Head of Fungal Group recognised for exceptional contribution to medical sciences

Head of Fungal Group recognised for exceptional contribution to medical sciences

Professor Neil Gow from the University of Aberdeen has been recognised for his exceptional contribution to the medical sciences by being elected as a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences.

Professor Gow, who heads up the Aberdeen Fungal Group – the biggest fungal research group in Britain and one of the largest in the world, has been recognised as one of the UK’s leading medical researchers.

Candidates for Fellows of the Academy are drawn from clinical academic medicine, veterinary science, dentistry, laboratory science, medical and nursing care and other professions allied to medical science.

The majority of candidates will be selected primarily for their outstanding contribution to the advancement of medical science, or for the application of existing scientific knowledge or understanding in an innovative way, so as to bring about advances in human health and welfare.

Professor Gow said: “I was delighted, and honoured to hear that I had been elected as a fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences, which as such an important role in nurturing the vitality of the UK biomedical research base. 

“I look forward to engaging with new colleagues to help ensure that medical mycology continues to develop to address the considerable challenges faced in my field.”

The University of Aberdeen was awarded £5.1m from the Wellcome Trust in 2012 to lead a major UK collaboration to tackle the problem of fungal infections.

Forty seven new fellows were announced today (Monday, May 11), bringin the total number of Fellows to 1169.

A spokesperson for the Academy of Medical Sciences said: “We offer the new Fellows our warmest congratulations on their election and welcome them to the Academy.”

The Fellows will be formally admitted during a ceremony on Wednesday 1 July. All Fellows are warmly invited to attend the day's events.

This year Admission Day will be held at the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA).