Celebrating excellence in teaching

Celebrating excellence in teaching

Eight academics at the University of Aberdeen have been recognised in the Excellence in Teaching Awards 2017.

The awards, which take place every year, give students the opportunity to nominate the academic who they feel has enhanced their experience the most. This year saw more nominations than ever before, with one undergraduate and one postgraduate award given to staff in the Business School; College of Arts and Social Sciences; College of Life Sciences and Medicine and the College of Physical Sciences.

Talking about the awards, Peter McGeorge, Vice-Principal for Teaching and Learning said: “These awards demonstrate the dedication and the exceptional quality of our staff and their teaching. We asked students to nominate the academic who had had the most positive impact on their student experience or who had challenged them to achieve their best and I was delighted with the high number of nominations we received this year.

“This recognition is hugely important, and not just to thank our academic colleagues for their incredibly hard work, but also in finding out what students’ value the most during their studies. I’d like to thank everyone who took the time to vote in these awards.”

The winners of this year’s Excellence in Teaching Awards are:

College of Arts and Social Sciences
UG – Dr Stuart Durkin, Social Science
PG – Mrs Aloyise Mulligan, Education

College of Physical Sciences
UG – Dr David Muirhead, Geosciences
PG – Dr Amin Sharifi, Engineering

College of Life Sciences and Medicine
UG – Dr Lynden Miles, Psychology
PG – Dr Alex Douglas, Biological Sciences

Business School
UG – Dr Laura McCann
PG – Mr Russell Williams

Excellence in Teaching Awards will be presented to winners at this year’s graduation ceremonies.