Professor Bernadette Connolly

Professor Bernadette Connolly
BSc (Hons), PhD

Deputy Director
Personal Chair

Professor Bernadette Connolly
Professor Bernadette Connolly

Contact Details

work +44 (0)1224 437360
The University of Aberdeen Room 4.31
Institute of Medical Sciences
University of Aberdeen
AB25 2ZD
Scotland, UK


University of Aberdeen (1999 - present)

University of Bern, Switzerland, Group Leader (1994-1999) and Marie-Heim Vögtlin Fellow (1997-1999)

Post-doctoral Researcher, Imperial College London (1990-1993) Post-doctoral Researcher, Imperial Cancer Research Fund (1987-1990) 
Post-doctoral Researcher, Brandeis University, Massachusetts (1983-1987) 

PhD (Genetics), Trinity College Dublin, Ireland (1984) 
BSc (Hons), NUI Maynooth, Ireland (1980) 


Research Interests

I am interested in the biology and evolution of nematodes, with a particular interest in parasitic species and understanding the molecular basis of the host-parasite interaction. My group studies Trichinella, a remarkable species of parasitic nematode both in terms of its choice of niche and in the strategies it has evolved to exploit that niche. The infective L1 larva is an intracellular parasite of mammalian skeletal muscle, remodelling the intracellular environment to create a niche for itself. On infection a realignment of host cell gene expression is induced that ultimately leads to dedifferentiation of the muscle cell and redifferentiation to a new cell type designed to support the parasite. The parasite itself may be involved in initiating these changes in the host cell, but the precise mechanism remains to be elucidated.

Further Info

External Responsibilities

Member of the International Commission on Trichinellosis since 2007 

Admin Responsibilities

Deputy Director, Institute of Medical Sciences (2015 - present)

Director of the Graduate School, College of Life Sciences & Medicine (2007 - 2016)

EASTBIO-BBSRC Doctoral Training Partnership, Deputy Lead (2012 - present)

Group Members

Rotimi Fasimoye – PhD Student
Ammar Alturkistani – PhD Student

Former Group Members

Dr Dan Gare
Dr Christina Lagido
Mrs Diane Massie
Dr Lucas Philippe
Dr Mark Robinson

Christopher Johnston PhD, 2017
George Pandarakalam PhD, 2016
Debjani Sarkar PhD, 2014
Emma Sheils PhD, 2012
Krystyna Cwiklinski PhD, 2009
Alain Kemp MSc (Research), 2007
Rachel Greig MSc (Research), 2006
Mark Ackroyd PhD, 2006
Jackie Boyd PhD, 2003
Sabine Kuratli PhD, 2001
Johan Lindh PhD, 1996