Nominations for our Teaching Awards are now closed

Eight academics at the University of Aberdeen have been recognised in the Excellence in Teaching Awards 2017.

The winners of this year’s Excellence in Teaching Awards are:Green apple filled with inspiring words

College of Arts and Social Sciences
Undergraduate – Dr Stuart Durkin, Social Science
Postgraduate – Mrs Aloyise Mulligan, Education

College of Physical Sciences
Undergraduate – Dr David Muirhead, Geosciences
Postgraduate – Dr Amin Sharifi, Engineering

College of Life Sciences and Medicine
Undergraduate – Dr Lynden Miles, Psychology
Postgraduate – Dr Alex Douglas, Biological Sciences

Business School
Undergraduate – Dr Laura McCann
Postgraduate – Mr Russell Williams

The awards, which take place every year, give students the opportunity to nominate the academic who they feel has enhanced their experience the most. This year saw more nominations than ever before, with one undergraduate and one postgraduate award given to staff in the Business School; College of Arts and Social Sciences; College of Life Sciences and Medicine and the College of Physical Sciences.

Talking about the awards, Peter McGeorge, Vice-Principal for Teaching and Learning said: “These awards demonstrate the dedication and the exceptional quality of our staff and their teaching. We asked students to nominate the academic who had had the most positive impact on their student experience or who had challenged them to achieve their best and I was delighted with the high number of nominations we received this year.

“This recognition is hugely important, and not just to thank our academic colleagues for their incredibly hard work, but also in finding out what students’ value the most during their studies. I’d like to thank everyone who took the time to vote in these awards.”

The main aim of these awards is to recognise, encourage and reward individuals who have undertaken the development of the highest quality teaching, leading to particularly effective learning for their students.  The award covers any sort of course teaching from conventional lectures to special seminars and field courses and includes courses in both half sessions.