2014 - 2005

2014:  CHaRT celebrates its 10th Anniversary.

The NIHR Technology Assessment Review (TAR) contract is awarded for a further five years.

Alison McDonald is inducted as a Fellow of the Society for Clinical Trials (SCT) (http://www.sctweb.org/public/about/fellow.cfm?id=91)

2013: HSRU celebrates its 25th Anniversary.

Charis Glazener completes 25 years with HSRU whilst Marion Campbell, Alison McDonald and Ruth Thomas all complete 20 years.

Professor Marion Campbell is elected to the Fellowship of the Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE).

Marion Campbell

Professor Lorna McKee is conferred with the Award of Academician of the Academy of Social Sciences.

Lorna McKee

Professor Marion Campbell is inducted as a Fellow of the Society for Clinical Trials (SCT) (http://www.sctweb.org/public/about/fellow.cfm?id=79)

2011: Professor John Norrie appointed as CHaRT Director (Professor Jen Burr steps down as CHaRT Director).

Aberdeen Health Technology Assessment (HTA) Group launched to undertake Evidence Syntheses for the NIHR HTA programme and NICE

Another successful CSO Review with the Unit being congratulated on its ‘outstanding’ performance over the previous five years.

2008: Professor Jen Burr appointed as CHaRT Director (Professor John Norrie steps down as CHaRT Director).

The Health Services Research return in the national research assessment exercise (RAE2008) is the highest scoring return for the University of Aberdeen and is joint top of the UK table in health services research.  RAE confirmed that 80% of the research submitted was judged as internationally excellent/world class, with 100% of work identified as of international quality.

HSRU celebrates its 20th Anniversary.

20th anniversary


2007: Professor Marion Campbell is appointed as Unit Director.

2006: A successful CSO review resulting in a further five years of funding.

HSRU moves to new, purpose-built accommodation within the Health Sciences Building, Foresterhill Campus.

Health Sciences Building