A meeting of the Postgraduate Taught Committee will be held on Wednesday 1 May 2019 at 2.00pm, in the Committee Room 2, University Office.

Robert Findlay, Postgraduate Committee (Taught) Clerk
(Extn: 3631; E-mail:



1.  Minutes of the Meeting held on 27 February 2019 PGC/010519/001


2. Matters Arising  
3.   Convenor’s Remarks  
4. PGT Student Experience PGC/010519/002
5. Personal Tutors for PGT Students PGC/010519/008
  The Committee is invited to discuss feedback from the School of Psychology in regard to its piloting of Personal Tutors.  The Committee is asked to recommend whether Personal Tutors should be introduced for all PGT students and, if so, how this should be implemented.
6. Code of Practice on Assessment PGC/010519/003
  The Committee is invited to consider the attached paper which updates the Code of Practice on Assessment for Academic Year 2018-19 and for Academic Year 2019-20 in line with the Senate-approved changes in several assessment-related policies.  The updated Codes of Practice on Assessment and the associated timeline for classification changes are appended to the paper.
7. Review of the Student Course Evaluation Process PGC/010519/004
  The Committee is invited to discuss the outcome of the SCEF (Student Course Evaluation Form) Review Working Group.
8. Code of Practice on Student Discipline (Academic) PGC/010519/005
  The Code of Practice on Student Discipline (Academic) and appended flow charts are enclosed for member’s consideration.
9. Disability Provision: Exam Scheduling and Location PGC/010519/006
  A paper on disability provision exam scheduling and location will follow for members’ consideration.
10. Forward Planning for 2019/20  
  The Committee is invited to raise any PGT related issues that they would wish to be discussed during the next Committee cycle.
11. AOCB  


12. Honours Weighting in Degree Classification PGC/010519/007
  The Committee is invited to note the revised paper on the weighting of Honours years in degree classification.  The paper will be considered at the UCTL and Senate.
13. Senate Digest  
  The Committee is invited to note the contents of the Senate Digest for the 20 March 2019 meeting of Senate.
14. Dates of Next Meetings  

The Committee is asked to note that meetings of the Committee for the 2019/2020 academic year are scheduled as follows:-

  • Tuesday, 22 October 2019 in Court Room, University Office
  • Monday, 9 December 2019 in Committee Room 2, University Office
  • Tuesday, 4 February 2019 in Court Room, University Office
  • Wednesday, 25 March 2020 in Committee Room 2, University Office
Previous Agendas

Previous Agendas


  • 25 March 2020
  • 4 February 2020
  • 9 December 2019
  • 22 October 2019




To  be  responsible  to  the  UCTL  for  oversight  of  the  postgraduate  taught  academic 
student experience.   The  Committee  provides  an  inter-School  forum  to  facilitate  and 
encourage  the development of appropriate strategy and also discusses and promotes relevant
developments, whether internally driven or externally indicated. Specifically the Postgraduate
Committee (Taught) will:

•     Discuss, formulate and promote strategic initiatives that enhance the recruitment of taught
postgraduates  and  which  contribute  to  and  support  attainment  of  the  University's
•     Offer strategic advice on the University's provision of taught postgraduate programmes in
order  to  support  continued  growth  and  development  and  to  maintain  an  appropriate system
of student academic and pastoral support.
•     Support  the  creation  and  development  of  a  high  level  skills  and  employability 
training framework for postgraduate taught students.
•     Develop and promote specific innovations, embracing new pedagogies and technologies, in
support of the enhancement of the taught postgraduate experience.
•     Consider  and  recommend  approval  for  any  specific  developments  or  initiatives  which
could  have  substantial  implications  for  University  strategy  or  policy  or  for  University
level services and/or operations.
•     Proactively engage with any high level issues or themes arising from any relevant internal
and external student satisfaction surveys.
•     Engage  in  horizon scanning to anticipate and prepare for new opportunities and likely
future developments in taught postgraduate student education.
•     Undertake such other functions as may be referred to the Committee by the UCTL.


Composition & Membership

Chair: Ekaterina Pavlovskaia
Clerk: Robert Findlay  
Tel: 01224 273631


Convener and Adminstrative Support Area-

  • Convener: Dean of Postgraduate Taught Studies
  • Clerk: Directorate of Academic and Student Affairs (Registry)

Membership -

  • Deans for Postgraduate Studies
  • Dean of Postgraduate Research School
  • One member of academic staff nominated by Heads of School with responsibility for Postgraduate Matters 
  • Two representatives nominated by the President of the Students' Association


Membership for 2018/19

  • Ekaterina Pavlovskaia
  • Graeme Nixon
  • Sarah Woodin
  • Phil Ziegler
  • Sandra Paterson
  • Peter Hicks
  • David Muirhead
  • Amy Bryzgel
  • Matyas Bodig
  • Donna Maccallum
  • Jaroslaw Kedra
  • Sandie Cleland
  • AndrewMcKinnon
  • Donna Connolly (AUSA Rep)
  • Burhanettin Kirectepe (AUSA Rep)

In attendance

  • Director of Academic Affairs (or nominee)
  • Head of the Centre for Academic Development (or nominee)
  • Robert Findlay (Clerk)




The Committee will meet at least three times per year in advance of meetings of the UCTL.  Additional meetings may be arranged, as required.


Postgraduate Committee (Taught)

Attendance Records



22 October 2019

9 December 2019

4 February 2020

25 March 2020

Chair and Dean of Postgraduate (Taught) Science

Ekaterina Pavlovskaia      


Dean of Postgraduate (Taught) Arts Vacant        
Dean of Graduate School

Graeme Nixon

School Representative (Biological Sciences) Sarah Woodin        
School Representative (Business School) Allan Sim        
School Representative (Divinity, History & Philosophy)

Phil Ziegler

School Representative (Education) Sandra Paterson        
School Representative (Engineering)

John Nelson

School Representative (Geosciences) David Muirhead        
School Representative (Language, Literature, Music & Visual Culture) Amy Bryzgel        
School Representative (Law) Matyas Bodig        
School Representative (Medicine, Medical Sciences & Nutrition) Donna Maccallum        
School Representative (Natural & Computing Sciences)

Jaroslaw Kedra

School Representative (Psychology)

Sandie Cleland

School Representative (Social Sciences) Andrew Mackinnon        
Students' Association Representative


Students' Association Representative Vacant        
Library Representative Janet MacKay        

In Attendance:

Clerk (Registry Officer) Roberty Findlay        
Centre for Academic Development Colin Calder        
IT Relationship Manager Natalie Kinchin-Williams        



Meeting Dates