRD SBRI ankle and wrist fracture Andrew Keen
a.keen@nhs.net
Beyond success: exploration of the inter-generational social mobility effects on subjective wellbeing through life trajectories of the Aberdeen Children of 1950s cohort study Jessica Butler
jessicabutler@abdn.ac.uk
website
How strongly is family socioeconomic status associated with children’s cognitive and scholastic performance during the years of attending primary school? Sophie von Stumm
sophie.vonstumm@york.ac.uk
The prevalence and outcome of polypharmacy in Generation Scotland linked PIS dataset Alison Murray
a.d.murray@abdn.ac.uk
website
SEEAI Ltd: Artificial intelligence-supported early fracture diagnosis SBRI competition Saile Moreno Villegas
Saile@seeai.co.uk
Jiva.AI Limited: Artificial intelligence-supported early fracture diagnosis SBRI competition Manish Patel
manish.patel@jiva.ai
Bering Limited: Artificial intelligence-supported early fracture diagnosis SBRI competition Ignat Drozdov
idrozdov@beringresearch.com
Red Star Consulting Limited: Artificial intelligence-supported early fracture diagnosis SBRI competition. Andrew Conkie
andrew.conkie@redstarconsulting.co.uk
University of Aberdeen: Artificial intelligence-supported early fracture diagnosis SBRI competition Nir Oren
n.oren@abdn.ac.uk
website
Multicentre Acute kidney injury, Readmissions and Kidney Endpoints Replication (MARKER) Study Salford Dataset Simon Sawhney
simon.sawhney@abdn.ac.uk; simon.sawhney2@nhs.scot
website
Just how unequal are we? Mapping health inequalities in the Aberdeen Children of the 1950s cohort study. Jessica Butler
jessicabutler@abdn.ac.uk
website
iCAIRD Stroke Thrombolysis AI Treatment Decision Support Evaluation and Federated Learning Mary Joan Macleod
m.j.macleod@abdn.ac.uk
website
2018
PROJECT PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATOR
Evaluating a new protocol for primary-care initiated identification and management of patients with familial hypercholesterolemia: observational study and cost-effectiveness analysis. Zosia Miedzybrodzka
zosia@abdn.ac.uk
website
Farr Lab data provisioning Corri Black Black
corri.black@abdn.ac.uk
website
Alison Murray - a future project Alison Murray
a.d.murray@abdn.ac.uk
website
Patient Lists Neil Basu
neilbasu@abdn.ac.uk
website
Understanding the interplay of geography and demographic characteristics in the diagnosis of eight common cancers Peter Murchie
p.murchie@abdn.ac.uk
website
FH+ cohort for Glasgow safe haven Jennifer Logue
Jennifer.Logue@glasgow.ac.uk
The role of co-morbidities in stroke prevention, stroke management and patient outcomes following stroke Melanie Turner
m.e.turner@abdn.ac.uk
website
Maternal Pathways to Offspring Mental Disorder Angus MacBeth
angus.macbeth@ed.ac.uk
Multicentre Acute Kidney Injury and Readmissions Replication Study (MARS) Simon Sawhney
simon.sawhney@abdn.ac.uk; simon.sawhney2@nhs.scot
website
Grampian Renal Linkage Simon Sawhney
simon.sawhney@abdn.ac.uk; simon.sawhney2@nhs.scot
website
Adversity in childhood and mid-life multimorbidity : findings from a prospective Scottish cohort Corri Black Black
corri.black@abdn.ac.uk
website
Local biochemistry and stroke cohort linkage Melanie Turner
m.e.turner@abdn.ac.uk
website
2017
PROJECT PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATOR
Characterising Emergency General Surgery Workload and Outcomes in Scotland George Ramsay (staff)
george.ramsay@nhs.scot
Reoperation for recurrence following laparoscopic and open inguinal hernia repairs: A population-based cohort study George Ramsay (staff)
george.ramsay@nhs.scot
What are the chances of a live birth following day 5/6 embryo transfer versus day 2/3 embryo transfer in the first complete cycle of IVF? David Mclernon
d.mclernon@abdn.ac.uk
website
Predicting cumulative pregnancy outcomes in patients having IVF treatment David Mclernon
d.mclernon@abdn.ac.uk
website
Evaluating the effectiveness of in vitro fertilisation in couples with unexplained infertility using observational data David Mclernon
d.mclernon@abdn.ac.uk
website
Risk of recurrent stillbirth: Individual Participant Data (IPD) Meta-analysis Sohinee Bhattacharya
sohinee.bhattacharya@abdn.ac.uk
website
Risk factors for ectopic pregnancy in the first complete cycle of in vitro fertilisation David Mclernon
d.mclernon@abdn.ac.uk
website
PACFIND - Fibromyalgia patient digital healthcare journey Rosemary Hollick
rhollick@abdn.ac.uk
website
Identifying the contribution of renal impairment to cognitive decline in two Aberdeen Birth Cohorts Corri Black Black
corri.black@abdn.ac.uk
website
Optimal brain development for global mental health through data science approaches. Alison Murray
a.d.murray@abdn.ac.uk
website
Selective Schooling and Long-term Health Jessica Butler
jessicabutler@abdn.ac.uk
website
SSPEDI Matthew Collinson
Kidney Disease rates (Host project): Exploration of kidney disease rates over time Harry Marks (new log in)
a.marks@abdn.ac.uk
website
GLOMMS III (Linkage) Corri Black Black
corri.black@abdn.ac.uk
website
Selective schooling and long-term health Jessica Butler
jessicabutler@abdn.ac.uk
website
Perinatal outcomes of singleton siblings born as a result of assisted conception: a comparison of different embryo transfer strategies using linked cycle records from the HFEA dataset David Mclernon
d.mclernon@abdn.ac.uk
website
PAediatric unPlanned dAY case Admissions (PAPAYA) Natasha Woodman
tasha_woodman@hotmail.co.uk
iCAIRD - Infrastructure Corri Black Black
corri.black@abdn.ac.uk
website
Adversity in childhood and mid-life multimorbidity : findings from a prospective Scottish cohort Corri Black Black
corri.black@abdn.ac.uk
website
2016
PROJECT PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATOR
Multimorbidity: prevalence and outcomes Lynn Robertson
l.robertson@abdn.ac.uk
website
Evaluating a new protocol for primary-care initiated identification and management of patients with familial hypercholesterolaemia: observational study and cost-effectiveness analysis Nadeem Qureshi
nadeem.qureshi@nottingham.ac.uk
Maternal pre-pregnancy obesity and mental disorders in the offspring Rebecca Reynolds
R.Reynolds@ed.ac.uk
Artificial intelligence for the health sector_PhD1 Markus Steiner
m.steiner@abdn.ac.uk
website
Artificial intelligence for the health sector_PhD2 Markus Steiner
m.steiner@abdn.ac.uk
website
BSRBR-AS Claudia Zabke
c.zabke@abdn.ac.uk
website
Benzodiazepines and z-drugs prescribing pattern over the time among the Aberdeen Children of The Nineteen Fifties Cohort Gareth Jones
gareth.jones@abdn.ac.uk
website
The role of pelvic examination in primary care in diagnosing gynaecological cancer. Pauline Williams
r01pw16@abdn.ac.uk
website
PSP_CBD Prevalence study Diane Swallow
diane.swallow@abdn.ac.uk
website
Development of a global neurodevelopmental risk score predictive of life adversity Jill Pell
Jill.Pell@glasgow.ac.uk
Investigating the influence of post-treatment care on survival of individuals within the North of Scotland Cancer and Residence (NASCAR) dataset. Peter Murchie
p.murchie@abdn.ac.uk
website
2015
PROJECT PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATOR
Can we improve secondary prevention after stroke? A national linkage study utilising stroke and dispensing datasets. Mary Joan Macleod
m.j.macleod@abdn.ac.uk
website
Linking antenatal maternity data to non-communicable disease data in children and adults Steve Turner
s.w.turner@abdn.ac.uk
website
Factors affecting variations in Campylobacter disease rates in Scotland Norval Strachan
n.strachan@abdn.ac.uk
website
Bakery products for non-Coeliac gluten sensitive consumers Dinka Rees
dinka.rees@abdn.ac.uk
website
Future risk of developing diabetes in mothers with gestational diabetes and their offspring identified as part of the 1000 women project Sam Philip Philip
s.philip@abdn.ac.uk
website
The role of co-morbidities in stroke prevention, stroke management and patient outcomes following stroke Melanie Turner
m.e.turner@abdn.ac.uk
website
Study of HPV screening in Immunised women as First Test (SHIFT) Maggie Cruickshank
m.e.cruickshank@abdn.ac.uk
website
Health Care Reform: the iMpact on practice, oUtcomes and costs of New roles for h realth pROfeSsionals (MUNROS). Work package 7: Have new professions, or new roles of existing professions, any association with key outcomes from medical treatment and care? Christine Bond
c.m.bond@abdn.ac.uk
website
2014
PROJECT PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATOR
Diabetes_Biobank Proteinuria: SDRN Type 1 Bioresource Linkage Helen Colhoun
h.colhoun@dundee.ac.uk
What are the factors which make individuals resilient to developing multimorbidity and what factors are associated with psychological and functional resilience in those with multimorbidity? Marj Johnston
marjorie.johnston@abdn.ac.uk
website
Offspring risks of elective caesarean section Siladitya Bhattacharya
s.bhattacharya@abdn.ac.uk
website
2013
PROJECT PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATOR
Early Life Determinants of cognitive resilience Alison Murray
a.d.murray@abdn.ac.uk
website
Using data linkage to ascertain early gestational accuracy and to explore the association between IVF conception and reduced weight in infancy and childhood Steve Turner
s.w.turner@abdn.ac.uk
website
Methodlogical1 Corri Black Black
corri.black@abdn.ac.uk
website
Does access to health services influence provider delay, stage, treatment and survival from eight common cancers: analysis of a linked dataset based on the NASCAR Cohort. Peter Murchie
p.murchie@abdn.ac.uk
website
PCCIU Peter Murchie
p.murchie@abdn.ac.uk
website
Socio-economic predictors of Antibiotic Resistant Community- and Healthcare-associated Infections in NHS Grampian (SEARCHiNG) Tim Lawes (Grampian)
Timothy.Lawes@nhs.scot
A National Audit of Management and Outcomes for Patients with Familial Hypercholesterolaemia in Scotland Zosia Miedzybrodzka
zosia@abdn.ac.uk
website
SCI proteinuria: SDRN National Extract Linkage Sarah Wild
Sarah.Wild@ed.ac.uk
ABC36 (consented) link to SMR Alison Murray
a.d.murray@abdn.ac.uk
website
STratifying Resilience and Depression Longitudinally (STRADL) Alison Murray
a.d.murray@abdn.ac.uk
website
2012
PROJECT PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATOR
Stroke and diabetes Mary Joan Macleod
m.j.macleod@abdn.ac.uk
website
Study of HPV screening in Immunised women as First Test (SHIFT) Maggie Cruickshank
m.e.cruickshank@abdn.ac.uk
website
CHIMES Pharmacovigilance - Validation Graham Devereux
g.devereux@abdn.ac.uk
website
To assess levels of medication discontinuation or switching in children prescribed orlistat, metformin and antidepressants: as a marker of Adverse Drug Reactions (ADRs) Angela/Peichen Sun
peichen.sun@abdn.ac.uk
website
Taking folate in pregnancy and all cause and cause-specific mortality - further follow up of the Aberdeen folate trial Sohinee Bhattacharya
sohinee.bhattacharya@abdn.ac.uk
website
Development and validation of prognostic models for subfertility David Mclernon
d.mclernon@abdn.ac.uk
website
Long Term Outcomes of Acute Kidney Injury: Establishing Prognosis to Design Optimal Management Simon Sawhney
simon.sawhney@abdn.ac.uk; simon.sawhney2@nhs.scot
website