Please note: all University buildings are closed at the moment due to the Coronavirus pandemic.
- Old Aberdeen Campus - download map
Elphinstone Hall serves as a large examination hall and hosts the University's graduation ceremonies.
It can also be hired for dining and recreational purposes, while a series of additional reception rooms in the complex would be able to provide for smaller functions.
Elphinstone Hall was designed and built in 1930 by A. Marshall Mackenzie to take over the functions which the original Great Hall had performed before being demolished in 1870. It provides a large examination hall which can also be used for dining and recreational purposes, and a series of additional reception rooms. The Hall plays host to the University's graduation ceremonies.
It was constructed of sandstone (rather than the granite that characterises most buildings in Aberdeen). Stones were used from Castle Newe in Strathdon which was built in 1831 and demolished in 1927. The coats of arms above the arcade belong to some of the benefactors and local bodies.
The Hall has a hammer-beam roof and oak-panelled walls. This, combined with some of the oldest oil canvas paintings in Scotland, creates a unique backdrop.
The DisabledGo service provides a pan-disability access guide to this building.