Pupils honoured at biggest ever Aberdeen Children's University graduations

More than 200 school pupils from across the north-east were honoured for their achievements in the classroom as Aberdeen Children's University held its annual graduation ceremony recently.

The ceremony, which took place at the University of Aberdeen’s Kings College campus, saw Principal George Boyne confer awards on 215 pupils.

Children’s University is a charity that works with schools to develop a love of learning, boost confidence and foster a sense of achievement in children.

Pupils collect credits for taking part in activities outside of school time. Once the children have collected enough credits they receive a reward which is presented at the ceremony that takes place every June.

A total of 215 pupils - from P4 to S2 level – received awards this year, the most ever since Aberdeen Children’s University was set up in January 2015. The children were piped in to the Grand Marquee used for the University’s graduation ceremonies and guests enjoyed a choir performance from St Fergus Primary school.  

Over 800 people attended the ceremony, including pupils, proud parents, teachers, guests and members of University staff.

Professor George Boyne, Principal and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Aberdeen, said: “I was delighted to play a part in honouring the achievements of school pupils from across Aberdeenshire at this year’s Aberdeen Children’s Graduations.

“The event was the biggest to date, and as a University we are delighted to be part of this fantastic initiative that aims to foster a love of learning while encouraging young people to aim for university.

“I wish all of the young people who visited our Kings College campus every success in the future, and hope to see many of them back here at the University in years to come!”

Schools involved included Banff Academy, Bracoden Primary School, Buchanhaven Primary School, Clerkhill Primary School, Fraserburgh Academy, Lochpots Primary School, Maud Primary School, Mintlaw Academy, Peterhead Academy, Rosehearty Primary School, South Park Primary, St Fergus School, and Westfield Primary School.