The School of Language & Literature consists of the Departments of Celtic/Gaelic, English (Literature and Language), Film & Visual Culture, French, German, Hispanic Studies and Literature in a World Context, as well as the Language Centre, which provides English language support to all international students studying at the University, and also offers both staff and students tailored courses and business services in a range of modern foreign languages.

In addition, the Language Centre provides important support for the Modern Language departments.