DaSH has supported over 240 approaches for potential data linkage research projects.

The data linkage projects currently in analyis or have been completed are listed below:

2019
PROJECT PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATOR
Identifying clusters of multimorbidity in hospitalised patients Lynn Robertson
l.robertson@abdn.ac.uk
website
Does carbamazepine cause hypogammaglobulinaemia Angus Macleod
Angus.Macleod@abdn.ac.uk
website
How strongly is family socioeconomic status associated with children’s cognitive and scholastic performance during the years of attending primary school? Sophie von Stumm
sophie.vonstumm@york.ac.uk
The prevalence and outcome of polypharmacy in Generation Scotland linked PIS dataset Alison Murray
a.d.murray@abdn.ac.uk
website
2018
PROJECT PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATOR
Patient Lists Neil Basu
neilbasu@abdn.ac.uk
website
FH+ cohort for Glasgow safe haven Jennifer Logue
Jennifer.Logue@glasgow.ac.uk
The role of co-morbidities in stroke prevention, stroke management and patient outcomes following stroke. STUDENT PROJECT Melanie Turner
m.e.turner@abdn.ac.uk
website
Investigating the predictors of polypharmacy and its role in brain ageing, and cognitive, physical and emotional impairment in three well characterised cohort studies in Aberdeen Alison Murray
a.d.murray@abdn.ac.uk
website
Adversity in childhood and mid-life multimorbidity : findings from a prospective Scottish cohort Corri Corri Corri Black
corri.black@abdn.ac.uk
website
2017
PROJECT PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATOR
What is the association between the number of oocytes retrieved and live birth rates in a complete IVF cycle incorporating fresh followed by frozen embryo transfer? David Mclernon
d.mclernon@abdn.ac.uk
website
Characterising Emergency General Surgery Workload and Outcomes in Scotland George Ramsay (staff)
george.ramsay@nhs.net
Reoperation for recurrence following laparoscopic and open inguinal hernia repairs: A population-based cohort study George Ramsay (staff)
george.ramsay@nhs.net
What are the chances of a live birth following day 5/6 embryo transfer versus day 2/3 embryo transfer in the first complete cycle of IVF? David Mclernon
d.mclernon@abdn.ac.uk
website
What are the chances of natural live birth in women following unsuccessful IVF treatment? David Mclernon
d.mclernon@abdn.ac.uk
website
A national audit of management and outcomes for patients with familial hypercholesterolaemia in Scotland (RGU student project) Zosia Miedzybrodzka
zosia@abdn.ac.uk
website
Predicting cumulative pregnancy outcomes in patients having IVF treatment David Mclernon
d.mclernon@abdn.ac.uk
website
Evaluating the effectiveness of in vitro fertilisation in couples with unexplained infertility using observational data David Mclernon
d.mclernon@abdn.ac.uk
website
Risk of recurrent stillbirth: Individual Participant Data (IPD) Meta-analysis Sohinee Bhattacharya
sohinee.bhattacharya@abdn.ac.uk
website
Risk factors for ectopic pregnancy in the first complete cycle of in vitro fertilisation David Mclernon
d.mclernon@abdn.ac.uk
website
Identifying the contribution of renal impairment to cognitive decline in two Aberdeen Birth Cohorts Corri Corri Corri Black
corri.black@abdn.ac.uk
website
Optimal brain development for global mental health through data science approaches. Alison Murray
a.d.murray@abdn.ac.uk
website
SSPEDI Matthew Collinson
Kidney Disease rates (Host project): Exploration of kidney disease rates over time Harry Marks (new log in)
Selective schooling and long-term health Jessica Butler
jessicabutler@abdn.ac.uk
website
PAediatric unPlanned dAY case Admissions (PAPAYA) Natasha Woodman
tasha_woodman@hotmail.co.uk
Adversity in childhood and mid-life multimorbidity : findings from a prospective Scottish cohort Corri Corri Corri Black
corri.black@abdn.ac.uk
website
2016
PROJECT PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATOR
Multimorbidity: prevalence and outcomes Lynn Robertson
l.robertson@abdn.ac.uk
website
Targeting therapy in people with severe asthma John Haughney
John.Haughney@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
Evaluating a new protocol for primary-care initiated identification and management of patients with familial hypercholesterolaemia: observational study and cost-effectiveness analysis Nadeem Qureshi
nadeem.qureshi@nottingham.ac.uk
Maternal pre-pregnancy obesity and mental disorders in the offspring Rebecca (c02rr6) Reynolds
R.Reynolds@ed.ac.uk
Cumulative live birth rates following a pregnancy loss in the first complete cycle of IVF’ David Mclernon
d.mclernon@abdn.ac.uk
website
Benzodiazepines and z-drugs prescribing pattern over the time among the Aberdeen Children of The Nineteen Fifties Cohort Gareth Jones
gareth.jones@abdn.ac.uk
website
Equity of Access: A Geospatial Analysis of Intensive Care Unit Admission Rates and Mortality in Scotland. Philip Emerson (student)
philip.emerson.15@aberdeen.ac.uk
The role of pelvic examination in primary care in diagnosing gynaecological cancer. Pauline Williams
pauline.williams@abdn.ac.uk
website
Using hospital admission data to study associations between early life conditions and later outcomes Steve Turner
s.w.turner@abdn.ac.uk
website
Development of a global neurodevelopmental risk score predictive of life adversity Jill Pell
Jill.Pell@glasgow.ac.uk
Investigating the influence of post-treatment care on survival of individuals within the North of Scotland Cancer and Residence (NASCAR) dataset. Peter Murchie
p.murchie@abdn.ac.uk
website
2015
PROJECT PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATOR
Avoidable Scottish Hospitalisations (ASH) Marjon van der Pol
m.vanderpol@abdn.ac.uk
website
Linkage of SEATON and STONES databases Steve Turner
s.w.turner@abdn.ac.uk
website
A study of trends in acute medical paediatrics admissions to hospitals in Scotland Steve Turner
s.w.turner@abdn.ac.uk
website
Can we improve secondary prevention after stroke? A national linkage study utilising stroke and dispensing datasets. Mary Joan Macleod
m.j.macleod@abdn.ac.uk
website
Dietary Assessment Tools Study Leone Craig
l.craig@abdn.ac.uk
website
Antenatal Origins of Chronic Disease Steve Turner
s.w.turner@abdn.ac.uk
website
Factors affecting variations in Campylobacter disease rates in Scotland Norval Strachan
n.strachan@abdn.ac.uk
website
Linkage of the SEATON birth cohort to primary care prescribing for asthma and eczema medications Steve Turner
s.w.turner@abdn.ac.uk
website
Bakery products for non-Coeliac gluten sensitive consumers Dinka Rees
dinka.rees@abdn.ac.uk
website
Future risk of developing diabetes in mothers with gestational diabetes and their offspring identified as part of the 1000 women project Sam Philip Philip
sam.philip@nhs.net
The role of co-morbidities in stroke prevention, stroke management and patient outcomes following stroke. Melanie Turner
m.e.turner@abdn.ac.uk
website
Study of HPV screening in Immunised women as First Test (SHIFT) Maggie Cruickshank
m.e.cruickshank@abdn.ac.uk
website
Health Care Reform: the iMpact on practice, oUtcomes and costs of New roles for h realth pROfeSsionals (MUNROS). Work package 7: Have new professions, or new roles of existing professions, any association with key outcomes from medical treatment and care? Christine Bond
c.m.bond@abdn.ac.uk
website
2014
PROJECT PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATOR
Identifying AKI using Routine Biochemistry - A Comparison with Administrative Coding and a Well Characterised Cohort Corri Corri Corri Black
corri.black@abdn.ac.uk
website
What are the factors which make individuals resilient to developing multimorbidity and what factors are associated with psychological and functional resilience in those with multimorbidity? Marj Johnston
marjorie.johnston@abdn.ac.uk
website
Patterns of fetal and birth measurements, childhood autism spectrum disorder and adult psychiatric outcomes: is there an association? Markus Steiner
m.steiner@abdn.ac.uk
website
Urgent-suspected cancer (USC) referral data from 4 Scottish health boards and Northern Ireland Peter Murchie
p.murchie@abdn.ac.uk
website
Offspring risks of elective caesarean section Siladitya Siladitya
s.bhattacharya@abdn.ac.uk
website
Predicting the impossible: what are the chances of spontaneous pregnancy in women following IVF 7 treatment? Siladitya Siladitya
s.bhattacharya@abdn.ac.uk
website
Investigating links between use of information technology and cognitive reserve in older adults (Aberdeen Birth Cohort 1936 Study) Alison Murray
a.d.murray@abdn.ac.uk
website
2013
PROJECT PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATOR
Maternity-related outcomes in women with a diagnosis of psychotic disorder: a case-control data-linkage study in a North East Scottish cohort Angus MacBeth
angus.macbeth@ed.ac.uk
Early Life Determinants of cognitive resilience Alison Murray
a.d.murray@abdn.ac.uk
website
The Prediction of Short Term Outcomes from Risk Factors Identified during Pregnancy and at Hospital Admission in Women with Preeclampsia Gordon Prescott
gordon.prescott@abdn.ac.uk
website
Foetal Origins of Childhood Obesity Steve Turner
s.w.turner@abdn.ac.uk
website
Fetal size and outdoor air quality Steve Turner
s.w.turner@abdn.ac.uk
website
Using data linkage to ascertain early gestational accuracy and to explore the association between IVF conception and reduced weight in infancy and childhood Steve Turner
s.w.turner@abdn.ac.uk
website
Using GIS to assess the role of built environment in influencing Type 2 Diabetes in Aberdeen Nicola Beech
nicola.beech2@nhs.net
Methodlogical1 Corri Corri Corri Black
corri.black@abdn.ac.uk
website
Does access to health services influence provider delay, stage, treatment and survival from eight common cancers: analysis of a linked dataset based on the NASCAR Cohort. Peter Murchie
p.murchie@abdn.ac.uk
website
PCCIU Peter Murchie
p.murchie@abdn.ac.uk
website
Socio-economic predictors of Antibiotic Resistant Community- and Healthcare-associated Infections in NHS Grampian (SEARCHiNG) Tim Lawes (Grampian)
t.lawes@nhs.net
A National Audit of Management and Outcomes for Patients with Familial Hypercholesterolaemia in Scotland Zosia Miedzybrodzka
zosia@abdn.ac.uk
website
ABC36 (consented) link to SMR Alison Murray
a.d.murray@abdn.ac.uk
website
AKI Validation Corri Corri Corri Black
corri.black@abdn.ac.uk
website
Patterns of fetal and birth measurements, childhood autism spectrum disorder and adult psychiatric outcomes: is there an association? Markus Steiner
m.steiner@abdn.ac.uk
website
STratifying Resilience and Depression Longitudinally (STRADL) Alison Murray
a.d.murray@abdn.ac.uk
website
Is Infectious mononucleosis in winter a stronger risk factor for multiple sclerosis than in summer? A case-control sturdy Carl Counsell
carl.counsell@abdn.ac.uk
website
2012
PROJECT PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATOR
CHIMES Pharmacovigilance - Validation Graham Devereux
g.devereux@abdn.ac.uk
website
To assess levels of medication discontinuation or switching in children prescribed orlistat, metformin and antidepressants: as a marker of Adverse Drug Reactions (ADRs) Angela/Peichen Sun
peichen.sun@abdn.ac.uk
website
Recurrent miscarriage and the subsequent risk of cardiovascular disease and mortality Sohinee Bhattacharya
sohinee.bhattacharya@abdn.ac.uk
website
Development and Validation of Prognostic Models for Subfertility David Mclernon
d.mclernon@abdn.ac.uk
website
Long-term health of women diagnosed with endometriosis: a Scottish Linkage Study Siladitya Siladitya
s.bhattacharya@abdn.ac.uk
website
Long Term Outcomes of Acute Kidney Injury: Establishing Prognosis to Design Optimal Management Simon Sawhney
simon.sawhney@abdn.ac.uk; simonsawhney@nhs.net
website
What are the factors which make individuals resilient to developing multimorbidity and what factors are associated with psychological and functional resilience in those with multimorbidity? Mike Crilly
mike.crilly@abdn.ac.uk
website
Renal bone disease: the effect of renal impairment on orthopaedic related morbidity and mortality Harry Marks (old log in)
a.marks@abdn.ac.uk
website