Oil and Gas In Transition Workshop

Oil and Gas In Transition Workshop

Hosted by the Centre for Energy Transition and supported by the Centre for Energy Law and the Just Transitions Lab, this event brought together stakeholders from academia, industry, policy, and third sector for an open dialogue on delivering a just transition to net-zero in the North East. 

Introduction and Keynote Addresses

  • Welcome from Daria Shapovalova (Oil and Gas in Transition Theme Champion)
  • Keynote – Gillian Martin MSP
  • Keynote – John Underhill (CET Director)

Panel 1: Technological Solutions to Decarbonising E&P and Decommissioning

Chair: Tavis Potts (University of Aberdeen, Geosciences) 

  • Matthew Brettle (University of Aberdeen)
  • Bethan Vasey (Shell)
  • Glen Littlejohn (Net Zero Technology Centre)
  • Richard Neilson (NDC)
  • John Paterson (University of Aberdeen, Law)

Panel 2: Just Transition in the North-East: Communities and Workforce

Chair: John Paterson (University of Aberdeen, Law) 

  • Barney Crockett (Lord Provost)
  • John Bone (University of Aberdeen, Just Transitions Lab)
  • Keith Bender (University of Aberdeen, Business)
  • Ryan Morrison and Scott Herrett (Friends of the Earth Scotland)
  • Jake Molloy (RMT, Just Transition Commission)
  • Jenny Macdonald (Skills Development Scotland)
  • Tavis Potts (University of Aberdeen, Just Transitions Lab) 

Panel 3: Oil & Gas and Net Zero     

Chair: Daria Shapovalova (University of Aberdeen, Law) 

  • Jo Bagguley (Oil and Gas Authority)
  • Mark Lappin (Deltic Energy)
  • Luca Corradi (Net Zero Technology Centre)
  • Rachel Brackenridge (University of Aberdeen, Geosciences)
  • Alex Kemp (University of Aberdeen, Economics)