Marie Johnston Research Prize

Marie Johnston Research Prize

The Marie Johnston Research Prize is offered in name of Professor Marie Johnston, an Emeritus Professor at the University of Aberdeen and a founding figure in UK Health Psychology.

Marie is a Registered Health and Clinical Psychologist, and Professor of Health Psychology at the University of Aberdeen. She is a Fellow of the BPS, the Royal Society of Edinburgh and the Academy of Medical Sciences and Academician of the Academy of Learned Societies for the Social Sciences. In 1986, she became the first chair of the Health Psychology section of the BPS and in 1992, the second president of the European Health Psychology Society.  She has served on numerous BPS committees and in 1994 gained the BPS President's Award.  Her previous posts were at the University of St Andrews, London University (Royal Free Hospital School of Medicine) and Oxford University, having completed her BSc at the University of Aberdeen and PhD at the University of Hull.

She conducts research on disability (theory, measurement and intervention) and on behaviour change in health and healthcare contexts. 

Prize Winners

The name of the student in receipt of the award from each academic year is listed below.

  • 2020/21 – Lisa Duncan
  • 2019/20 – Charlotte Murray
  • 2018/19 – Jo Strathdee
  • 2017/18 – Brittin Oakman
  • 2016/17 – Tieri Saggers
  • 2015/16 - Karen Campbell
  • 2014/15 - Katie Boddie