Talented musicians compete for prestigious prize

Five talented musicians will battle it out for a prestigious prize at a concert to be held as part of the May Festival.

The 2014 Ogston Music Prize finals will be held at the Cowdray Hall on Friday May 9.

The award was created in 2008 by Professor Ogston CBE LLD FRSE, a former Senior Vice-Principal of the University of Aberdeen, to recognise outstanding musical talent.

It is open to students from throughout the University of Aberdeen and the winner is awarded a £1,000 prize as well as featured performances in the Aberdeen International Youth Festival and the Cowdray Lunchtime Concert Series.

The concert will feature performances from each of the five finalists, and a performance from 2013 winner, soprano Anna Lawrence.

The 2014 finalists are:

  • Greta Dilyte – Piano – 2nd Year BMus Student, from Lithuania
  • Katie Doig –Soprano – 4th Year Medical Student, from Newcastle
  • Savia Iakovou – Soprano – 3rd year BMus student, from Cyprus
  • Ruth Potts – Violin – 3rd year BMus student, from Thurso
  • Maria Vilberg – Piano – 3rd year BMus student, from Estonia

Professor Pete Stollery, Head of Music at the University of Aberdeen, said, “This is the sixth year of the Ogston Music Prize and we are so grateful for the opportunity that Professor Ogston has given  to our music students to be able to present high quality performances on such a prestigious platform. This year, the quality is very high again and the judging panel, including the Managing Editor at Classic FM, Sam Jackson, will have their work cut out!”

Tickets for the Cowdray Hall concert are £8 for adults, £5 concessions and £2 for students and children.

To book visit www.abdn.ac.uk/mayfestival or call Aberdeen Box Office on 01224 641122.