UNIVERSITY OF ABERDEEN DIGITAL STRATEGY COMMITTEE TERMS OF REFERENCE

1. PURPOSE

The Digital Strategy Committee has responsibility for the strategic direction of all Digital activities. It is guided by the Aberdeen 2040 Strategy goal of being truly Inclusive, Interdisciplinary, International and Sustainable and plays a key role in ensuring that digital activities align to the 2040 strategy and its associated implementation plans, commitments and key performance indicators going forward.

This committee will champion digital solutions and services for both our staff and students across Education, Research and Administration, promoting and communicating areas of excellence, prioritising and initiating projects, whilst embedding digital best practices across the University.

2. REMIT

- To champion the embedding of Digital solutions, services and best practice across Education Research and Administration throughout the University, guided by the Aberdeen 2040 strategy.
- To provide a strategic forum that shapes the University's deployment and use of Digital resources, both financial and staff.
- To identity opportunities to enrich the University Digital capability and commission supporting initiatives.
- Liaise with the Project Management Office to ensure that appropriate governance and assurance is provided for all relevant work.
- To ensure rich and regular consultation with and communications support for our staff and students in the use of Digital technologies and content.
- To have accountability for the development and delivery of the University's Digital investment, in projects and initiatives.
- To approve and monitor the strategic investment of Digital funds to deliver projects and initiatives which enable the University's institutional goal of being truly Inclusive, Interdisciplinary, International and Sustainable.
- To research and horizon scan for new digital technologies, content and approaches which enable and enhance the University's goals.
- To establish sub-groups as may be required to deliver specific areas of the Committee's remit
- To provide regular progress reports to University Senior Management for onward transmission to appropriate committees of the University
- Act as the focal point for business cases and associated bids for significant digital funding and make decisions in terms of the funding and commission of subsequent work
- To undertake Digital financial portfolio management. and, in liaison with Finance colleagues, monitor and report on the use of Digital funding

COMPOSITION	MEMBERSHIP
CHAIR (VICE-PRINCIPAL REGIONAL ENGAGEMENT & REGIONAL RECOVERY)	Peter Edwards
UNIVERSITY SECRETARY, COO	Tracey Slaven
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER	Mark White
VICE-PRINCIPAL (EDUCATION) OR NOMINEE AS REQUIRED	Jo-Anne Murray (from Feb 24)
VICE-PRINCIPAL (RESEARCH) OR NOMINEE AS REQUIRED	Nick Forsyth
DEAN FOR ACADEMIC RESEARCH PARTNERSHIPS AND	Andrew Dilley
RESEARCH GOVERNANCE	-
DEAN FOR EDUCATIONAL INNOVATION	Kirsty Kiezebrink

3. COMPOSITION AND MEMBERSHIP

TWO ELECTED MEMBERS OF SENATE	Nigel Beacham
	Nir Oren
TWO ACADEMIC MEMBERS OF STAFF	Heather Morgan
	Vacant
TWO HEADS OF SCHOOL	lan Greener
	Doug Martin
LEAD SCHOOL ADMINISTRATION MANAGER	Rhona Moore
DIRECTOR OF DIGITAL AND INFORMATION SERVICES	Brian Henderson
DIRECTOR OF ACADEMIC SERVICES & ONLINE EDUCATION	Gillian Mackintosh
DIRECTOR OF ESTATES & FACILITIES	Morag Beers
DIRECTOR OF PLANNING & GOVERNANCE	Hulda Sveinsdottir
DIRECTOR OF RESEARCH & INNOVATION	Elizabeth Rattray
DIRECTOR OF STUDENT RECRUITMENT	Ashar Ehsan
IN ATTENDANCE	
UNIVERSITY LIBRARIAN	Simon Bains
HEAD OF MUSEUMS AND SPECIAL COLLECTIONS	Neil Curtis
ASSISTANT DIRECTOR (APPLICATIONS MANAGEMENT)	Ian Robotham
PROGRAMME DIRECTOR	Mike Whyment
HEAD OF INFORMATION GOVERNANCE	Fiona Stuart
DIS USER SERVICES MANAGER	lain Cameron
PROGRAMME MANAGEMENT OFFICE	lain Grant
CLERK	Russell Moffatt
Other academic and / or professional service members ma	y be co-opted as required.

4. COMMITTEE GOVERNANCE

Under Committee Governance, the following points should be noted:

- The Committee will report directly into the University Senior Management Team.
- The Committee is expected to meet 5 times each Academic Year, during term time.
- The Committee will have the discretion to create sub-groups, as and where appropriate.
- Paperwork for each meeting will be coordinated in advance, and circulated by the Clerk, at least five working days prior to each meeting.
- "In Attendance" individuals attend meetings to provide guidance and contribute to the discussion however, they have no locus in decision-making and do not have a vote if voting takes place.

Quorum: 50% of formal membership (including Chair)