Skip to: Celtic & Anglo-Saxon Studies English | Ethnology & Folklore | Film & Visual CultureFrench & Francophone Studies | Gaelic Studies | German Studies | Language & Linguistics | Music | Spanish & Latin American Studies | Sustained Studies - Languages | Administrative Office

Celtic & Anglo-Saxon Studies

Permanent Staff

Name Position Discipline Ext Email Address
Prof David Dumville Professor of History, Palaeography and Celtic & Anglo-Saxon Studies History/Celtic & Anglo-Saxon Studies 2455 d.n.dumville@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Ralph O'Connor Professor in the Literature and Culture of Britain, Ireland and Iceland Celtic & Anglo-Saxon Studies/Scandinavian Studies/History 2467 r.oconnor@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Aideen O'Leary Lecturer Celtic & Anglo Saxon Studies 3100 a.oleary@abdn.ac.uk

English

Permanent Staff

Name Position Discipline Ext Email Address
Prof Shane Alcobia-Murphy Personal Chair/ Professor in English / Programme Coordinator for English Literary Studies Level 5 English 2630 sam@abdn.ac.uk
Dr S Elizabeth Anderson Lecturer English 2645 sarahelizabeth.anderson@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Timothy Baker Senior Lecturer English 3777 t.c.baker@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Elizabeth Elliot Senior Lecturer English 2730 elizabethelliot@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Andrew Gordon Personal Chair / Professor in English English 2626 andrew.gordon@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Hazel Hutchison Personal Chair / Professor in English English 3687 h.hutchison@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Helena Ifill Lecturer English 2671 helena.ifill@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Catherine Jones Personal Chair / Professor in English English 3759 c.a.jones@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Alison Lumsden Chair in English Literature English 3925 a.lumsden@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Helen Lynch Reader English 2642 h.lynch@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Alan Macpherson Teaching Fellow English / Film and Visual Culture 2426 alan.macpherson1@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Wayne Price Senior Lecturer / Undergraduate Programme Coordinator English 2555 w.price@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Syrithe Pugh Reader English 2623 s.pugh@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Thomas Rist Senior Lecturer English 2832 t.rist@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Tim Tricker Teaching Fellow English/Music   tim.tricker@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Dan Wall Teaching Fellow English 2149 d.j.wall@abdn.ac.uk
Dr David Wheatley Reader English 2461 d.wheatley@abdn.ac.uk

Honorary Staff

Name Position Discipline Email Address
Prof Patrick Crotty Emeritus Professor English / Celtic p.j.crotty@abdn.ac.uk
Prof David Hewitt Emeritus Professor English d.s.hewitt@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Derek Hughes Emeritus Professor English d.w.hughes@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Jeannette King Emeritus Professor English j.m.king@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Derrick McClure Honorary Senior Lecturer English j.d.mcclure@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Isobel Murray Emeritus Professor English imurray@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Paul Schlicke Honorary Senior Lecturer English p.schlicke@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Alan Spence Emeritus Professor English a.spence@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Janet Todd Emeritus Professor English j.todd@abdn.ac.uk

Ethnology & Folklore - Elphinstone Institute

Permanent Staff

Name Position Discipline Ext Email Address
Dr Julia Bishop Research Fellow (James Madison Collection Project) Elphinstone Instutite   julia.bishop1@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Nicolas Le Bigre Teaching Fellow, Archives Elphinstone Institute 2997 n.lebigre@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Thomas A McKean Lecturer / Director of Elphinstone Institute Elphinstone Institute 3882/2996 t.a.mckean@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Frances Wilkins Lecturer in Ethnomusicology Elphinstone Institute 2310 frances.wilkins@abdn.ac.uk

Film & Visual Culture

Permanent Staff

Name Position Discipline Ext Email Address
Prof Amy Bryzgel Personal Chair / Professor in Film & Visual Culture Film & Visual Culture 2852 a.bryzgel@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Silvia Casini Lecturer Film & Visual Culture 2161 silvia.casini@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Katya Krylova Lecturer Film & Visual Culture/German 2491 katya.krylova@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Alan Macpherson Teaching Fellow Film & Visual Culture / English 2426 alan.macpherson1@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Alan Marcus Personal Chair / Professor in Film & Visual Culture Film & Visual Culture 2632 a.marcus@abdn.ac.uk

French & Francophone Studies

Permanent Staff

 

Name Position Discipline Ext Email Address
Ms Victoria Petit Lectrice French   victoria.petit@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Doreen Essoh Lectrice French   doreen.essoh@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Glynn Hesketh Senior Lecturer French 2027 g.hesketh@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Nadia Kiwan Personal Chair / Professor in French French 4201 n.kiwan@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Aine Larkin Senior Lecturer French 2155 a.larkin@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Clemence O'Connor Lecturer French 2635 clemence.oconnor@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Shona Potts Lecturer / Director of Teaching and Learning French 2534 s.potts@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Roger Ravet Lecturer French 2151 r.ravet@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Bruno Tribout Lecturer French 2676 b.tribout@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Edward Welch Carnegie Chair of French French 2152 edward.welch@abdn.ac.uk

Honorary Staff

Name Position Discipline Email Address
Dr Margaret Jubb Honorary Senior Lecturer French m.jubb@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Alison Saunders Emeritus Professor French a.m.saunders@abdn.ac.uk

Gaelic Studies

Permanent Staff

Name Position Discipline Ext Email Address
Mr Alexander MacDonald Teaching Fellow Gaelic 2540 alexander.macdonald@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Kirstie MacLeod Lecturer Gaelic 2148 kirstie.macleod@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Michelle Macleod Personal Chair / Professor of Gaelic / Interim Head of School Gaelic 2548 m.macleod@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Moray Watson Senior Lecturer / Director of Research Gaelic/Translation Studies 2546 m.watson@abdn.ac.uk

Honorary Staff

Name Position Discipline Email Address
Prof Colm O'Boyle Emeritus Professor Gaelic Studies c.oboyle@abdn.ac.uk

German Studies

Permanent Staff

Name Position Discipline Ext Email Address
Dr Tara Beaney  Lecturer German 2488 tara.beaney@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Katya Krylova Lecturer Film & Visual Culture/German 2491 katya.krylova@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Sabrina Link Lektorin German 2633 sabrina.link@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Carina Zoehrer Lektorin German 2833 carina.zoehrer@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Gundula Sharman Senior Lecturer / German Programme Coordinator German 2486 g.m.sharman@abdn.ac.uk

Honorary Staff

Name Position Discipline Email Address
Prof Gordon Burgess Emeritus Professor German Studies g.burgess@abdn.ac.uk

Language & Linguistics

Permanent Staff

Name Position Discipline Ext Email Address
Dr William Barras Lecturer Language & Linguistics 2539 w.s.barras@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Agni Connor Senior Lecturer Language & Linguistics 2160 agni.connor@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Elspeth Edelstein Lecturer Language & Linguistics 2677 elspeth.edelstein@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Tania Fahey-Palma Lecturer Language & Linguistics 2203 t.faheypalma@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Vincent Greenier Lecturer Language & Linguistics 2544 vtgreenier@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Robert McColl Millar Personal Chair / Professor in Linguistics Language & Lingusitics 3909 r.millar@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Dawn Leslie Teaching Fellow Language & Linguistics 2627 dawn.leslie@abdn.ac.uk

Music

Permanent Staff

Name Position Discipline Ext Email Address
Ms Christine Aldred Teaching Fellow Music 4642 c.aldred@abdn.ac.uk
Mrs Pauline Black Senior Lecturer Music 4610 paulineblack@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Edward Campbell Personal Chair / Professor in Music Music 4621 e.campbell@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Phillip Cooke

Senior Lecturer / Head of Music  

Music 4599 p.cooke@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Christopher Gray Senior Teaching Fellow Music 4684 chris.gray@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Jonathan Hicks Lecturer Music 4537 jonathan.hicks@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Fauke Jurgensen Senior Lecturer Music 4683 f.jurgensen@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Suk-Jun Kim Senior Lecturer Music 4618 s.kim@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Paul Mealor Professor of Composition Music 4603 p.mealor@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Peter Stollery Professor of Electroacoustic Music and Composition / Deputy Head of Music Music 4601 p.stollery@abdn.ac.uk

Spanish & Latin American Studies

Permanent Staff

Name Position Discipline Ext Email Address
Dr Jesse Barker Lecturer / Undergraduate Programme Coordinator Spanish & Latin American Studies 3098 jbarker@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Constanza Celis Teaching Assistant Spanish & Latin American Studies 3245 aura.celisdelvalle@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Sonia Domingo Lecturer Spanish & Latin American Studies 2636 s.domingo@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Marian Fernandez Teaching Fellow Spanish & Latin American Studies 2154 m.fernandez@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Itziar Lopez Teaching Assitant Spanish & Latin American Studies 3245 iciar.lopezsaezdelburgo@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Maria Sanchez-Ortiz Senior Lecturer Spanish & Latin American Studies/ Translation Studies 2490 m.t.sanchez@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Patience Schell Chair in Hispanic Studies Spanish & Latin American Studies 2631 p.schell@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Trevor Stack Senior Lecturer Spanish & Latin American Studies 2543 t.stack@abdn.ac.uk

Sustained Studies - Languages

Permanent Staff

Name Position Discipline Ext Email Address
Dr Khaled Bashir Lecturer Arabic 2628 khaled.bashir@abdn.ac.uk
Mrs Anna Bokedal Lecturer Swedish 2754 a.bokedal@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Ahmed Fawaz Lecturer Arabic 2628 ahmed.fawaz@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Ye Gao (Maternity Leave) Teaching Fellow Mandarin 4197 y.gao@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Fen Glover Teaching Fellow Mandarin 3221 f.glover@abdn.ac.uk

Administrative Office

Permanent Staff

Name Position Discipline Ext Email Address
  School Support Assistant   2625  
Ms Lisa Baxter School Support Assistant (Celtic, Gaelic & Sustatined Studies) Administration 2549 l.baxter@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Laura Bowie Executive Assistant Administration 2550 l.bowie@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Jon Cameron School Administrative Officer Administration 2646 jon.cameron@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Euan Crabb Music Administrator Administration 2570 escrabb@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Adam Cresser Music Technician Administration 4828 adamcresser@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Christopher Knight School Support Co-ordinator Administration    
Dr Julia Kotzur School Support Co-ordinator Administration 3575 julia.kotzur@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Caley Morrice School Support Assistant (Spanish Studies) Administrator 2163 caley.morrice@abdn.ac.uk
Mrs Julie Parkinson School Support Assistant (English & German Studies) Administration 2549 jparkinson@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Alison Sharman Administrator (Elphinstone Institute) Administration 2992 a.sharman@abdn.ac.uk
Mrs Elena Sinclair Music Secretary Administration 4779 elena.sinclair@abdn.ac.uk