GCP courses

Attending GCP courses is an essential requirement for any researcher involved in commercial or non-commercial studies.  Please see local R&D website for further details and an application form.

GCP courses

NRS Introduction to GCP (CTIMP, core)

  • Monday, 3 February 2020, 9am - 4.30pm
  • Monday, 11 May 2020, 9am - 4.30pm
  • Tuesday, 18 August 2020, 9am - 4.30pm, room 218 Suttie Centre
  • Thursday, 19 November 2020, 9am - 4.30pm

NRS GCP training (CTIMP, update)

  • Thursday, 16 January 2020, 1pm - 4.30pm
  • Tuesday, 7 April 2020, 1pm - 4.30pm
  • Thursday, 16 July 2020, 9am - 1pm
  • Wednesday, 14 October 2020, 9am - 1pm

GRP for health care research (non-drug, core)

  • Thursday, 6 February 2020, 9.30am - 12.30pm, room 201 Suttie Centre
  • Wednesday, 18 March 2020, 9.30am - 12.30pm, room 218 Suttie Centre
  • Monday, 27 April 2020, 9.30am - 12.30pm
  • Tuesday, 26 May 2020, 1.30pm - 4.30pm
  • Monday, 1 June 2020, 9.30am - 12.30pm, venue TBC

GRP for health care research (non-drug, update)

  • Tuesday, 21 January 2020, 10am - 12 noon, room 218 Suttie Centre
  • Tuesday, 17 March 2020, 2pm - 4pm, room 218 Suttie Centre
  • Wednesday, 6 May 2020, 10am - 12 noon
  • Wednesday, 29 July 2020, 2pm - 4pm, venue TBC
  • Thursday, 10 September 2020, 9.30am - 11.30am
  • Wednesday, 25 November 2020, 9.30am - 11.30am

Please note, all training is held in Room 115, Health Sciences Building, Foresterhill (unless otherwise stated).

Research Practice Series

For further information about these courses, see the R&D website or email
nhsg.randdtraining@nhs.net to enquire about availability and a registration form.

The Research Practice Series

The NEW Research Practice Series are courses that build upon and supplement the Good Clinical Practice (Core) training. They provide more detailed information on practical aspects of research and will be useful for those involved in performing specific study tasks.

Venue: Room 115, 1st Floor, Health Sciences Building, unless otherwise stated

Informed Consent

This course covers the UK and Scottish legislation as well as practicalities of informed consent. The course makes reference to procedures for obtaining informed consent from adults, adults lacking capacity and children. All researchers are welcome to attend, but especially those who are required to obtain informed consent from study participants.

  • Tuesday, 4 February 2020, 9.30am - 12.30pm, room 233 Suttie Centre
  • Wednesday, 13 May 2020, 1.30pm - 4.30pm, venue TBC

Study Documentation

The course covers Data Management, including Trial Master Files; Source Documentation; Linking Datasets; Archiving and more. Whilst still undertaking an informal approach, the course introduces the practicalities of study documentation through scenario-based activities.  All researchers are welcome to attend, but especially those who are required to maintain research documentation.

  • Monday, 20 January 2020, 9.30am - 12.30pm
  • Thursday, 9 April 2020, 9.30am - 12.30pm

The Ethics Process

This course offers practical help to those finding their way around the ethics process for either the first time, or who have questions regarding the process. It gives hints and tips on applying for ethical approval and gives details of the Integrated Research Application System (IRAS). All researchers are welcome to attend, but especially those who are required to prepare and submit ethical applications. 

  • Thursday, 5 March 2020, 9am - 12 noon, room 210 Suttie Centre
  • Wednesday, 8 April 2020, 9am - 12 noon, room 210 Suttie Centre
  • Wednesday, 3 June 2020, 9am - 12 noon
R&D Seminars

All seminars must be pre-booked due to limited capacity in some venues; please
email: nhsg.randdtraining@nhs.net

NHSG R&D seminars: aspects of research practice

12 noon - 1pm, room 115, Health Sciences Building (unless otherwise stated)

  • Tuesday, 28 January 2020, 12 noon - 1pm, Therese Lebedis OBE, Consultant AHP (Occupational Therapist) in Stroke.  'Stroke rehabilitation research informing evidence based practice.'
  • Wednesday, 26 February 2020, 12.30pm - 1.30pm, Richard Cowie, NHSG R&D QA manager.  'Good Clinical Practice in the laboratory - what the MHRA examine'.
  • Tuesday, 31 March 2020, 12 noon - 1pm, Lionel Broche, Lecturer, University of Aberdeen. 'Fast field cycling MRI in Aberdeen: Past, Present and Future'.
  • Wednesday, 29 April 2020, 12.30pm - 1.30pm, Alison Stewart, NHSG R&D Commercial Manager & Commercial Team.  'Feasibility and CDAs - how to get involved in commercial research'.
Free e-learning

FREE e-learning

Research, GDPR and confidentiality - what you really need to know:  www.byglearning.co.uk/mrcrsc-lms/

IRAS www.myresearchproject.org.uk/ELearning/IRAS_E_learning.htm