Toulmin Prize

Toulmin Prize

Toulmin Prize 2023

Due to the upcoming bank holidays on 1 May, and 8 May, we have decided to extend the deadline for submissions until Monday 15 May 2023

.Please see entry form for details

Toulmin Prize 2022

Prizewinning Story A Burden by Brenda Crane

Congratulations to Brenda Crane, who lives in Adelaide, South Australia.

You can read the winning story A Burden here


Highly Commended

The judges of the Toulmin Prize found that the standard of entries was high this year, and have made Highly Commended awards to Deborah Leslie from Inverurie  for her story Skint, and to George Wood from Aberdeen for his story A Trip tae the Sannies




The Toulmin Prize Book

was launched on Thursday 18 November 2021

The Toulmin Prize publication, Dinna Mess wi the Popo & other stories of the North-East of Scotland, with readings and interviews, and featuring Sheena Blackhall.

Order a copy of the Toulmin Publication here.



Toulmin Prize

The Toulmin Prize, established in 2008 and awarded annually, is a short-story prize commemorating the work of one of north-east Scotland's finest exponents of written Doric. There is a cash prize of £500 for the winning entry. The award for the best entry will be made at the University of Aberdeen, where the winning story will be read out by the well-known north-east writer, Sheena Blackhall.

Emeritus Professor Ian Russell, former Director of the Elphinstone Institute at the University of Aberdeen, says: 'We’re proud to be able to honour John Reid and his work in this way. His writing is powerful, evocative and witty, and he is one of the finest exponents of writing in the North-East. We have had a terrific response to the previous competitions and the standard of entries has been superb.'

Previous Prize-winners

Toulmin Prize 2020

Prizewinning story The Catch by Ewan Gault

Congratulations to Ewan Gault, an English teacher at a sixth form college in Tottenham, London.

His winning story is read by Sheena Blackhall.

You can read the winning story The Catch here



The judges of the Toulmin Prize found that the standard of entries was particularly high this year, and have made a commended award to Marka Rifat, a retired communications officer from Stonehaven, for Into the Sweet. You can read the story here.

Toulmin Prize 2019

Congratulations to our winner, Lyly Lepinay, and to the commended writers, Rae Cowie, Ruth MacLure, Mike Moir, and Anna Neil.

Click on the respective titles to read the stories on the Scottish Field website:

Toulmin 2019 prizewinner Lyly Lepinay with her family
Toulmin 2019 prize-winner Lyly Lepinay with her family
About David Toulmin

David Toulmin at his typewriter

John Reid (1913–1998) was an Aberdeenshire farm labourer from Rathen, near Fraserburgh, who spent most of his life working long hours for very small rewards.

In odd moments he jotted down short stories, character studies, and bothy tales. Eventually, as David Toulmin, he had a few articles printed in local newspapers.

The first of his ten books was published when he was 59 years old. His work consists mostly of short stories and reminiscences, with his one novel, Blown Seed, painting a harsh picture of farm life. 

In his later years he moved to Pittodrie Place in Aberdeen (later to Westhill) and was awarded an honorary degree by the University of Aberdeen in 1986.