About Aberdeen Humanities Fund

About Aberdeen Humanities Fund

Established in 2012, the Aberdeen Humanities Fund (AHF) is an initiative to support leading research in the arts, humanities and social sciences at the University of Aberdeen.  The AHF makes an annual call for applications for research funding open to all disciplines across the former College of Arts and Social Sciences (CASS) schools (Law, Bussiness, Social Sciences, LLMVC, DHPA, and Education), within which all academic staff with a research component in their contract, whether full-time or part-time, are eligible to apply.  Further details on this award can be found here

The AHF also plays an active role in administering the University of Aberdeen Visiting Scholar Awards which are funded by the Friends of the Aberdeen University Library and hosted by the University of Aberdeen Museums and Special Collections.  Further details on this can be found here.

In collaboration with the Development Trust, the AHF are building on the philanthropic support of donors who believe in the value of research in the arts, humanities and social sciences.  For information about how to support the Aberdeen Humanities Fund please visit.

For more information, or to discuss ideas for research which might be supported by the AHF, please contact the Chair of the AHF, Dr Robert Taylor

The AHF Academic Board members are:

  • Dr Robert Taylor, Senior Lecturer in Public Law and Chair of the Aberdeen Humanities Fund
  • Dr Isla Callander, Lecturer in Law and Treasurer of the Aberdeen Humanities Fund
  • Professor Michael Brown, Chair of Irish, Scottish and Enlightenment History
  • Dr Keith O‚ÄôSullivan, Senior Rare Books Librarian