Carlaw-Ogston Composition Prize awarded to Jennifer Taylor

Fourth year Music Student is awarded the Carlaw-Ogston composition prize in a fantastic evening of new music by the Music Department students.

The 2017 Carlaw | Ogston Composition Award offers £1,000 to the winner as a commission for a larger scale new work which will be performed at a Spectrum Concert next season. Thursday’s competition was introduced by Sarah Rimkus, Artistic Director of Aberdeen University’s Spectrum New Music Ensemble. Sarah is herself an award-winning composer of vocal, choral and chamber music. She introduced each of the five young composers whose music was about to be performed by members of Spectrum.

Jennifer Taylor's piece, entitled Delirious, is a piece written for solo Marimba and was performed to the highest standards by percussionist Brodie McCash. The other composers can be very proud of their works also but there was only one winner on this occassion.