Leading hydrologist honoured with prestigious Fellowship

A leading hydrologist from the University of Aberdeen's School of Geosciences has been elected as a Fellow of the prestigious American Geophysical Union (AGU).

Professor Doerthe Tetzlaff is only the second person from the University to receive the honour from the AGU, and the third European woman to do so. 

The AGU is the world’s largest learned society for geoscientists with over 62000 members.

Each year it elects a small proportion of its membership as Fellows, in recognition of their visionary leadership and scientific excellence that has fundamentally advanced research in their respective fields.

Professor Tetzlaff’s nomination came from the Hydrology Section of AGU, in recognition of her ‘fundamental insights into physical processes controlling stream flow in headwaters, and their influence on stream chemistry and aquatic ecology.’

As well as holding the position of Chair in Hydrology and Landscape Ecology at the University of Aberdeen, Professor Tetzlaff is also Head of Department of Ecohydrology at IGB Leibniz Institute of Freshwater Ecology and Inland Fisheries, and Professor in Ecohydrology at Humboldt University, Berlin.

Commenting on her success, she said: “I am delighted to receive this honour from the AGU, particularly as I’m only the third European woman to do so in its history, and only the second person from the University’s School of Geosciences after Professor Chris Soulsby.

“To be recognised by my peers in this way is a huge honour, and I’d like to thank all of my colleagues at the University and elsewhere for their support.”