Skip to: Celtic & Anglo-Saxon Studies English | Ethnology & Folklore | Film & Visual CultureFrench & Francophone Studies | Gaelic Studies | German Studies | Language & Linguistics | Music | Spanish & Latin American Studies | Sustained Studies - Languages | Language Centre | Administrative Office

Celtic & Anglo-Saxon Studies

Permanent Staff

Name Position Discipline Ext Email Address
Prof David Dumville Professor of History, Palaeography and Celtic & Anglo-Saxon Studies History/Celtic & Anglo-Saxon Studies 2455 d.n.dumville@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Ralph O'Connor Professor in the Literature and Culture of Britain, Ireland and Iceland Celtic & Anglo-Saxon Studies/Scandinavian Studies/History 2467 r.oconnor@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Aideen O'Leary Lecturer Celtic & Anglo Saxon Studies 3100 a.oleary@abdn.ac.uk

English

Permanent Staff

Name Position Discipline Ext Email Address
Prof Shane Alcobia-Murphy Programme Coordinator for English Literary Studies Level 5 English 2630 sam@abdn.ac.uk
Dr S Elizabeth Anderson Lecturer English 2645 sarahelizabeth.anderson@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Timothy Baker Senior Lecturer English 3777 t.c.baker@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Patrick Crotty Professor of Irish and Scottish Literature English/Celtic & Anglo-Saxon Studies/RIISS 2197 p.j.crotty@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Elizabeth Elliot Lecturer English 2730 elizabethelliot@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Andrew Gordon Senior Lecturer English 2626 andrew.gordon@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Hazel Hutchison Professor in English/Deputy Head of School English 3687 h.hutchison@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Catherine Jones Lecturer English 3759 c.a.jones@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Alexandra Lewis Lecturer English 2671 alexandra.lewis@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Alison Lumsden Chair in English Literature English 3925 a.lumsden@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Helen Lynch Lecturer English 2642 h.lynch@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Wayne Price Undergraduate Programme Coordinator English 2555 w.price@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Syrithe Pugh Lecturer English 2623 w.price@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Thomas Rist Senior Lecturer English 2832 t.rist@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Tim Tricker Teaching Fellow English/Music   tim.tricker@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Dan Wall Teaching Fellow English 2149 d.j.wall@abdn.ac.uk
Dr David Wheatley Reader English 2461 d.wheatley@abdn.ac.uk

Honorary Staff

Name Position Discipline Email Address
Prof David Hewitt Emeritus Professor English d.s.hewitt@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Derek Hughes Emeritus Professor English d.w.hughes@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Jeannette King Emeritus Professor English j.m.king@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Derrick McClure Honorary Senior Lecturer English j.d.mcclure@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Isobel Murray Emeritus Professor English imurray@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Paul Schlicke Honorary Senior Lecturer English p.schlicke@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Alan Spence Emeritus Professor English a.spence@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Janet Todd Emeritus Professor English j.todd@abdn.ac.uk

Ethnology & Folklore - Elphinstone Institute

Permanent Staff

Name Position Discipline Ext Email Address
Dr Julia Bishop Research Fellow (James Madison Collection Project) Elphinstone Instutite   julia.bishop1@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Nicolas Le Bigre Teaching Fellow, Archives Elphinstone Institute 2997 n.lebigre@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Thomas A McKean Director Elphinstone Institute 3882/2996 t.a.mckean@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Frances Wilkins Lecturer in Ethnomusicology Elphinstone Institute 2310 frances.wilkins@abdn.ac.uk

Film & Visual Culture

Permanent Staff

Name Position Discipline Ext Email Address
Dr Amy Bryzgel Senior Lecturer Film & Visual Culture 2852 a.bryzgel@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Silvia Casini Lecturer Film & Visual Culture 2161 silvia.casini@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Alan Macpherson Teaching Assitant Film & Visual Culture   alan.macpherson@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Alan Marcus Personal Chair in Film & Visual Culture Film & Visual Culture 2632 a.marcus@abdn.ac.uk

French & Francophone Studies

Permanent Staff

Name Position Discipline Ext Email Address
Ms Julie Benetti Lectrice French   julie.benetti@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Emma Darette Lectrice French   emma.darette@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Glynn Hesketh Senior Lecturer French 2027 g.hesketh@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Nadia Kiwan Senior Lecturer French 4201 n.kiwan@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Aine Larkin Lecturer French 2155 a.larkin@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Clemence O'Connor Lecturer French 2635 clemence.oconnor@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Shona Potts Lecturer French 2534 s.potts@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Roger Ravet Lecturer French 2151 r.ravet@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Bruno Tribout Lecturer French 2676 b.tribout@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Edward Welch Head of School/Carnegie Chair in French French 2152 edward.welch@abdn.ac.uk

Honorary Staff

Name Position Discipline Email Address
Dr Margaret Jubb Honorary Senior Lecturer French m.jubb@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Alison Saunders Emeritus Professor French a.m.saunders@abdn.ac.uk

Gaelic Studies

Permanent Staff

Name Position Discipline Ext Email Address
Mr Alexander MacDonald Teaching Fellow Gaelic 2540 alexander.macdonald@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Marsaili MacLeod Lecturer Gaelic 2148 marsaili.macleod@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Michelle Macleod Senior Lecturer Gaelic 2548 m.macleod@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Moray Watson Senior Lecturer Gaelic/Translation Studies 2546 m.watson@abdn.ac.uk

Honorary Staff

Name Position Discipline Email Address
Prof Colm O'Boyle Emeritus Professor Gaelic Studies c.oboyle@abdn.ac.uk

German Studies

Permanent Staff

Name Position Discipline Ext Email Address
Dr Tara Beaney (Maternity Leave) Lecturer German 2488 tara.beaney@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Julia Kotzur Teaching Assistant German/Administration 2163 julia.kotzur@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Sabrina Link Lektorin German 2633 sabrina.link@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Robert Sauerborn Lektor German 2492 robert.sauerborn@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Claudia Sein Lektorin German 2833 claudia.sien@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Gundula Sharman Senior Lecturer/German Programme Coordinator German 2486 g.m.sharman@abdn.ac.uk

Language and Linguistics

Permanent Staff

Name Position Discipline Ext Email Address
Dr William Barras Lecturer Language & Linguistics 2539 w.s.barras@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Agni Connor Lecturer Language & Linguistics 2160 agni.connor@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Elspeth Edelstein Lecturer Language & Linguistics 2677 elspeth.edelstein@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Tania Fahey-Palma Lecturer Language & Linguistics 2203 t.faheypalma@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Robert McColl Millar Senior Lecturer Language & Lingusitics 3909 r.millar@abdn.ac.uk

Music

Permanent Staff

Name Position Discipline Ext Email Address
Ms Christine Aldred Teaching Fellow Music 4642 c.aldred@abdn.ac.uk
Mrs Pauline Black Teaching Fellow Music 4610 paulineblack@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Edward Campbell Head of Music/Senior Lecturer Music 4599 e.campbell@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Phillip Cooke Deputy Head of Music Music 4599 p.cooke@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Christopher Gray Senior Teaching Fellow Music 4684 chris.gray@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Fauke Jurgensen Lecturer Music 4683 f.jurgensen@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Suk-Jun Kim Lecturer Music 4618 s.kim@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Paul Mealor Professor of Composition Music 4603 p.mealor@abdn.ac.uk
Prof David Smith Professor of Music Music 4737 d.j.smith@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Peter Stollery Professor of Electroacoustic Music and Composition Music 4601 p.stollery@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Tim Tricker Teaching Fellow English/Music   tim.tricker@abdn.ac.uk

Spanish and Latin American Studies

Permanent Staff

Name Position Discipline Ext Email Address
Dr Jesse Barker Lecturer Spanish & Latin American Studies 3098 jbarker@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Rolando J. Bompadre Teaching Assistant Spanish & Latin American Studies 3245 rolando.bompadre@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Constanza Celis Teaching Assistant Spanish & Latin American Studies 3245 aura.celisdelvalle@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Sonia Domingo Lecturer, Undergraduate Programme Coordinator Spanish & Latin American Studies 2636 s.domingo@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Marian Fernandez Teaching Fellow Spanish & Latin American Studies 2154 m.fernandez@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Itziar Lopez Teaching Assitant Spanish & Latin American Studies 3245 iciar.lopezsaezdelburgo@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Maria Sanchez-Ortiz Senior Lecturer Spanish & Latin American Studies/ Translation Studies 2490 m.t.sanchez@abdn.ac.uk
Prof Patience Schell Chair in Spanish & Latin American Studies Spanish & Latin American Studies 2631 p.schell@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Trevor Stack Senior Lecturer Spanish & Latin American Studies 2543 t.stack@abdn.ac.uk

Sustained Studies - Languages

Permanent Staff

Name Position Discipline Ext Email Address
Dr Khaled Bashir Teaching Fellow Arabic 2628 khaled.bashir@abdn.ac.uk
Mrs Anna Bokedal Lecturer Swedish 2754 a.bokedal@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Ahmed Fawaz Teaching Fellow Arabic 2628 ahmed.fawaz@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Ye Gao (Maternity Leave) Teaching Fellow Mandarin 4197 y.gao@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Fen Glover Teaching Fellow Mandarin 4197 f.glover@abdn.ac.uk

The Language Centre

Permanent Staff

Name Position Discipline Ext Email Address
Ms Julie Bray Director of the Language Centre Language Centre 3877 j.bray@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Richard Cowan Academic English Tutor Language Centre 3994 r.cowan@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Catherine Holmes Administrator Language Centre 2538 c.holmes@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Val Knox Academic English Tutor Language Centre 3994 v.knox@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Alison McBoyle Academic English Preparation Programme Coordinator Language Centre 3157 a.mcboyle@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Keri Thomas Secretary Language Centre 2537 k.thomas@abdn.ac.uk

Administrative Office

Permanent Staff

Name Position Discipline Ext Email Address
Ms Lisa Baxter Secretary (Postgraduate Research Programmes) Administration 2549 l.baxter@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Laura Bowie Executive Assistant Administration 2550 l.bowie@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Jon Cameron School Administrative Officer Administration 2646 jon.cameron@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Euan Crabb Music Administrator Administration 2570 escrabb@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Jennifer Hemphill Secretary (Spanish and Latin American Studies) Administration 2625 jennifer.hemphill@abdn.ac.uk
Mr Christopher Knight Secretary (Postgraduate Taught Programmes) Administration 3575 christopher.knight@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Julia Kotzur Secretary (French Studies Film & Visual Culture) Administration/German 2163 julia.kotzur@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Debbie Meldrum Secretary (Linguistics) Administration 2163 debbie.meldrum@abdn.ac.uk
Mrs Julie Parkinson Secretary (German Studies) Administration 2549 jparkinson@abdn.ac.uk
Ms Alison Sharman Administrator (Elphinstone Institute) Administration 2992 a.sharman@abdn.ac.uk