Evidence for Enhancement: Improving the Student Experience

The current Enhancement Theme is Evidence for Enhancement: Improving the Student Experience and is in its third and final year. The Theme will consider:

What information is useful to help us identify and understand what we do well and what could be improved? This information, which includes qualitative and quantitative evidence, can be used to identify the issues that would benefit from intervention, help prioritise interventions for improving the student experience, and evaluate the effectiveness of those interventions including reporting on the ways in which the student experience has been improved.

The work will be managed by QAA Scotland along with the Theme Leaders Group (TLG) which will comprise members from each higher education institution plus student members. Add a ‘More Information’ link which should link to the Evidence for Enhancement pages (see menu changes below).

Post Graduate Taught Student Experience

The theme covers all levels of students including Taught Post Graduates. An article prepared for the Enhancement Themes TiPZone webpage can be found here.  

The University of Aberdeen’s institutional lead for the Evidence for Enhancement Theme is Professor Kath Shennan .

The membership of the University of Aberdeen’s Institutional Team is:

Staff representation


Prof Kathleen I J Shennan Theme Leaders' Group Institutional Representative and Chair of Institutional Theme Steering Group
Prof  W David McCausland
Personal Chair, Business School (and alternate TLG Lead)
Dr Tim Baker Senior Lecturer, School of Language Literature, Music and Visual Culture & Chair of the Assessment & Feedback Task Force
Dr Martin G. Barker
Senior Lecturer (Scholarship), School of Biological Sciences
Dr Colin J Calder
Lead Planning Analyst, Directorate of Planning
Dr Peter A Henderson
Senior Lecturer (Scholarship), School of Natural and Computing Sciences
Prof Alison Jenkinson
Dean of Undergraduate Studies for Science, Engineering and Healthcare
Prof Peter McGeorge
Vice Principal Education
Dr Sally Middleton
HE Progression Routes Manager, Student Recruitment and Admissions Service
Prof Ekaterina E Pavlovskaia
Dean of Postgraduate Taught Studies for Science, Engineering and Healthcare
Dr Joy Perkins
Educational Development and Employability Adviser, Centre for Academic Development
Patricia Spence
Manager, Centre for Academic Development
Emma Towler Strategic Planning Officer, Directorate of Planning
Dr Steven J Tucker
Senior Lecturer (Scholarship), School of Medicine, Medical Sciences and Nutrition and Chair of the Student Retention Taskforce
Dr Silvia Wehmeier  Lecturer (Scholarship), School of Natural and Computing Sciences


Student representation

Education Officer, AUSA

Tanya Ilieva Student representative
Dariya Koleva
Chris Lewis PGR Rep, AUSA